We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite beach in Puglia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiaggia Porto Selvaggio

Spiaggia Porto Selvaggio
Via La Riggia | Nardo, 73048 Lecce, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Attractions in Lecce
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in Puglia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My dad lived in Puglia for many years and took us to the beach at Porto Selvaggio and other hidden gems. We parked in Santa Maria al Bagno and walked up to the ruined tower then through the woods and down steps to the beach (15 minute walk), which is part of a small pristine national park (but planted less than 100 years ago). Even though the water is colder than other beaches nearby, because it is said that a spring feeds into the sea there, the sea is turquoise and calm, and it is a very peaceful place for a day out, a swim and picnic. It is great if you prefer wild beaches to managed beaches with rows of umbrellas. It would be a perfect tranquil setting but for the rubbish that gets washed up on the beach. The water wasn't warm by Italians' standards (June) but for northern Europeans it is still comfortable to swim in. This area and Puglia generally is worth visiting before the July/August invasion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    91
    24
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Risky: robbery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we got out car opened and money and camera robbed. It seems to happen very often, but there is no police watching.
The place is beautiful, but there is no real beach. Rocky cliffs and beautiful water. There is a small gay cruising scene and people are comfortable getting naked.
Don't leave anything in the car.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Aware of thiefs! Attenti ai ladri.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The beach is really marvelous, but be very careful leaving your things in the car and on the beach. We experienced a rubbery of some of the stuff (camera, tomtom navigator, bag with documents) from our car parked along the road with other 500 cars. The police really couldn't do anything, as you might expect, but they made something to make us have our documents back (Nardò police station). What they suggested was to leave the car at the ILLEGAL parking. You pay 4 euros to a guy who will never declare them. But your things will stay safe. Same things for the beach itself. Be very careful.
La spiaggia è bellissima. Ma abbiamo subito un furto in auto. Ci hanno presi alcune cose di quali solo i documenti sono stati ritrovati (per fortuna, subito la stessa sera). La polizia ci ha suggerito di usare i parcheggi abusivi (SIC!) "dove non sarebbe successo niente". Cosa puoi dire contro questo... Cmq la stessa cosa vale per la spiaggia. Attenti ai ragazzi con le scarpe da ginnastica.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice beach and beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The beach is very nice. The water has a very beautiful color but it is a little cold due to some sweet water springs. There is no sand but it is easy to find a spot where to put your towel.
But what I liked more are the surrondings. If you like walking in a few minuts you can reach a higher spot from where you can enjoy the view of the sea shore.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

One of the most beautiful, secluded swim spots in a nature reserve. invest in a snorkel!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiaggia Porto Selvaggio also viewed

Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Spiaggia Porto Selvaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiaggia Porto Selvaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.