We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place and very good facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Maralunga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerici
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Maralunga
Save
You added Camping Maralunga to your Saves list
Via Carpanini 61, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lerici
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique place and very good facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

we were there in July and was a bit worried by some reviews I saw on this site but i have to say the place was great: amazing view on the bay (we never slept so close to the sea), quiet environment, very helpful staff clean and all facilities seemed quite well mainteined. The location certainly justify the price!

Lerici is a lovey town, walking is the best way to get around and we did not mind the scenic walk to town from the camp site at all (it only takes 10 minutes if you don't stop to take any pictures every five seconds).

Many people complained about staff: they were all very helpful, ok they don't smile a lot and don't say please but hey that's Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I've been to Italy/Cinque Terre in august 2010 and I stayed to this camping. I must say it is a very nice camping because of its amazing location, it is placed on the sea and it has its private beach (it is a rocky beach but very nice). The camping is enough expensive for a 2 star camping, probably because of its location - anyway it worth staying there. We stayed in a kind of balcony with sea view under 2 olive trees - it was wonderful.The only problem we had it was with the mosquitoes - there are a lot of mosquitoes there. Anyway I would recommend this camping to anyone who wants to visit Lerici and Cinque Terre national park. It is a great experience sleeping in a tent there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The camp manager is a worthless guy who could not estimate distances and can't give driving instructions. If you follow his instructions and hit a tree then it is just your own fault even if it just doesn't fit. when you wan't to go to another site (it just does not fit), he walks away. In short, good for a tent but not for a camper or carvan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

What is this place? It's like being inside a dream dreamed by a romantic poet. It's so quiet and peaceful, no stupid fun amenities just nature with wonderful landscapes in front of you and olive trees above you.
Morover the soil where you'll assemble your tent is so solid that will be really difficult to have bad surprises when it rains.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This site was very peaceful and it was lovely to be so close to the sea, however there are no beaches, only rocks and the sea can be a little bit dirty at times. Otherwise it is lovely and blue and you can sun bathe on the rocks.

There are only five showers in total. One indoors for male and femal, which is cold, and four outside which are warm. This was not a problem when we went as it was not peak season. The site is walking distance (10 minutes) to Lerici centre. The site is not really cheap, but it is worth it if you want somewhere peaceful and where you have practically a balcony over the sea.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

I've been going to this campsite for years and was hesitant to review it in case too many people find out about it - it's not easily found. It's located near the beautiful little town of Lerici (30 minutes from La Spezia, 2 hours from Pisa Airport) and, if you find it, you can walk to Lerici in about 10 minutes, along a "carrugio" or footpath. Be prepared, the walk back is steep!

The campsite is family-owned and this family doesn't seem to want to cram too many people on the site, so be prepared to be turned back unless you call in advance, or if you're only camping for a couple of days in a small tent, turn up early!

The site is made up of rocky steps leading down to a rocky private bay with a ladder into the deep sea, and olive trees cover the whole site and protect the tents from the hot summer sun. Washing and showering facilities are good and cleaned regularly. There is one shop where you can get a freshly made "bombolone" (or custard doughnut) and cappuccino in the morning and any food or freshly made 'focaccia ripiena' (flat bread with ham or mozzarella and tomato filling) you might need. You can buy mosquito spray (which you'll need!) and other odds and ends too.

The atmosphere is quiet and civilised, with mainly couples in small tents and families in larger tents and the odd caravan. This is a beautiful campsite, nothing like the flat fields, baking under the sun that I've experienced elsewhere, and the fact that it is located in walking distance from the postcard town of Lerici is a huge bonus - you'll see when you get there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Maralunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Maralunga

Address: Via Carpanini 61, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lerici
Also Known As:
Camping Maralunga Hotel Lerici

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Maralunga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.