We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hotel Europa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Colombo No. 91, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Hotel Europa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two heavenly weeks at Hotel Europa in Lido di Camaiore. The hotel was truly a little piece of heaven, from the exquisite setting to the hospitable, friendly staff who always went out of their way to offer advice and assistance or simply a friendly smile. The breakfast was always delicious and very well presented. We spent long lazy days by the magnificent pool which was just what we needed to escape the lovely hot days. We spent our evenings exploring the magical places in close proximity to the hotel, like Petra Santa, Forte dei Marmi and Viareggio. These places offered extraordinary vibes, delicious restaurants and unbelievable shopping. Hotel Europa not only offers a comfortable setting but is steeped in history, built in 1890 and has managed to blend their rich past with the present. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, interesting and enjoyable holiday. Our memories of Hotel Europa will stay in our hearts and minds forever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel is lovely, the staff were excelent and very helpful, we asked for a kettle and cups in our room and in no time it was there waiting for us with biscuits.we had the use of free push bikes and its just what you need in this area eveyone uses them, the old and the young, its very central for traveling to pisa, florence, lucca, the train station is very close, we had a fab holiday here and would like to return, if we do we will be staying in this hotel, good pool, good breakfast, good every thing.

Room Tip: we had a front room with a lovely view,which looked down over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September and enjoyed every moment . Hotel spotless clean towels and bed linen daily. Lovely pool area and supplied towels for the sun beds. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed eating outside every morning loved the coffee. The hotel staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help in every way. No charge for the safe in the room or for the bycycles. We found the hotel very relaxing and the bus stop was practically just outside with a good bus service every hour . There was a bus to Lucca which is a town worth visiting and one that takes you to Pisa or Pisa airport. Another which can stop at the train station and then get the train to Florence.All in all a perfect holiday in a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What not to like. A beautiful renovated Italian-style hotel. The room (superior) was more than we expected. Decorated with a personal touch. Two identical bathrooms and wardrobes/safes. Great Internet-connection – free all over the hotel. The bathrooms were small but more than adequate. The shower on the tiny side, but water was both hot and with sufficient pressure. Enough shelves and cabinets for all your toiletries. We wrote in advance and asked for a room with great view and extra top mattresses on the beds. When we arrived we got room with an amazing roof terrace with chairs, tables and sunbeds and the mattresses on top of bed was of the very best quality. Since the hotel is situated along a busy road there can be some traffic noise, but with closed doors we didn't hear a ting. The climate control in the room worked perfectly. Maybe a bit noisy on full speed, but no need for that in early September.

There were a beautiful garden and the lovely pool looked inviting, but since we were a bit unlucky with (warm) mostly rainy/cloudy days we didn't get to try it.


To be in Italy the breakfast was very good - yogurt, serials, toast/bread, rolls, scrambled/boiled eggs, cheese, ham/salami/prosciutto and jam and the usual Italian cakes (still dreaming of those croissants...) There were also plenty of cool, fresh fruit.


But first and foremost I will praise the exceptional service we got from all the staff-members. Anything we'd like to do they were ready with suggestions how to easiest get there, parking, shops and sights worth visiting. Instead of calling a taxi when we needed one, hotels own Antonio (?) drove us and picked us up when we called the hotel at the end of our trip. The same Antonio was also available for taking guests round-trips to the known sights around the area, Pisa, Lucca etc. He didn’t speak a word English, but was a delight to drive with. He made us understand what he was telling regardless. He also helped making space for all the guests’ cars in the rather small area they had for parking. We delivered the key in the reception and when we needed the car it was moved to a place so we could get out.


For those loving beaches and the sea it was only 50 meters to the large beach (25 km long) with discount on sun-beds/chairs/parasols in certain areas for hotel guests. Since I have trouble walking I can’t say much for outdoor activities, but I noticed the hotel had bikes for rent/loan and it has to be a great way to get around and see it all. A must is a visit to the beautiful pier down by the beach. We were there by day, but to watch the sunset from there has to be amazing.


The ambiance in the hotel was lovely - so calm and relaxing. Some guests were taking a sunbath/swim, a nap in the shadow, reading, enjoying a drink and a chat, playing chess etc. It was a very comforting homely feeling over it all. Three nights was far too short for a visit. Much more to see and do and we will be back - for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Fabulous ten day holiday. Hotel spotless, spacious room and shower room, clean towels and bedlinen every day. No need to take a beach towel as given one daily for free as well as no charge for safe or to use their bykes. It's ideal for cycling as there are byke lanes and it is very flat. Bus stops practically outside the hotel. The staff were very friendly, efficient and courteous. Disappointed to learn closed from end September until March as would have loved to have gone back in October. Well placed to visit Pisa (including a bus direct from airport to almost front of hotel €3 each way), Lucca and Florence by bus or train to Sienna. Hotel driver picked us up at airport and dropped us €60 each way. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights in July, what a great hotel, very one working there makes you feel like they want to serve you, from Luciana in reception to the maids.
The poole area is superb, no problem finding sun beds, and at night the lighting in the area makes it special.
Breakfast was good with Gluten free items every day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a lovely chilled two week stay at this hotel in June nothing too much bother for staff or the owner Tony. Rooms very spacious and spotlessly clean beds and towels changed every day our room was at top of hotel with spacious terrace
Would return to this hotel tomorrow if I could so central for shops restaurants Viareggio ten minute walk

Room Tip: We asked for Superior room which is on top floor with large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Viale Colombo No. 91, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL EUROPA **** CAMAIORE. The Cardinal Villa, Hotel Europa (4 stars), was built in 1880 in Lido di Camaiore, Versilia (Tuscany), 20 meters from the Tirreno coastline. In the year 2000 the hotel had initiated a modernization process that converted the building to become a splendid Liberty Villa, with all the comforts necessary to guarantee first-class customer service. On the shoulder of the Versilia Riveria lies, in all its magnificence, the Alpi Appuane mountain range that in coexistence with the Tirreno coastline offers countless beauties founded by nature and human intervention. An extraordinary environmental and landscape scenario full of cultural and historical assets, to which its heredity, Hotel Europa also fits. From the hotel it is possible to visit important cultural cities such as Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena…. Hotel Europa has 30 rooms each with its own unique particularities. The furniture and fittings are very refined and all rooms are equipped with all services and comforts expected from a four star hotel: air-conditioning, TV, telephone, hairdryer, minibar and safe. For beach lovers Hotel Europa offers an external discounted beach facility. The hotel has a homely atmosphere with a modern dining room, bar, TV room, free Internet / WI-FI access, swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna, bicycle hire and free internal parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.