We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is breathtaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carpanini, 1, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lerici
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The view is breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The view from this hotel is amazing! The first nights we had a room without a balcony, but upgraded to a room "with a view" and a balcony. I could sit there for hours just looking over the horizon. The rooms are quite nice as well, not very big, but sufficient. The breakfast was excellent, also served "with a view". To get to the beach and restaurants you have to go down some stairs, and it only takes like 5 minutes to walk down. The way back up to the hotel is a nice workout, not too hard :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    97
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
101
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights, the room was ok and the bed was enormous! Probably the biggest bed I've ever slept in! The rest of the room was quite basic tho and unfortunately we didn't get a sea view, I would highly recommend this as watching the sun set over lerici harbour is fantastic.

The breakfast was to die for, it had nearly everything you could imagine and more!

Please note that the hotel is up in the hills and there's quite a few steps to get to the town centre and Beach, however it's great for walking off the food in the marina on the way back !

All in all a nice hotel with quite simple standard rooms and the terrace for breakfast view is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Views wonderful and rooms with large windows .But what made this hotel special for us was the staff. Luigi at the front desk was superb. Nothing was too much and we dominated his time for a few hours to do with some travel problems. No problem on his part. We have encountered some very rude staff and he made our time there memorable. The staff in the breakfast room also so professional and welcoming. I wish some of our other hotels we have been to in Italy could learn what good hospitality is all about.

Room Tip: I think you would be happy with any of the rooms. Some are more seafacing than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is placed on top of the lush green hills of Lerici which gives great views to the beautiful surroundings... From hotel you can get to the seaside center through a rather steep but beautiful hike (there are stairs all the way) that does not take longer than 5 mins. You can also take your car down to the beach area in week days (its ZTL area in weekends). The hotel staff are really helpful and would make sure you get the help you ask for but not the most attentive staff I would say. The service was really good, good cold food, fruit and sweets buffet breakfast but limited warm food. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and well kept, with lovely balconies! get a sea view room if you can.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A very few hotels can match the awesome views that the hotel offers. The hotel staff is very polite and the food is excellent. I was there in January last year. The only problem is that there is no free wifi and we have to keep buying tokens to run wifi in the hotel.

Room Tip: always ask for a sea facing room. it will help if you tell them that you are a smoker and need a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel, but the room I had at the back of the hotel overlooked an orchard/meadow that was less than inspiring. I was on the third floor and only just about level with the outside world. The lower floors at the back must have no views at all, so try to get a room with a view if possible.
The room itself was OK but even in late October was too warm with the blinds and windows closed. The AC unit was high up on the wall and was impossible to reach, so I never found out whether or not it was functioning. Eventually I had to sleep with the windows open, which led to an influx of mosquitoes.
Internet access was an additional charge and was at best slow, at worst non-existent.
Breakfast was good.
Steps across the road took you straight down to the town square and the walk back up was less arduous than expected!
The outside terrace at the front of the hotel was a nice place to relax with a beer or glass of wine.
Overall, it was OK.

Room Tip: Definitely front and high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for five nights at the end of September and must say that I cannot fault the place. The staff were fantastic and so very helpful - special shout out to Luigi from Johnstone at reception!

The breakfasts (as mentioned in other reviews) were second to none, with a fantastic choice and were available from 0600hrs-1200hrs, yet despite this time it is clear that everything is replenished and refreshed regularly as nothing was (or looked) stale.

Earn the views. It's a climb from Lerici, but it's worth it. Really worth it.

All in all - I can find nothing bad to say about the Grand Hotel Europa. Only praise.

I can thoroughly recommend Lerici too. It's away from the madness of the Cinque Terra (which is still absolutely worth a visit) and is more of a haven for Italian tourists. The town has a great array of excellent restaurants, and the locals are incredibly friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Via Carpanini, 1, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lerici
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lerici

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.