We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in lido di camaiore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eur
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Colombo 175, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in lido di camaiore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here from 28th June to 4th July. Very comfortable hotel, lovely pool area and garden. The hotel is very close to the beach 5mins, shops and bus stop. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Our room was very good but a bit small, cleaned every day with fresh towels. It had all the facilities, air conditioning, balcony, widescreen TV etc. Would recommend to families and couples. A bus ride away, about 40 mins and you are in Pisa which is worth a visit.
Margaret, Limerick Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the busy road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Having gome thorugh the various reviews on tripadvisor, we opted to stay at the Hotel Eur. We were not disappointed. It has everything you'd expect (and more) from a good three star hotel. It's not cheap though. The prices are similar to some four star hotels in the area.

With one child, we stayed in a triple room which was small. It's a regular double sized room with a narrow folddown bed that sits in front of the patio doors (which made exit to the patio a bit awkward). You don't spend a lot of time in the room so it's fine, particularly with a young child but it might be a bit cramped if the third person was an older child or adult.

The room itself is decorated to a very good standard with a large LCD screen tv with all basic SKY channels as standard. Very useful. The bathroom is a reasonable size with a good shower. The patio was very nice although there's own no privacy (only a low wall) from your immediate neighbours on either side. The air-conditoning works well and there's a small fridge into which you can put your personal stuff.

The breakfast is okay without being spectacular. There's no fresh fruit and the orange juice is served in plastic disposable cups. There's a small selection of cereals, pastries, cheese and salamies, etc. There's no hot option. While we just stayed on a B&B basis, we could see that those who opted to avail of full or half board were required to express their lunch and dinner preferences while eating breakfast. Don't think I'd fancy this but it seems to be fairly standard.

Outside, the garden area is beautiful and very well maintained with planty of shared seating areas to relax away from the glare of the sun. The pool is nice and never seems to be too busy. It looks a little old but is perfectly fine. There's a shallow pool that's perfect for toddlers. The slide into the pool was a bit hit with all children, including our own little guy. The place had a nice family atmosphere without being too overrun. There were always available sunbeds.

Internet access is available in the hotel lobby at a cost of €6 an hour. There's a small number of bikes for hire (some with child seat) for €2 an hour.

In terms of location, the Hotel Eur is perfect. It's only a few short steps from the promenade and it's many restaurants and a short stroll from the central pier.

Overall, I'd recommend the Hotel Eur for anyone staying in Lido.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Just like to say that I am so glad that I did not take notice of all the reviews. I emailed a woman that had gave a review since it was refurbished. She gave me such great reviews about the hotel, food, surroundings, beach and travel! The advice she gave me was so spot on! my own free advice tour guide! lol! We have 3 children, they loved the hotel, service at the desk was brilliant, hotel rooms quite spacious and very clean and comfortable. The only thing we could say that we were not happy about was the food. The breakfast and dinner were virtually the same every night, I would give food 6 /10, service 10/10. The location was brilliant. We were in walking distance of shops, restaurents, beaches, local bus service etc. Beach was really lovely, you are given a discount card from reception and you are allocated a certain area for the hotel..wonderful! We are use to going to lido/venice for the last 4 years so we found the food, clothes etc to be very reasonable. Every night you would walk along the beach strip and you would find wonderful entertainment that was sometimes filmed live, fashion shows, singing competitions etc. they would also have loads of stalls selling from art jewelley to fashion, the strip would go on forever. Oh yes, you also have roof top sunbatheing, view spectacular in the evening! a quite are to read, little gazebos to sit under if you would like to get out of the sun and have a cool drink. The pool is very nice, it opens at 10am - 1 pm then 3 pm until 7pm. table tennis and snooker for children. The only down side I would say I suppose is that it would be nice for more games for children and the food to have more variety. If you need to ask me anything about the area or hotel, feel free to eamil on [---] ps local restaurents superb! The trip to Pisa / Lucca was very rushed! so I would not recommend excursion, wished we had made the trip to Florence, now we have got to go back! Lol! No we would go back to Lido Di Camaiore, it is a lovely town along with Forte Di Marmi, it is only a short bus ride away. We used Ryan Air, Taxi ( 5 ) cost 70 euros to hotel, well worth it! I saved over a 1,000 euros booking direct to this hotel and using Ryan Air. Enjoyable flight and enjoyable hotel :D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My family stayed here for a week in August 2009 and we were so pleased with the hotel and staff. First of all the bedrooms we had (2 twins) were very modern, large and spacious, recently refurbished and complete with 32" flat screen satellite tv on the wall. Both bathrooms were larger than we have at home! Each day they were cleaned and were completely spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. I can only assume that the reviews left a couple of years ago were before a complete makeover or maybe a change in management?
The pool was fantastic for our two teenage sons and didn't get too busy even though it was August (peak season), quite often we had it to ourselves. There were plenty of sunbeds available and a friendly lifeguard on hand. Snacks and ice creams were available by the poolside.
We stayed bed and breakfast which was great for us. There was plenty of choice from croissants and cake to ham and cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, and lots more. All the waiters were kind and helpful, especially as we didn't speak much Italian.
The hotel staff were fantastic. They helped us with information on the town, booking taxis, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
There are free hotel bikes to borrow which are great for getting around the area. All along the front of Lido di Camaiore to Viareggio there is a two-way bike lane which is non-stop full of cyclists. All the hotels seem to have free bikes for holiday makers to use and everyone cycles everyhwere. I have never seen so many people cycling around together, from the very young to pensioners! We went out on them to eat in the evening and to explore the town, the motorists are very patient even on the main roads!
The roof terrace at this hotel is one of it's best points - the views are to die for! you can see the sea along to the new pier and Viareggio harbour and lighthouse in the distance to the Apuan mountains behind with all the mountain villages lit up at night. The perfect place to relax at then end of a hot day in the sun. We sat up there reading and enjoying the view many times during our stay.
The journey to the hotel is quite easy if you fly to Pisa, train to Pisa Centrale (5mins) then train to Viareggio (15mins) we then go a taxi to the hotel (16.00Euro) or you can get the number 3 Lem Circulare for about 3.00Euro (once an hour) The hotel website does say that it is approx 2km from the Viareggio train station but it isn't - more like 4-5km. It is still easy to get to though so don't let this put you off.
All in all it was a wonderful stay here - quite expensive area but well worth it. Our two sons enjoyed the cycling and swimming. The hotel also has a snooker table and table tennis are by the pool for teenagers.
I would recommend a day trip to Florence but make sure you go on the tourist bus to see all the sights, we did both routes and it was such an experience we won't forget. We could never have covered so much on foot - I highly recommend this way of seeing the area especially as it goes up to Fiesole which alone is worth the fare!
My husband went by bus to Camaiore town then walked up into the hills to see the local villages and views - wonderful.
Also worth going to Viareggio Port by bike - beautiful Yachts there to admire.
We ate out at various restaurants along the front, all of which were of a good standard and very reasonable. Pizza about 6-8Euro's - Other pasta dishes about 8-12Euros - beers 3-4Euros and a litre of house white wine 8Euros!!!
We also went by train to the Leaning Tower of Pisa and again this was well worth a visit, much more than photos can show you!
We would definitely return to this hotel and give it 5*****

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Eur in July 2006. At that time there was only one unfavourable review on Tripadvisor. I note there are now a few more, all agreeing that the Eur is unsatisfactory. Would confirm all that has previously been written.

Our room was very small and yes when you sit on the toilet you are also half way in the shower cubicle. The staff were very unfriendly and unwelcoming, especially the manager. Arrogant!

Lido Di Camaiore was bland and boring ... about as much atmosphere as the moon. The beach was nice but the beach clubs were a rip off.

Inland Tuscany was beautiful and we enjoyed trips to Lucca, Sienna and San Gimignamo. Also very very lovely was the Cinque Terre area.

We booked our holiday with Thomsons and though we did complain to the representative at the time, with no change in room, perhaps we should have complained more on our return home.

I would advise, not to patronise the Hotel Eur.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unfriendly Staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

Terrible hotel. The bedroom ensuite was so small that you were sat on the toilet and in the shower at the same time. All the staff were incredibly rude. Most unenjoyble stay.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

This is a perfect example of what a great website can do for a horrible hotel.
We asked for a junior suite. What we got was two seperate rooms with a bathroom. Both of these rooms had tiny little balconies that overlooked a parking lot.In addition, the phone was not hooked up and the door was almost impossible to close or open.
When we complained that this was not a junior suite, their response was, "we've never had a problem before..."
The staff was cold and uncaring. Ultimately, we decided to check out ot the hotel. They refused to give us back our passports until we signed the visa receipt.
Take my advice and go a few short miles up the main drag to Viareggio. Great place and hotels that don't feel like a prison cell.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eur

Address: Viale Colombo 175, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eur 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT description: a 100 metri dal mare , modernissimo Albergo . Tutte le camere con aria clima, Tv.sat,Sky , mini bar.Piascine,parcheggio,giardino,sala giochi,palestra,saletta tv . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Eur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eur Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.