We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting What Was a Youth Hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Lerici

Castello di Lerici
Piazza San Giorgio 1, Lerici, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Lerici
Type: Castles, Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Revisiting What Was a Youth Hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner stayed here in 1970, when it was a youth hostel run by an eccentric woman named Madi. She had a checkered past and was part of the Italian Resistance in WWII.

I can imagine the expenses to maintain a castle and Madi ran into the same problem. In addition, the local politicians and Madi had their disagreements over the years and eventually they won. She got evicted and it went into disrepair until a local 12-yr. old boy found fossils in the water.

It is now the Museo Geopaleontologico. We're seniors and the cost for entry was €8 for two persons. It's interesting if you are into that type of thing. The displays were average. We were visiting more for nostalgic reasons.

As you can imagine, the views are pretty spectacular from here. There are a lot of steps up to the castle so you should be ambulatory. There were steps down at the bottom by the marina and we climbed up. When we left we took the path through the streets down to the L'ancora di Lerici Ristorante where we enjoyed a wonderful lunch of clams and linguine and gnocchi.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    84
    37
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice spot for panaramic view of the golf of the poets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Besides to marvel at the impressive castle perched on the side of a very step hill over Lerici..the other main reason is to enjoy the views. If you approach the castle from the promenade make sure you look at the natural gardening along the sides and below the castle...just amazing

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Romantic and breath taking views

Climb the stirs to the top or take the lift

Amazing place

Do not miss this!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you go to Lerici is a must to go to the Castle. The wind here is a light breeze that really makes you breath the beauty of the place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Cinque terre area !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a lovely stay in CInque terra area , don't miss Lerici ! not too crowded and really close to everything ... Really a charming place!   Don't miss the beautiful 12th century castle, and the lovely restaurant right below its walls : Cicillo . We spent a week in the perfect base to explore  Cinque terre area  : www.villainlerici.it , just 10 minutes walk from Lerici downtown , the ocean views  are spectacular ! Sunset from the pool area is stunning! not simply the perfect view  and the high quality villa furnishings, but the ability of  our host (  Gianluca ) to realize in advance the things that a traveler needs, made our dream holiday came true!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Lerici also viewed

Lerici, Italian Riviera
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Castello di Lerici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Lerici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.