We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice place even if our room was quite small...especially the bathroom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Colombo No. 91, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location and nice place even if our room was quite small...especially the bathroom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Free bike and parking; quite a good breakfast. Nice and helpful staff.You can go to the beach by walk so I would say a good location. The pool is a bit too small and also the room is not that big and comfortable as we expected...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here - staff were lovely, room very clean with lovely balcony and hotel close to the main promenade and beach. Parking is free but space limited however staff at hotel will park your car for you if you arrive and there are no spaces. The pool area is small and the only complaint is the tiles were very slippery - my kids and others fell on more than one occasion. The breakfast was nice - scrambled eggs available and a cold buffet with pastries etc. I would happily return here as the hotel and lido di camaiore a lovely place to visit and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay - it was like staying in someone's home - a very nice home!!
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the breakfasts will suit most people and there is lots of fresh fruit!! There is a lovely pool, outside bar, sauna in the garden ... all you need to relax.
We were treated with such friendliness and warmth. It is a family run hotel and it shows in the attention and atmosphere of the hotel. The staff is wonderful - they are super helpful and so friendly.
We used the hotel bicycles to ride to Forte Dei Marmi - a lovely 20 minute easy cycle. Great shopping - lucky that we were on bicycles and couldn't carry too many parcels.
And a walk to Via Reggio in the setting sun is perfect.
This hotel is something special - a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had visited Viareggio a few years ago when we were staying up in Barga. We drove down through the hills to the coast, past some of the large marble quarries. The view, out to sea, from the top of the hill road, is quite something. What a vista! Well worth a wee run out if you have a car.
When we got down to the coast road, we turned left and found our way down the the suburb of Lido de Camaiore, just before Viareggio centre. I was lovely, with the fresh smell of the sea.

So, we've been back two weeks ago for 10 days and we chose the Europa, a lovely place. This hotel is small and so comfortable, with very good owners and staff to really make you feel at home. The hotel facilities include dining room and poolside terrace service for breakfast and light lunches. The bar sells most of your tipples, most of the day! There is no evening dining, but with so many restaurants to choose from, you will be fed very well.
Being at the sea, there is a lot of good fish on some menus, and we can recommend La Luna, The Cantina and the Bar Sirena, as a few good places with reasonable prices. The Cantina, if you phone them, will do a really good chicken and their veal steaks are very memorable, so is their Chianti!! We enjoyed all of these places, for their variations of menu and their friendly people.
Public transport is quite adjacent to the hotel. The staff will give you lots of tips for places like Lucca, etc, and remember to buy your tickets from the hotel reception before you go. Bus drivers, in most parts of Italy, do not sell bus tickets. When you get on the bus, you 'validate' your ticket in a little machine beside the driver, and off you go.

Ciao!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel which could be just a little noisy (from the pool) during yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We were met at the Airport as arranged with the Hotel by taxi which cost 60 Euros. We were given our room on the 2nd floor which was facing the front overlooking the pool, not overly large but fine for one week, plenty of storage and a tv with BBC world and CNN for English speakers. The only downside was the small shower cubicle with slanting floor that was a bit worrying .The road outside was only really noisy at the weekend. Breakfast was everything you could want served by a very smiley Vanessa who along with all of the other staff was lovely and very helpful. We took the bus to Lucca and Forte dei Marmi without any problems, reception will give you times and sell tickets. The market at Forte dei Marmi is one of the best we have seen. We also walked into Viareggio about 15 minutes away. The Hotel gives you discount vouchers to two restaurants and the beach
(10%) . We did go to the beach once which was lovely and clean but liked being around the pool although it could get very busy later with a shortage of sun beds . There are loads of restaurants and it was lovely to walk past them all at night and people watch. Our flight alas on the last day was in the evening but the Hotel stored our bags ok but could only offer the sauna by the pool to shower and get changed . We ate lunch only once sitting on the terrace which was very good , salads ,burgers and light bites on offer. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We go to this hotel often because it is perfect for a quiet relaxijg holiday . What makes it so good is the staff. The girls Luciana ,Arianna, Eva,and now Vanessa could not be more helpful.Nothing is too much bother for them.A definate A1 place to go .Will be back in September.

Aldo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Europa for four nights after driving over from Venice, and our first impression was that it was just as promised in the pictures and reviews. The staff were very friendly and met our somewhat peculiar wish for a change of rooms with no hesitation. The breakfast was good, and if enjoyed outside by the pool, even better. The garden/pool area is also great for enjoying a drink in the afternoons and evenings.
We found the matresses a bit hard, but other than that, the room was great too.
Lending Bicycles from the hotel to og upp and Down the promenade is highly recommended, and it only takes about 10 minutes to Viareggio,
Parking can be a little hard, as there are noe marked spaces, but with a small car, we managed to park even if it seemed impossible at first glance. Our impression was that the staff tried to keep track of how guests parked in order to make the most out of the yard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window or a balcony that at least lets in some amount of light. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Viale Colombo No. 91, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL EUROPA **** CAMAIORE. The Cardinal Villa, Hotel Europa (4 stars), was built in 1880 in Lido di Camaiore, Versilia (Tuscany), 20 meters from the Tirreno coastline. In the year 2000 the hotel had initiated a modernization process that converted the building to become a splendid Liberty Villa, with all the comforts necessary to guarantee first-class customer service. On the shoulder of the Versilia Riveria lies, in all its magnificence, the Alpi Appuane mountain range that in coexistence with the Tirreno coastline offers countless beauties founded by nature and human intervention. An extraordinary environmental and landscape scenario full of cultural and historical assets, to which its heredity, Hotel Europa also fits. From the hotel it is possible to visit important cultural cities such as Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena…. Hotel Europa has 30 rooms each with its own unique particularities. The furniture and fittings are very refined and all rooms are equipped with all services and comforts expected from a four star hotel: air-conditioning, TV, telephone, hairdryer, minibar and safe. For beach lovers Hotel Europa offers an external discounted beach facility. The hotel has a homely atmosphere with a modern dining room, bar, TV room, free Internet / WI-FI access, swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, bicycle hire and free internal parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.