We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven Stay-Price gouging!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Versilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Versilia to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Versilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bernardini gia Viale Colombo, 335/337, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
906 helpful votes 906 helpful votes
“Uneven Stay-Price gouging!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is a lot to like about UNA Hotel Versilia, but also some major deterrents. We requested via email, early check-in and were told the hotel was full and it wouldn’t be possible to check in until 2pm. We arrived at noon and were told the same upon arrival. When we returned shortly before 2, the room still wasn’t ready on a rainy Sunday morning-I doubt that there weren’t any rooms available and that management just enforces a no check in early policy except for their VIPs. Miraculously, right at 2pm our room was available.

The hotel’s location is a 5 minute walk to the beach and promenade, 12 minutes to where the major restaurants and beach bathing areas are. Fine, but not in the middle of the “action”.
No complaints regarding the room even though we were given a smaller room; no walk-in closet or sitting area. It did have a large balcony, modern, minimalistic style, nice amenities, bathrobe/slippers, but no coffee maker and a terrible lucent orange sink.

Major deterrents were the price gouging for the internet with a variety of choices all exorbitant-25euro/24 hours. I would have used the internet had it been reasonably priced, so they lost out on revenue. Also the lobby bar-10 euro for a small bottle of beer! We walked down the street for a nice aperitivo; 2 large beers, one small, lots of food for 10.50 euro. If the hotel wants bar sales it should be reasonably priced. Also attention to details-I joined my husband after he ordered a drink at the bar, no one ever came by to take my drink order. And why leave the service door open, so people sitting at the bar have a full view of this employee only area? These details are important.

My compliments to the chef-our dinner was excellent! The large table full of your choice of delicious appetizers is a real plus and enough for dinner alone, but my husband also ordered the mix meat grill/I order the fish-both excellent. The starter of meat/pasta was too heavy and too much food for a starter although good, I left most of it behind. Wines choices were good but high. Service was attentive without being obtrusive. Breakfast was also very good with a wide range of food; nearly everything you could ask for. My only complaint was lack of atmosphere- the dinning area just seemed like a big cafeteria, very boring and not the least bit elegant or appealing! However we had a very pleasant evening and it was the highlight of our stay.

Overall a very uneven stay which could be made much better with a few price adjustments and a better check in policy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavetti, Direttore at UNA Hotel Versilia, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on UNA Hotel Versilia, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations.
We have taken note of your opinion, the c/in time is at 2PM, due to clean all the rooms; the c/out time is setted at 11:00AM, time where the majority of our Clients leave the rooms; in UNA Hotels all the Clients are V.I.P..
It's a pleasure for us to give to the our Clients any rooms assigned that is ready before 2PM, because the clients stayed before left early; your room where a Classic one, as per your reservations, in our web site you can find a large selection of room types that UNA Hotel Versilia can offer you.
Our prices are aligned to the Versilia market for Room and for Food & Beverage, in reference to the standard of service we offer.
Our Company offers to our guests ADSL2 + 12 / 1 Mbps with at least 1 Mbps of guaranteed band. We have choosed to offer a good service even if it means paying a fee.
Anyway, in the Special Packages section of our website you could find various special offers that include the internet service.
Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    154
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
167
277
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH WEST LONDON
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Una Versiglia for 3 nights with my adult son. Staying at this top Hotel in a medium resort compared with a much lesser one in the considerably posher Viareggio or Forte di Marme, which are a short drive or cycle away...... Don't spread the word!
We had a spacious 2 bedroom suite with a huge balcony overlooking the pool. Sadly the weather was unseasonably chilly but when the sun appeared we. Made use of the large outdoor pool.... Plenty of sun beds.when the weather was bad we were grateful for the indoor pool, steam room, gym and spa.
The hotel has tennis courts and offers bikes. I hadn't been on one for 10 years but urged on by our son ended up cycling along the seafront to Viareggio... Dead flat.... Plenty of cafes & shops.... Dedicated bike lane.... My kind of cycling!
The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good. We liked the fresh juices which were juiced to your requirements.
The hotel is set back from the road opposite a long beach..... All concessions. Due to the weather we didn't bother trying any out.
Would definitely recommend this hotel & location. Worth having a car to explore the area & try different restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is only 5 years old and is very smart with lovely indoor and outdoor pools.
The Breakfast buffet has a good selection of fresh friut, bread and cakes. They also have cereal and hot breakfast. They will even make you fresh fruit juices.

We had a junior suite which was spacious and clean.

The service was friendly and excellent. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavetti, Direttore at UNA Hotel Versilia, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on UNA Hotel Versilia, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations; Customer satisfaction is a primary goal of UNA Hotels & Resorts.
We are satisfied that you have appreciated our hotel and services, all our staff is trained to establish a friendly relationship with the Guests and follow the “UNA services guide” personalized to please every Guest, who confirm everyday to the Management this attitude.
Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Only spent one night here in transit towards Tuscany but we're already planning to include a come back to this hotel on our next trip here. Got a room with a sea view and was quite surprised to see that our room was the size of a small apartment. It even included a walk in closet.

Very clean, modern and comfortable rooms. The hotel's breakfast was delicious, with a very large selection of items.

Ample free parking on site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavetti, Direttore at UNA Hotel Versilia, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on UNA Hotel Versilia, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations; Customer satisfaction is a primary goal of UNA Hotels & Resorts.
We are satisfied that you have appreciated our hotel and services, all our staff is trained to establish a friendly relationship with the Guests and follow the “UNA services guide” personalized to please every Guest, who confirm everyday to the Management this attitude.
Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

For our trip in mid-March this year, we chose the Una Versilia because it looked very modern and recent (which it is, the hotel is just 6 years old), and because it has an indoor pool (and spa) to keep our kids happy on rainy days.

We chose the Deluxe Junior Suite, and after browsing Internet offers (booking.com) and the hotel's web site (which offers reduced rates under promotions) we called the hotel to make the reservation. The pleasant surprise what that after asking nicely for a better rate, we were given an excellent price (I think they handled it internally as a free upgrade). It seems the hotel was not full during our stay, so your experience may vary ...

Upon arrival we were received by very friendly staff, and the room turned out to be really great: Separate rooms for ourselves and the kids on the sofa bed, a flat TV in each room, two separate closet rooms to stash away our suitcases and things, and a nice bathroom. We can really recommend that room type!

What was not so great:

Internet access is VERY expensive (and the codes work only for one device at a time; however when I asked nicely, they gave me another set of codes for my wife at no charge - great service!)

The indoor pool is part of the spa area and as such off limits to children at most hours. Again, after I explained in a friendly way that we had chosen the hotel just for the indoor pool (and that our kids would behave themselves), we were granted an exception by the manager, which really improved the mood. Be careful, around the pool there is one row of floor tiles that are extremely slippery!

Breakfast was great, we even had it outside on the second day (the weather had improved for a few hours), but I must say the restaurant area in general is not very inviting. They have great architecture and good details in the rooms, but the restaurant needs a make-over to be more inviting.

I can really recommend the Una Versilia, especially at the room rate we had, and would surely choose it again the next time we're in that area.

Room Tip: Take the Deluxe Junior Suite (and call to ask for a good rate for your stay) ... and bring a 3G d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice corporate hotel in versilia, 50 mt from the seaside. a few miles from the famous forte dei marmi.
Part of the UNA group.

Setting: very modern, whites / pastel colors prevail in lobby, spa etc. enjoyable and quiet. Do not expect stunning views or crystal sea waters. This is the riviera, not Sardinia. UNA is the only cool building in the area, every other hotel looks stuck in the '60s victim of a horrible urbanization (a boring, ugly-looking strip of concrete).

Rooms: large or very large with huge windows (suites are 40-50+ sqm with separate living and walk in closet). Very clean and equipped. Bed is big and very comfy. Bathroom just ok. Nothing to write home about: shower, tub, etc all very run of the mill or below average. It reminds customer this is a corporate events hotel not a design one. And bathroom fixtures are in general among the most expensive items in renovations; here, a strategy to cut building costs.
SPA and gym: we only tried the small indoor pool. It s nice but we were there in low season and there were over 10 people. Not sure what happens during peak times / high season. Other reviewers complained about shortage of sun decks / loungers (external pool, which is big enough).
Also kids are allowed in the spa until 5pm at weekends.
Service: good and attentive. Staff is kind and helpful.
Other facilities:
- Internet comes at a hefty price (maybe they suppose companies pay for it).
- tennis courts are free but awful. They are made of 'tartan', not an accepted surface for tennis, purely because of cost saving. Perhaps not often used by guests.

All in all a nice one night stay in mid April at a going rate of 200 eur.
Checked prices on the web for August 2013: the same junior suite skyrockets to around 500 eur / night or 400 for a standard room, which I find exaggerated for what remains a nice corporate hotel not a luxurious resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavetti, Direttore at UNA Hotel Versilia, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on UNA Hotel Vittoria, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations.
We have taken note of your opinion, Our Company offers to our guests ADSL2 + 12 / 1 Mbps with at least 1 Mbps of guaranteed band. We have choosed to offer a good service even if it means paying a fee.
From this year we have changed the sunbed in the swimming-pool, now we have 45 sunbed around the pool and 60 in the park adiacent and overlooking the pool.
The room price are aligned with the Versilia market, in reference to the service level we offer.
Anyway, in the Special Packages section of our website you could find various special offers that include the internet service.Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is such a nice hotel, all 5 star from breakfast (best we EVER had!! )to staff. So clean, fresh and large rooms. Look out for the champagne breakfast (in the corner next to the juice bar!)
Lovely indoor pool and nice sauna/steam room in the spa! our kids loved it as it was to cold to swim out door (april) in the proper pool.
Great beach just near hotel.
Food in Hotel nice but pricy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavetti, Direttore at UNA Hotel Versilia, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on UNA Hotel Vittoria, that will allow us to verify the quality of our services and to approach more and more to your expectations; Customer satisfaction is a primary goal of UNA Hotels & Resorts.
We are satisfied that you have appreciated our hotel and services, all our staff is trained to establish a friendly relationship with the Guests and follow the “UNA services guide” personalized to please every Guest, who confirm everyday to the Management this attitude.
Our restaurant serves typical Tuscan and Italian for lunch and dinner; UNA Café menu includes toasts, salads and hot dishes cooked in the microwave to offer hot meals cooked in the microwave, to offer hot meals all day long, until midnight.; the prices are aligned wiht the Versilia market compared to the Restaurant of the same level.
Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Versilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Versilia

Address: Viale Bernardini gia Viale Colombo, 335/337, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#3 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Versilia 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive sea front resort, with 69 rooms, of which 42 are suites, is the ideal solution for anyone wanting to combine the comfort of a luxury hotel and the privilege of total independence offering 30 elegant apartments with a wide choice in size and type. Exclusive facilities at guests disposal are the restaurant accommodating up to 280 people, roof garden bar, indoor and outdoor areas for fitness and sport: 2 tennis courts, a 25 meter open-air swimming pool and solarium. The well equipped conference center with 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 640 guests completes the structures that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Escapio, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Versilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Versilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;