We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Byron

Save Saved
You added Hotel Byron to your Saves list
Hotel Byron
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Byron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Biaggini no 19, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Lerici
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

For a 3 star hotel this surpassed all expectations. Cracking location overlooking the sea and close enough to the lively central square but not too close for it to be noisy at night. Hotel and room decor fairly basic and functional but a very large bedroom, which was always immaculately clean each evening when I returned. Room also had a generous sized bathroom and a balcony looking down onto the beach. This is a small family hotel and the staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good; fresh fruit, fresh bread, a good selection of local sausage and ham and unlimited Italian coffee in whatever form I wanted it. I was on a business trip but would not hesitate to take the family (although the slightly low balcony rail might be a bit dodgy for younger kids who like to climb on things). Two slight criticisms: firstly, a lick of paint in the foyer, some more modern fixtures, a few pictures etc, would quickly give this place the feel of a 4 or 5 star. The only other drawback was that the air conditioning is controlled centrally and it had been switched off at this time of year. Only an irritation for one night when the weather was uncharacteristically hot and humid for late September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and good size rooms with wonderful views from large balconies/terrace however the hotel is in serious need of modernisation and refubushment.Decor is dirty and very dated.
Has potential to a 4 star hotel but today I would give it a 1 or 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was everything we could desire – seafront with gorgeous view, perfect breakfast with fresh delicious coffee and a lots of varieties of food, very friendly owners and nice clean room. We would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Termoli, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

i booked via phone a double room in this hotel, but the evening before arrival i received a call from my roomate who had high fever, so it was impossibe for her to come. Then i called the hotel letting them know the situation and they assured me i would have had a discount on the room rate.

Next day i went to the hotel and i was rudely said that the price were fixed, so i had to pay the whole rate, even if i was alone. However the room is confortable, but there is absolutely no possibility to shade the room from outside light, just a light curtain.
Breakfast was ok, even if the room is quite shabby.

  • Liked — Panorama
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byron

Address: Via Biaggini no 19, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Byron 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.