We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sylvia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sylvia to your Saves list
Hotel Sylvia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paolo Manfredi, 15 | Lido Di Camaiore, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

In the summer of 2014 I visited Hotel Silva, via Paolo Manfredi, num.15, lido di Camiore, Italy. It is 2 minutes from a beach with umbrellas that you need to pay for. The sand is a very high quality and the sea is quite clean. The hotel is a lovely family run hotel. The garden is very well maintained with 2 areas to sit, have a chat or relax. For those of you with little ones, there is a medium sized area with slides and play equipment. The hotel is very welcoming to all of the guests (wheelchair friendly).

Each room comes with a standard of a bed, dressing table, safe, wardrobe, TV and a bathroom (shower).The beds are ok when it comes down to comfort. The garden rooms are to be avoided as the sound in them is outrageous and you might find it hard to sleep.

The food at the hotel is average with things like tomato pasta. Breakfast is served between 8am -10am, and you can choose from a range of foods such as cakes, homemade croissants, yogurt and cereal. You can eat as much as you like – I always felt full. Lunch is served at 1pm and they offer a 4 course meal. Lunch is very nice. Dinner is similar to lunch - the mussels were especially delicious. The staff serving the food were very friendly and kind. We had good service and no problems occurred.

Room Tip: get a room inside not outside in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Thank you all at the wonderful hotel Sylvia.A warm friendly atmosphere abounds at this lovely family hotel in a delightful peaceful location within easy walking distance of the beach. Lovely food,helpful staff and the hotel always so clean.I look forward to another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Cannot believe the only two reviews in English we were at this hotel last week on a Ledger tour and I can only think that the hotel treat coach tours different. The food was dreadful we had tough veal 3 times out of 5 days. The same salad was served each night consisting only of lettuce and grated carrot. One night we had chicken legs or thighs served with a few French fries no vegetables and the alternative was an omelette served with carrots. The first course was pasta which wasn't too bad one night it was served with bacon but all we could find was fat. The only vegetables served all week were spinach tinned peas, and carrots only with the omelette. No choice of sweet if you didn't like the one offered you did without. One night it was tinned fruit salad another chocolate mousse, lemon drizzle without the drizzle or custard. Breakfast was soft cornflakes or something similar to rice crispies and preferable to the cornflakes but on the last morning these had run out so no choice. Bread white and brown not over fresh and cheese and ham every day by the 5th day unable to take anymore ham and cheese. So as our table companion told her son when he rang her just having my breakfast jam and bread. Very little bread no fruit. On the last day they offered a evening meal at 15 euro some of the guests booked it we did not. The ladies behind us on the coach said it was awful but should have known presume they thought if they were paying it would have been better. The hotel was clean and the linen and towels good. There was no lounge just a couple of chairs in reception. My friend couldn't have a glass of rose wine because they didn't have a bottle opened but she could have had a bottle which she declined. I have been in hotels worldwide and this is the worst food I have ever had. Not sure how another guest could see the sea which is 2 blocks away all we could see was rooftops. No drawers in the bedroom just a cupboard with a hole in the floor which could have held a fridge at some time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrEmanuele, Proprietario at Hotel Sylvia, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kath,

sometimes we are indeed confronted with the fact that we aren't able to content everyone, although the positive feedbacks always outshine the few dissatissfied customers.

We at Hotel Sylvia remember your group from Birmingham really well and have great memories you, who thanked us several times during the stay for the pleasent treatment, food and ambience. Some of them left us their email adress and said they'd be happy to come back to our Hotel in the near future. We've rearly had such pleasent guests.

Regarding the food, we're talking about typical Tuscan dishes Madame - ther are definitely a few surprises or differences to recognize for an English tourist - for example pasta is "al dente" in our culture which might be a novel culinary experience for someone who is not used to home-made ingredients. At this point I would like to point out that demanding Italian guests stay at our Hotel mainly because of the great food we serve. Bus tours, due to their low budget, have a standard menu, but we do our best to make them enjoy the Tuscan Cuisine.

Regarding the veal, one of the best quality meet we could offer, it was definitely on our menue - but I regret that you did not realize that we had 2 options to chose from each day, so there was a great alternative to the veal, such as fish, omlets or vegetable tartes. Regarding the Rosé wine: It has been communicated right at the beginning that we were able to open a bottle for you which you'd be able to finish until the very end of your stay. We do have some wines that we serve per glass, but not all of them. We apologyge even for tab water , that you have asked several times, but we dont serve in our restaurant.

As a whole I would like to point out once more that the Ledger Group left a very positive impression and we really enjoyed having you as our guests.

All the best,
Emanuele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff are super nice and accommodating! Location is perfect... 1 block to main drag/beach. Food is delicious and plenty! Excellent environment for families! We have stayed at hotels all across Italy, France, Spain and beyond... This is truly one of the best ever!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed for a weekend with 2 friends. Hotel Sylvia was very clean and tidy, friendly atmosphere and in a great location (easy walking distance to the beach, coffee shops and restaurants). The hotel had a great friendly family feeling and everyone was very helpfully with any questions. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden also look onto the beach and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#13 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Tigli
Hotel Dei Tigli
#7 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariani
Hotel Mariani
#8 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maita
Hotel Maita
#19 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#20 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sole e Mare
Hotel Sole e Mare
#25 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sylvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sylvia

Address: Via Paolo Manfredi, 15 | Lido Di Camaiore, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sylvia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sylvia*** Lido di Camaiore, which has been mentioned in the Michelin Guide since 1974, is located in the heart of Lido di Camaiore, at the beautiful Tuscany seaside. The region is characterized by its extraordinary and beautiful landscape scenario full of cultural and historical treasures. Hotel Sylvia is located in the vicinity of Tuscany's most beautiful cities, which are easily accessible and which invite to be explored during a daytrip: Florence (1h), Pisa (20 min), Lucca (20 min), Chianti Hills (1 h 30 min). The welcoming and inviting atmosphere created by the hotel owners, the Ricci family, offers unforgettable and relaxing holidays, characterized by their very typical Italian charm. The Ricci family is pleased to offer unforgettable and relaxing holidays to each one of their guests. With a selection of traditional Italian dishes prepared by the in-house chef, every day hotel guests are spoiled with fresh seasonable quality products of the region. During the winter 2012 Hotel Sylvia's interior design has completely been renewed. Its modern building, surrounded by the stunning nature, offers 34 for elegant and all equiped rooms: air-conditioned, TV full HD, free wirells internet connection, a hairdryer, a safe and a balcony. The charming hotel rooms are spacious and bright, fitting and furniture are elegant and genuine, which reflects their tasteful resemblance to the beautiful seaside. Furthermore, the hotel offers a nice rooftop terrace which invites hotel guests to take a quiet sunbath or to enjoy the sunset during a warm summer evening. Free private parking lots are available, there is a child-friendly playground as well as a garden where guests may enjoy their coffee or tea break during the afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sylvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sylvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.