We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fish dishes at great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Al Cantiere

Ristorante Al Cantiere
Piazza Garibaldi 26, 19032 Lerici, Italy
+39 0187 967300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Lerici
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chiavenna, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing fish dishes at great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We saw the good reviews but entered the place a bit sceptic, thinking it would have been a very "touristy" site. With surprise, we noticed all people were local (which is always a good sign). The place is not big, but kind of cozy... We ordered Antipasto misto di mare for two people and we had so many different kinds of antipasto (for 10 € per person!). Then a secondo, tagliata di tonno (tuna)... It was delicious... Well cooked, vegetables were fresh and well presented, looked like a novelle cuisine dish! We highly recommend this place, we will be definitely back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    64
    34
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to this little place yesterday for lunch very nice! The place was full of locals.... always a good sign. Try the Sea Food Antipasti, well worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and exceptionally good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Enjoy the perfect views over the Lerici Marina across the water to Portevenere whilst enjoying well cooked pasta or seafood. The grilled squid is amazing, my wife had Liguria sea bass with olives and capers - best she has ever had. The previous day we had just fresh pasta with homemade tomato sauce - a real delight. Combined with the sun and views this is an amazing lunch time experience. Good value too. Like all the sea front venues get too many 'traders' plying their wares and don't like 'No' for an answer. Perhaps the city authorities need to take a stand and ban them like Mallorca! Don't let this detract from the restaurant though - have a wonderful lunch :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I was more concerned with the mosquitos feasting on my legs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had just explored 5 Terre earlier and was just looking for a place to eat, so we just went here based on hotels recommendation.
I have to confess I was too tired to even think much, so I just ordered the Frito Misto and a side salad.
Service is pretty slow, but I kinda expected that since we are in Europe and not NYC. When our meal arrived my Frito Misto was so-so, I was concerned that some of the sea food did not taste fresh and then it was also very greasy ( I know you're probably thinking, it's greasy because it's fried, but lets just say i thought some of it was still swimming in the grease )
All I can say was that I was more concerned by the mosquitos feasting on my legs, then the dish I got. The house salad was good, but how wrong can you go with some greens and sliced tomatoes?
The waitresses were trying their best to serve everyone as it looked like there was only 2 of them serving over 50 people.
We decided to have dessert next door at the gelataria which was the highlight of the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BOTTOM OF THE HEAP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked our table for 9.15pm, 5 adults, and sat at 9.50 after a group of 4 just arrived, they don't seem to care much about reservations. Ordered two starters and got them quite soon, but the portions were scarce considering that each one is supposed to be for two persons, and the octopus was chewing gum. Then two "spaghetti scoglio" (pasta overcooked, ways too much oil, a number of old mussels), two grilled prawns plates (five prawns for 18Euro…) and one "gnocchetti" (nothing special), arrived in this order: spaghetti at 10.40, prawns at 11.20 and gnocchetti at 11.45, and all after our complaints and the servers trying to guess what was ordered. Just the gnocchetti were not on the bill, but my friend did not eat much of it after almost 3 hours waiting. One of our precious vacation evenings ruined, never again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Cantiere also viewed

Lerici, Italian Riviera
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante Al Cantiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Al Cantiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.