We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni

Save Saved
You added Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Calio' Pomponio, 73100 Lecce, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Lecce
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As soon as you pull into the driveway of this hotel you feel as if you are in another country. As you check in you are treated to a lovely Morrocan spread and tea. The staff here couldn't be more helpful, but they are not at all obtrusive...a great balance.
The rooms are lovely & nicely decorated, the only slight downfall is the lack of good bedside lighting for reading, but its such a small detail.
We ate at the restaurant a couple of times & were very impressed with the food, the couscous & the arabian platter are to die for! The pool is gorgeous, we quite happily spent the day lounging on the double day beds, which are very comfy. In the evenings they have a fire pit with seating around it, which is a beautful place to have a glass of wine before dinner and look up at the stars.
We had orginally booked for 2 nights, but liked it so much we stayed an extra night. We drove to Lecce from the Amalfi coast & then took the train back to Rome, and easy direct trip that takes about 5 hours.
If you are looking for a romantic spot to relax for a couple of days & explore the gorgeous area around Lecce Masseria LuciaGiovanni is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    27
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
94
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While visiting family in Lecce we stopped by this beautifully transformed masseria is like being transported to Marakeesh....without the hassle. We had a lovely dinner with some excellent seafood, but I really wanted to return to try out the pool..it looks like you are walking into a turquoise sea at the beach...no step down, just gradually getting deeper. An aesthically designed delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The place is beautifully designed and very luxurious, in an overall Moroccan theme. The infinity pool, the courtyards are both lovely and atmospheric, the rooms comfortable and the service very accommodating. The staff are super helpful and went out of their way to help me resolve a problem of a package that was meant to be delivered but was not. I would not have managed the whole thing without them. One could not wish for a more accommodating and friendly staff. Having free wi-fi over the entire hotel is a really big asset. An additional asset is the excellent spa-Hammam with very professional and charming masseurs. Signora Marisa and her staff run the place in an informal and hospitable way and take real interest in their guests.
Small points for improvement are more light in bedrooms and maybe an upgrade to the restaurant repertoire and quality. Overall this was a great place for a vacation, well located for beaches and for Lecce and genuinely relaxed in atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is a great environment, and you cannot but love the pool area, which has individual and double beds looks stunning.
The rooms are good, but do suffer from some bad design features- such as shower flooding the bathroom. But, this is offset against other nice features such as a skylight in our room with retractable blind.
The breakfast was good, but apart from that we ventured into Lecce for dinners.
The hotel has a lot of potential, but I couldn’t help feeling it just needs a bit more time to settle into itself and grow. Most elements were average, but with real potential to improve. As we were there at a quieter time of year, this might not have helped, a few more people to keep the staff and the hotel on its toes might have made all the difference. Free wifi always good!
A fire one evening was another lovely touch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a nice balance between a 5 star hotel and B&B. With its Morrocan/Arabian theme, you feel like your staying at an oasis. And this theme is reflected by design and attitude. I felt a mixture of Italian charm and Arabic hospitality.

Although you get most benifits of a high end hotel, in addition to a wonderful spa, you also receive great attention and hospitable warmth that can only be experienced in B&B. The owner/manager of the hotel is constantly checking on everyone and making sure that all is well. She treats everyone as guests in her own home, with a big smile and a charming attitude. She truly made me feel like I'm among family.

I will surely return, next time I visit Lecce or a neighboring town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in this Hotel and did not want to leave. Luxurious decoration, morrocan inspiration with wonderful swimming-pool and nice spa and gym. Rooms live up to the expectation, large and luxurious. The hostess - italian élégance & humour combined - and the personal go to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable, without ever over-doing it. 5 km from center of lecce makes it a pleasant base from which to visit this jewel from the south of italy. Excellent restaurant also available any time of the day, should you not wish to go to the city for lunch or dinner. we seemed not to be the only one to enjoy the place as the Rai - italy's national broadcaster - was shooting

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Extremely beautiful design, the first impression of carefully designed luxury is confirmed throughout the hotel. The pool is stunning. The staff are helpful but not intrusive. The food is locally sourced and inventive. The accommodation is luxurious and comfortable. We loved it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni

Address: Calio' Pomponio, 73100 Lecce, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is an exceptional hotel in a style that combines comfort, luxury and personalized services, conception of a refined expression of hospitality based on experiences and sensations that exceed the traditional concept of hotel stay.The masseria is a true summary of the cultural wealth of the encounter between the East and the West.The complicity of elements and compliance conserve made it a unique place in every corner; all the furniture, floors and objects that make up the masseria are unique pieces expertly crafted by skilled craftsmen.The 28 rooms and suites that are developed around a traditional patio typical of Salento Masseria, guests are welcomed in this oasis of peace where rich pleasing scents can enjoy breakfast at the edge of a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria & Spa LuciaGiovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.