We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Lerici....with amazing view of Golf of Poets!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Doria Park Hotel to your Saves list
Doria Park Hotel
Via Carpanini 9, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lerici
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Lerici....with amazing view of Golf of Poets!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Lerici, it has the best view of the Golfo dei Poeti and it also had a Michelin star restaurant "i Doria" which is amazing, with breath taking views of the Gulf of Poets marina. This is also the same dining room for the defined by Sharon Stone as "orgasmic" and I must agree with her, the breakfast buffet has everything, from American eggs and bacon, to Italian breads, cheese, cold cuts, fresh baked cakes, crossiant (called brioche in Italy) and fresh squeezed juices.....need I go on? There is a private parking area for the hotel and a beautiful patio for relaxing and having a drink while taking in the amazing view. We had a nice spacious room on the top floor with a balcony where we had coffee in the mornings enjoys the amazing view and listening to the church bells...it is so peaceful and at the same time a very quick 5 minute walk down some stairs to the main square of piazza. The only down side since we were traveling from the US and had several suitcases was there were porters to help us with our luggage when we arrived, but there was someone there to help when we left as there are a few stairs to get thru from the parking to the main lobby. The port where you can get tickets to see the Cinque Terre again is a 5 minute walk (i suggest not taking you car to visit the 5 Cities, as the best way is by boat. But in my opinion the nice city was Portovenere (across the bay from Lerici), which is not even part of the Cinque Terre, but the boat does stop there. Overall we stayed 3 nights and it was a great way to end our 3 week vacation in Italy.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony and also on the higher floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    148
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
43
175
7
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is perched above the town looking down on the Bay of Poets. We had one of the suites with a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. As with most hotel rooms in Italy the rooms are not huge but well appointed with a very nice big shower! The terrace is a huge bonus- perfect for enjoying a glass of prosecco watching a beautiful sunset. We were able to take an easy ferry ride to visit the villages of Cinque Terre which made a great day trip. Although this hotel appears to be quite a hike from the main town it is actually a quick 2 minute walk through a back lane( more like 10 minutes back up due to the very steep incline:) ).I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent views from room (had small balcony on 5th floor) and from breakfast terrace, and excellent location set above the town of Lerici, but that is about the only thing worth writing about. Hotel lobby and rooms in need of updating, as others noted, but also major wear and tear.

We spend little time in our room and have traveled extensively, so believe me when I say smallest room and shower we've ever paid for. Our room was so tiny that we had to take turns passing each other to get to the bathroom-the bed took up the entire room. We are small people so we managed and giggled about it, but I imagine it may be nearly impossible for some to shower. No exaggeration, but I'll spare the details.

Fantastic view...but not worth the price we paid. We immed. asked if a slightly larger room were avail since we were there 5 days the last days of August, but were turned down--pity.

Free parking, though lot always full so we parked on the hill/street and never had to use our car.

Lerici has several nice restaurants within a 5-minute walk down from hotel. Lovely, quiet town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views, sensational breakfast and great location - thoroughly recommend. A bit hard to find but well worth it. LeRici is a hidden gem and to visit and experience in its own right as well as a base for visits to the cinque terra.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came to Lerici as a stop-over on the way to the south of Italy but decided that the town and the hotel itself would actually make a good place for a holiday. I noticed that a lot of families stayed there.. we were 4 and we were able to have a fourth bed in a three person room. I was really impressed by a flexibility in this regard which many hotels don't offer, and even with the third bed we had plenty of room. We had a small garden view balcony but we were actually able to see the sea from the side. The hotel is surrounded by pleasant gardens, has ample parking and is only a short walk to the town. The staff were all very helpful and the famous breakfast was not only copious and delicious, with many different types of italian cakes and lovely fresh fruit, but was served from very early in the morning until 12. Lerici itself is a pretty little seaside town, it is not overly busy and has beautiful views, clean sandy beaches and warm, calm water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Doria Park for a week at the beginning of July. We had a special room which we booked direct with the hotel for 180€ per night. I was so glad that we paid extra to guarantee a room with a balcony overlooking the stunning bay as it is all about that view, having said that, if you are not able to get a room with a balcony, there is a lovely terrace with a great view (although you can't see the castle from here). We arranged for the hotel car to collect us from Sarzana station, this was a really good move as the hotel is situated above the town and so would be a bit of a hike with heavy suitcases, plus at only10€, this was a bargain, I bet a taxi would cost more. Christian collected us promptly as arranged and on arrival at the hotel, picked our suitcases up as if they weighed nothing and ran down the stairs with them (worth a big tip!)

The room itself was nice enough, but the furniture could do with updating, the drawers were always either getting stuck or coming off their runners, they were just poor quality and there was the usual lack of coat hangers. The bathroom was very small but everything functioned well and the shower pressure was good. Every part of the hotel that we visited was exceptionally clean and the gardens were just stunning.

As everybody says, the breakfast was a real feast and set you up nicely for the day, also excellent cappucino. We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and the food was great, service good and reasonably priced, including the wine list. The bar is well stocked and my husband had his best ever grappa there. Again, the restaurant and lobby could do with a bit of an upgrade, but they do have a certain old fashioned charm.

Lerici itself is beautiful, but as vegetarians we really struggled to find anything to eat, there are only so many pizzas you can eat in one week, if you love fish, Lerici is the place for you! The hotel is a gentle stroll downhill into the main square which only takes a couple of minutes, we got the bus to Tellaro and the boat to Cinque Terre and Portovenere and most days we did the walk along the sea front to San Terenzo. We had a lovely time in Lereci and I think we made a great choice with the Doria Park, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a special room direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Doria Park Hotel for it's convenient location to the boats to Cinque Terre. The hotel is situated up on the hill overlooking the Bay of Poets, we had a lovely room with a balcony and spectacular views. It is not situated in a location for anyone who can't walk many stairs down to the lobby level from parking, and it is a very steep walk back up the hill if you go down to the main piazza. We truly enjoyed this hotel, its location, and the town of Lerici itself. Getting the boats to Cinque Terre is very convenient from here and you also get to enjoy it's charm. We had dinner our first night at the hotel, it was very nice and the food was good, however, they definitely need more staff, it seemed only two people did everything, we had the same problem at breakfast time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Park Hotel

Address: Via Carpanini 9, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lerici
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Park Lerici
Hotel Doria Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.