We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, better food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Doria Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doria Park Hotel
Via Carpanini 9, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lerici
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view, better food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel about a half dozen times and its one of those hotels that feels like home. It isn't perfect: the rooms are small drop the soap in the shower and you'd better get another bar as there's no room to bend over to pick it up. The amenities in the room are sometimes odd and the wifi is of variable quality. One minute great and a few minutes later terrible.

If at all possible chose a room with a view of the harbour and the town of Lerici. Better yet a balcony with a view of the harbour. The view is stunning - especially at sunset. You'll want to set as side at least an hour a day to enjoy the view and all the sounds of the town below. Early evening is a good time - while you're waiting for the restaurants to open (8 pm at the earliest)

As much as I like the view, the food in the hotel restaurant is even better. It's best if you like sea food. This is a fishing village and fish features prominently in the menues of all the mica restaurants. The portions are the right size so you can enjoy a couple courses and not feel overfill (north Americans may feel "ripped off" by the modest portions but unless you're a triathlete and need several million calories a day you are much better off with European portions).

The town of Lerici is quite charming. You can spend a very enjoyable couple hours walking from one end to the other along the waterfront. There is a ferry that will take you to Cinqua Terre.

The driveway to the hotel is a real "wish I'd left the range rover at home". Narrow, long, winding and a very steep descent. I find it very appealing - probably helps that I don't own a range river.

A GPS is also highly recommended - or at least look at the map as the hotel is not especially easy to find.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    139
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
163
7
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I accompanied my partner on a business trip and had an amazing time, the staff made me very welcome and comfortable while I was on my own and I spent many a happy hour sat on the balcony of our room admiring the fantastic view with a book and an expreso. Even the spa bath in the bathroom had a view. Breakfast was superb with a huge choice.The resort is very pretty with a huge bay to walk around. At this time of the year it was a little quiet with some restaurants closed but we still had a great time and even the weather was kind to us.

Room Tip: Room 341 has excellent sea view from balcony, room and bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful view! Absolutely breathtaking. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was extremely nice with a huge tub. We stayed in a junior suite and had a good sized balcony with a couple of lounge chairs with nice comfortable cushions and a table and chairs. They have a sizable breakfast spread, and we appreciated the fresh juice maker. They have fruits and vegetables available where you can make your own juice to order. It's a nice walk downhill to the harbor where there are many restaurants with good food where you can enjoy that gorgeous view.

That being said, the service at the hotel was not very good.--The directions the hotel sent us were incorrect. We tried to call the hotel for directions because we got lost. I was put on hold for 5 minutes and I finally hung up because it was costing me roaming minutes on my cell phone. There were ants in the room when we arrived. When we told the person at the front desk, he said that it is to be expected because they are out in the country. We asked the front desk about getting to Cinque Terre. He suggested we take the boat versus the train. We asked if the Lovers Trail was open; and he said he didn't know. I would think the hotel should have knowledge of this since I would assume most visitors are interested in visiting the Cinque Terre. Anyway, the boats were not running that day because of the roughness of the water; so we took the train. Most of the ride is through dark tunnels--no views. I would recommend taking the boat, if possible. And the Lover's Trail had been closed for some time. We might have decided to skip the trip if we had known this in advance. We got only one terrycloth robe in the room. This was really Ok because my husband doesn't really care for the room robes; but what if he did want one and it wasn't provided? We tried to call the front desk multiple times; but the line was always busy. The elevator is tiny, especially for a hotel this size--holds three people max. No one offered to help us with the luggage checking in or checking out. We ran out of tissues the first day and they were not replaced the second day. Also didn't get any water glasses the second day. Both mornings we ate there the eggs and some other items at the breakfast buffet were not replenished until a guest told the staff. It's a shame because the area is beautiful. They apparently rely on the beauty of the area to continue to get customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is very small and cozy. It is the ideal place to come if you want to relax on their terrace or in their garden (which has an incredible view over the city/port).
The only thing that would make this place perfect would be a pool.
The staff is welcoming and prompt with any requests that you may have.
I would definitely go there again for the week end.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Lerici, it has the best view of the Golfo dei Poeti and it also had a Michelin star restaurant "i Doria" which is amazing, with breath taking views of the Gulf of Poets marina. This is also the same dining room for the defined by Sharon Stone as "orgasmic" and I must agree with her, the breakfast buffet has everything, from American eggs and bacon, to Italian breads, cheese, cold cuts, fresh baked cakes, crossiant (called brioche in Italy) and fresh squeezed juices.....need I go on? There is a private parking area for the hotel and a beautiful patio for relaxing and having a drink while taking in the amazing view. We had a nice spacious room on the top floor with a balcony where we had coffee in the mornings enjoys the amazing view and listening to the church bells...it is so peaceful and at the same time a very quick 5 minute walk down some stairs to the main square of piazza. The only down side since we were traveling from the US and had several suitcases was there were porters to help us with our luggage when we arrived, but there was someone there to help when we left as there are a few stairs to get thru from the parking to the main lobby. The port where you can get tickets to see the Cinque Terre again is a 5 minute walk (i suggest not taking you car to visit the 5 Cities, as the best way is by boat. But in my opinion the nice city was Portovenere (across the bay from Lerici), which is not even part of the Cinque Terre, but the boat does stop there. Overall we stayed 3 nights and it was a great way to end our 3 week vacation in Italy.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony and also on the higher floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is perched above the town looking down on the Bay of Poets. We had one of the suites with a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. As with most hotel rooms in Italy the rooms are not huge but well appointed with a very nice big shower! The terrace is a huge bonus- perfect for enjoying a glass of prosecco watching a beautiful sunset. We were able to take an easy ferry ride to visit the villages of Cinque Terre which made a great day trip. Although this hotel appears to be quite a hike from the main town it is actually a quick 2 minute walk through a back lane( more like 10 minutes back up due to the very steep incline:) ).I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent views from room (had small balcony on 5th floor) and from breakfast terrace, and excellent location set above the town of Lerici, but that is about the only thing worth writing about. Hotel lobby and rooms in need of updating, as others noted, but also major wear and tear.

We spend little time in our room and have traveled extensively, so believe me when I say smallest room and shower we've ever paid for. Our room was so tiny that we had to take turns passing each other to get to the bathroom-the bed took up the entire room. We are small people so we managed and giggled about it, but I imagine it may be nearly impossible for some to shower. No exaggeration, but I'll spare the details.

Fantastic view...but not worth the price we paid. We immed. asked if a slightly larger room were avail since we were there 5 days the last days of August, but were turned down--pity.

Free parking, though lot always full so we parked on the hill/street and never had to use our car.

Lerici has several nice restaurants within a 5-minute walk down from hotel. Lovely, quiet town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Park Hotel

Address: Via Carpanini 9, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Park Lerici
Hotel Doria Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.