We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Hotel for Lerici or San Terenzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida Lerici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida Lerici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida Lerici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Biaggini 35, 19032 Lerici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lerici
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Hotel for Lerici or San Terenzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Situated between Lerici and San Terenzo with a beautiful 15 minute walk on the promenade to either this is the perfect Hotel for the area. A lovely beach straight across the road is an added bonus.
The owners are excellent hosts who gave us excellent recommendations for walks, restaurants and activities.
Our triple room faced the sea with a good size balcony. The room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast included in typical Italian style and again with views of the Gulf of Poets.
Ferries leave Lerici for the Cinque Terre but these villages are over run with tourists. By contrast in Lerici you rarely hear any other language than Italian and it makes for a much more authentic experience in my view.
For hikers there is a great walk in the hills to Tellaro which is well worth doing and there are some spectacular coves for swimming along the way.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a triple room facing the sea if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    94
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
99
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a one night stop over here whilst travelling up the West coast of Italy.
It was a great place to unwind and relax directly on the beach.
The very helpful receptionist walked us to a local restaurant for lunch and gave us towels for the beach afterwards.
They also recommended a restaurant for dinner (which was sadly very average).
Beds were very comfortable and the room is basic but adequate. The view is worth the slight down side.
Breakfast was perfectly acceptable.
Hotel was a little expensive but here you are paying for location.

Room Tip: On the front and high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Florida! First of all, Valentina & her family own and run this hotel with loving care. They truly enjoy what they do and it shows. We felt so welcome on our arrival it was like coming home to stay with family. We were given a spectacular room on the fourth floor, with a sea view. The room was absolutely one of the nicest I have stayed at in my Italian travels. It was well laid out, clean, nice size and had a balcony with two chairs and a table so we could sit outside at the end of the day and and watch the people walking along the ocean front. The hotel has a perfect location, with a 10 minute walk along the beautiful waterfront to either Lerici or San Terenzo. Valentina made excellent suggestions for food and how to get around to see what we wanted to see.We had a easy time getting around. Your can take a ferry to Portavenere or to Cinque Terre. I highly recommend Hotel Florida for your home base in this part of italy. What a treat this place is and Lerici is just magical!

Room Tip: room 442, great location and view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek,
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Florida and absolutely loved it! It's a small family run hotel that is in an excellent location with incredible breathtaking views. Valentina, who runs the hotel with her brother and father, was always so friendly and hospitable. She made us feel like family and offered great suggestions on restaurants and sights to see. Hotel Florida is a 10 minute walk from Lerici in one direction and a 10 minute walk in the other direction to San Terenzo-both charming Mediterranean towns void of international tour groups and crowds like we experienced in Cinque Terre. This is a hidden gem along the coast where the only other tourists we experienced were Italians. It was an oasis for us at the end of our 12 day trip from Genoa-Rappalo-Cinque Terre. The hotel has modern amenities and is charming. The lobby of the hotel has warm blue tones to match the nautical feel of the town with big windows to take advantage of the beach views as well as having 2 little outdoor seating areas off the lobby. The rooms are comfortable, modern and very clean. The bathroom was large with plenty of storage space for sundries and a hot large shower (plus a window in the bathroom). WiFi is complimentary with no problems accessing. Breakfast was delicious each morning-we could smell the fresh bakeries before we made it to the restaurant. We had a seafront room on the upper floor and when we got to the room, the view took our breath away-the crescent shaped waterfront dotted with beaches with Lerici on the left with its distinctive castle, colorful homes on the waterfront cascading down the hill into the marina and with San Terenzo on the left and 2 large islands dotting the horizon. We had plans upon checking in to drop off our luggage then explore the town but we were so entranced with the stunning views, that we sat out on the balcony taking pictures and savoring the views. We walked into both towns to explore and have dinner. The waterfront promenade is gorgeous and extends from Lerici to San Terenzo-dotted with beaches, fishing boats and sailing boats, delightful piazzas filled with Italians dining outdoors and spending time with family with incredible views along the entire promenade. In Lerici, there is a boat that offers options to Cinque Terre which makes it great for day trips. We had already done this but we did take the boat one morning over to Porte Venere (half hour on the boat) which you can see in the distance from the hotel which is a great afternoon day trip. When we leaving Lerici to head back to Genoa before flying home the next day, we took the same boat from Lerici to Monterossa (the furthest end town of Cinque Terre) for a scenic ride on the water before disembarking in Monterrossa to take the train to Genoa. The crowds in Cinque Terre infiltrated the boat once we reached the first town of Cinque Terre (Riomaggiore) but we still enjoyed the coastal ride and views but made us long to back at Hotel Florida in the seaside town of Lerici. If you are looking to end a trip to Cinque Terre in a calm, relaxing beautiful place, spend a few days at Hotel Florida. You won't regret it. The hotel is incredible as is the service. You are lulled to sleep each night with the sound of the waves and wake up to sunny coastal views that will make you not want to leave your room. Hotel Florida is such a hidden treasure away from the maddening crowds of Cinque Terre where you can experience true Italian hospitality and what the real world is like in Italy. Thank you Valentina and Hotel Florida for making our memories of Italy so very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon last month. We mainly stayed there because I wanted to see Cinque Terre but were surprised by how much we liked staying at this quaint hotel in Lerici. We had a clean, good-sized room with a balcony that overlooked the stunning gulf - it was amazing to start and end our day with immediate views of the water; we cracked the balcony door open so we could hear the sound of the water. The staff were very nice; it was raining on our first morning there and they gave us suggestions for what to do, which we appreciated. Also, the breakfast room has one wall of windows so you can see the gulf and the spread was fantastic! We would definitely stay there again! Free wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel in May of 2007. I loved it then and read from recent reviews that it has been updated even further. My family stayed in the ocean view rooms and I opted for the single, but even though I didn't wake to a view, the room was comfortable and clean. All other amenities were available to me, so I enjoyed the breakfast and then walked just across the street and walked the beach and enjoyed the sea glass and solitude. The walk to town is short and enjoyable, with the ferry to the Cinque Terra towns just five minutes away, many lovely restaurants and endless possibilities for photos. The climb into the hill town provides gorgeous vistas and unusual, colorful pictures. The harbor and the passeggiata in the evening are memorable. Would stay again in a heartbeat. To avoid confusion, my trip was in 2007 but the review form only gives the option of last year's date, so I chose May, but couldn't go farther beyond 2012.

Room Tip: Of course the ocean view rooms are lovely, but if you don't have one, go up to the overlook on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stunning views is the first thing to say. What a delight when opening the shutter in the morning - you cannot but stare in wonder at the view across the bay, the castle in the background on the left, the sun streaming over the small fishing boats and the splash of the surf on the beach just 20m away. The hotel is family run and has recently been tastefully modernised. Bathrooms small but well presented. Fridge with bottled water provided. Free wifi and small safe in the room. An added bonus they provide free parking permits so you can park right outside the door. Breakfast is a well covered buffet. Lunch and dinner easily found in Lericci town centre just 8 mins walk left out the hotel or right to San Torenzo just 10 min walk? Firm but comfortable beds. Air conditioning worked well. The family speak enough English to assist in what to do and where to go. A very pleasant stay - will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida Lerici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida Lerici

Address: Via S. Biaggini 35, 19032 Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida Lerici 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castellanotti family welcomes you to the Hotel Florida in Lerici, a three star hotel equipped with all the necessary comforts to make your stay unforgettable in “Il Golfo dei Poeti”, the bay wher Byron, D. H. Lawrence, Shelley and Virginia Woolf were once inspired by the surrounding beauty.Each bedroom is well furnished and equipped with a balcony, air conditioning, tv and sky, a safe, a minibar, extra services and the possibility for internet connection. There is also a free internet point down in the reception area.Every morning in the breakfast room, complete with sea view there is a buffet, which offers a variety of both sweet and savoury delights to begin the day with.On the 5th floor one may sit back, relax and enjoy the view from the open roofed terrace, which gives onto the beautiful bay where Portovenere is visible and on an exceptionally clear day more distant islands appear on the horizon.For those who are particularly eager for exercise and enjoy sport there are four tennis courts, a golf course and two swimming pools close by the hotel.If you are travelling with a car, the hotel will provide a parking permit, which is necessary in order to park in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Florida Lerici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lerici

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida Lerici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.