We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but corporate atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lecce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lecce to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cosimo de Giorgi 62, 73100 Lecce, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 25% off
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good but corporate atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose the Hilton Garden Inn after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor and we have to agree with lots of the positives about the hotel BUT the hotel does seem to cater mainly for corporate clients and tour companies. As such, it was a little lacking in atmosphere and did not give us an insight into the italian culture, as much as some of the other places we stayed in on this trip. Saying that however, the hotel provided us with good accommodation - a comfortable clean room, good breakfast and access to the rooftop pool, which we enjoyed. There was free wi-fi and BBC World News avaiable. We made use of the hotel shuttle bus into the centre of Lecce but it is possible to walk to the centro storico, if you are so inclined. The hotel is convenient for Brindisi Airport which is just over thirty minutes away by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are an international brand hotel and we have to respect standards about furniture and so on. Furthermore we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    231
    52
    10
    4
See reviews for
75
293
22
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
in kingswood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really could not fault this hotel. With a party of 50 but they coped with us very well. My 'single' was a very pleasant double, although the rubbish bin had not been emptied from previous occupant - human error happens - not serious. next day the room was dealt with. Bathroom was huge, great shower and loads of hot water. Staff were efficient, courteous and helpful - wifi tripped in and out but they put a notice on Reception to warn us - and hey, we were on hols. Situation of hotel is in the residential part and when the shuttle was late they laid on a taxi for us at no charge - you can't beat that. Loved the Pantry behind reception where you could buy food, drink and toiletries at all hours. For a single person within a tour grip I found this hotel very good value and up to standard. Well done Hilton.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words and for reporting your experience at our hotel. We are dealing with the aim to offer the best to our customers and every day we have to learn much better to do it. So, thank you so much to help us doing it.

Looking forward to meeting you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were travelling as part of a group of nearly 50 from the UK. The hotel handled check-in and everything else efficiently and pleasantly. The staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms are modern and well appointed with extremely nice bedlinen - fresh crisp quality cotton sheets, our bed was huge. The hotel is not in central Lecce and not within easy walking distance of the historical or shopping areas so this would not be a good hotel for anyone without their own transport. Breakfast was good and there is also an outside dining terrace which is shaded. The only negative comment would be that there was no hot water for almost the whole of our two night stay and internet access was hit and miss.

Some of the corner rooms have balconies which give the best views over the surrounding area which although mainly residential has a big park and jogging / walking track right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: There are corner rooms on the higher floors which have big balconies with opening doors ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, for both positive and negative points.

I noted the issues you had with the hot water and internet. I am very sorry. Actually we had some troubles about it, but now totally sorted out.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

First of all, this is a good hotel and should be considering the prices. We got a good price that included breakfast, but would never pay the full price which is very high.

We stayed in a double room which was not very big, but big enough, and had a balcony. The bath room was quite large. The room was clean and nicely decorated.

The staff in the reception was very nice and check in/out was easy and quick.

The roof terrace with pool is lovely, but there are not that many sun beds. Suppose it gets quite crowded during the day. Many families with children stay at the hotel.
The gym is ok, but I'd expected something more from a hotel of that class.
A big plus for the washing mashine (3 euros) that is located next door to the gym.

We had breakfast included and it was a big buffè, delicious. The downside about the breakfast is that the staff is very slow to fill up when something runs out. E.g the ham was not filled up during the whole time we ate. and that happened several days. Felt almost as they waited to fill up to save a bit...there were a lot of staff members running around so they should have seen it...

The very down side of this hotel is the location. We did not realize how far away from the centre it was. There is a shuttle bus but we we're told during check in it would not run for the whole weekend (thursday - sunday) because of some festive event in Lecce town. This was because they couldn't drive in the centre because many streets were closed. Felt like they could have driven into town at least....
It takes at least 20 minutes into town and 30 minutes to train station. A bit too far. Would not want to walk there in the evening...If you have your own car, it suits better.

Overall, it's a nice hotel but lacks soul and personal athmosphere. You won't find your "home away from home".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your time speaking about our hotel. We try every day to satisfy our customers and to make feel them in their house. We will try to do it better. You have to be sure that all our staff will have the opportunity to read your comment and to work about it.
Regarding the free shuttle to the city center I think it happened to you to stay with us during the Sant'Oronzo festivity that is a big big event in the city and we have not the chance to make the service during these days.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Guest Relations Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

it took us 25 minutes to walk into town. Use the hotel shuttle (you have to let them know in advance and the last one back is 9.15pm which is early by Lecce standards.) a Taxi costs c £15 euros to town centre and c £13 to the railway station which has both Tranitalia and the smart new Ferrovie sud est air conditioned trains for exploring the region.They have separate booking offices. Allow time to get tickets we encountered a certain amount of attitude from both staff and passengers! If you come by air take the coach from Brindisi airport to Lecce and the hotel will send a free shuttle to the terminal at Lecce at certain times. This is also where the local area long distance buses go from for exploring the area.
We had a well appointed junior suite with plenty of sitting room and free wifi. The only slight snag was the over-engineered bath plug which resented letting the water out! The desk could have done with a bit more information about local sights and travel. The roof swimming pool was fine. Do ask the lifeguard to put up an umbrella for you if needed. There is a spa but the girl at the desk had no price list or menu of treatments.
Breakfast was excellent-try the waffle maker. The restaurant was a bit dead at night, more fun to eat in town.
For a snack try the cafe Sheffield very near on the c di Giorgio (the road into town). The owner was born in Sheffield and speaks English, quite rare in Apulia.
There is an amazing ice cream parlour on the corner of the c di Giorgio with the ring road. It is open until late and what local night life there is near the hotel centres on this corner.
To get into the park opposite the hotel you have to go round to the far side.

Room Tip: There really isnt a view, it is quite a pleasant townscape all round. There are probably some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your positive comment: Our commitment is gratified by the appreciation of our guests and their suggestions.

We trust in your next stay.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Although we didn't arrive until after midnight after a 4 hour transfer from Bari, we were welcomed and dealt with very efficiently (we were a coachload of over 40 people). The accomodation was excellent and the food was very good. Although not central it was only a short walk into the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel was the best hotel we stayed at when we were travelling through Southern Italy. It was better than we expected it to be.

Breakfast is awesome, the pool area on the roof is great, the rooms are splendid and the beds are really comfortable. The staff was excellent, and parking outside the hotel was free of charge. We tried the fitness centre, which had treadmills, some weights and a Cable cross, and were able to perform a decent workout there.

The only downside is the location. It is located a bit outside the city centre. The hotel has bikes, and I suppose you can walk into the centre in about 30 minutes, but we did not need to as we had a car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Garden I... L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your positive comment. Our commitment is gratified by the appreciation of our guests and their suggestions.

We trust in your next stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lecce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lecce

Address: Via Cosimo de Giorgi 62, 73100 Lecce, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lecce
#2 Spa Hotel in Lecce
#3 Business Hotel in Lecce
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lecce
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lecce 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is located few minutes far from the historic city center of Lecce, cited among the Lonely Planet's 'Best in Travel 2010' list and 15 minutes from the best beaches of the Salento peninsula.Guests can unwind in the Hilton Garden Inn Lecce hotel’s bright, modern guest rooms where keep in touch with friends and family with complimentary internet access.Relax yourself in the panoramic terrace, before dining in ‘The Cube Bar & Restaurant’ tasting local and national specialties. Keep fit in our Precor® Fitness Center, swim in the outdoor pool or indulge in a luxury Spa. Rilassatevi nelle camere accoglienti e moderne, restate in contatto con tutti mediante l’accesso a internet gratuito. Rilassatevi sulla terrazza panoramica con vista sulla città di Lecce prima di cena e gustate le specialità locali e nazionali nel 'The Cube Bar & Restaurant'. Tenetevi in forma nel nostro centro fitness con equipaggiamento cardio-fitness Precor®, nuotate nella piscina scoperta o concedetevi un trattamento SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lecce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce Hotel Lecce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lecce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.