We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elodia

Elodia
Via Valle Perchiana n. 22 - Fraz. Camarda, 0862.606830 L'Aquila, Italy
0862.606830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 207 Restaurants in L'Aquila
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Unforgettable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my family have visited Rome for a few days and we`ve decided to make a trip to a national park of Gran Sasso on this occasion. We have spent 2 nights in Elodia Relais hotel in a small village Camarda near L`Aquilla, historical town, which is recovering after the earthquake (4 years ago). Our daughter and son were celebrating their birthday and thus we`ve booked a special dinner for us before visiting the place. Although located in a very small village, the restaurant offers very high level services. We`ve spent unforgettable evening here, enjoyed delicious meal and special atmosphere of this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Give it a Miss!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I thought this area and venue would be ideal for a short break, thinking staying in the region a couple of hours from Rome would give us the benefit of being nicely placed for the National Park , the coast and that in July the weather would be sunny but a little cooler than Rome. All of that coupled with the reviews which waxed lyrical about the food which was high up on our priority list made it look like an ideal choice. We booked through VoyagePrive which also 'talked up' the same and hence we confirmed a 5 night stay.
To say we were disappointed on arrival would be a gross understatement. On arrival there was a wedding going on which we hadn't been informed of. It would have been GREAT to sample dinner at the restaurant but in fact it was closed for 4 nights out of our 5. The breakfast was also poor. Stale bread , small pieces of meat and cheese, No milk for the cereal. It just was really lack lustre. All from an establishment so well promoted for it's fine cuisine !!!
In summary, they just have no idea of what the standard should be. We were not expecting 5 star, but thought it a given that we would get to eat in the restaurant and be offered a moderate breakfast. We checked out early and went back to Rome where we stayed at the Hotel Villa Duse that was exceptional. Elodia Relais needs to reflect on what they are offering and market it accordingly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Di Camaiore, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Understated Excellence and Gracious Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Five kilometers from the autostrada, the A24, and about 300 meters before your car reaches Elodia (A-low-dee-ya), you see the building rising two-stories high above the sloping foothill meadow where it is set. As others have explained, Elodia is situated at the base of the massive Gran Sasso mountains, near a tiny village, Camarda, and a bit less near to the earthquake ravaged city of L’Aquila.

The place is composed of three parts: (a) restaurant Elodia itself, (b) the Relais, a six-room hotel, and (c) a special events component for banquets, weddings and meetings. These components occupy the two above-ground floors of a very modern structure of recent origin. The exterior is pleasantly unremarkable, as is the first floor of the interior that houses the kitchens, the wine cellar and the spacious areas available for special events. The second and top floor is another matter. Here are the six guest-rooms, one a two-room suite, all of them comfortable and impeccably clean, as well as Elodia, the restaurant itself. The ceilings are tall, very tall, and that in the dining room spans a space about 10 meters wide, front to back, and 25-30 long. This ceiling is supported by large, exposed beams of beautifully-finished, laminated wood that run the entire length of the room. This design affords each of the handful of tables and unimpeded view out the floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors that let onto a terazza adorned with stone flower boxes.

The family that owns and operates the property consists of at least the five people who were visible during our visit: the father, whose role seems mainly advisory, the mother, Elodia herself, the original chef, who is in charge of breakfast and serves as consultant to her two daughters who are the chefs, and the forty-something son, a sommelier, maitre d’ of the dining room, and hotel manager. They had begun construction on the site when the 2009 earthquake hit l’Aquila. Before this disaster, the plan for the place was that it would be devoted exclusively to housing special events, but when the earthquake hit, it destroyed the original Elodia restaurant, located near l’Aquila.  So the family changed course and added the gorgeously modern restaurant and the guest rooms.  

During our two evening meals at Elodia, we enjoyed two little stuzzichini, appetizers. One was a spuma (froth) of ricotta (very airy, fresh and delicious) served with a parmigiano 'cracker', and the other a bit of nicely-flavored bread salad.  Among the first courses was an egg flan with deep fried verza (savoy cabbage), a surprise combination that worked superbly. Another first was a porcini and black truffle “risotto” made of faro instead of rice, again a surprising combination that produced scrumptious flavors. Yet another creation of the chefs’ light and inventive touch was strips of perfectly cooked trout fillets draped over alternating dollops of pureed small white local beans and of pureed purple potatoes. In a fourth “primo piatto,” the chefs revealed their other persona, this one stemming from their mother’s roots in the cooking of the Teramo provincia of Abruzzo. Diced lamb innards had been sautéed, wrapped in leaves of radicchio and then deep-fried.  These crispy cylinders were served bathed in a very intense tomato reduction.  

One of the second courses also exhibited the Teramo persona: pigeon breast, roasted to medium-rare, then served sliced with a rich, intense sauce made by reducing the roasting juices mixed with some Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. Another second showed again the light, modern, delicate touch: crepes wrapped around fresh porcini sautéed in a way that offered up an explosion of their flavors. This persona also shone through in the crisply-encased square of baby pork loin roasted very long and at a very low temperature so that each bite was meltingly and crunchily tender.

The wines and the service were in keeping with the cuisine, that is, they were quietly excellent. Among the wines we tasted with the two meals, especially memorable were two bottles of intensely flavorful Montepulciano d’Abruzzo, by two small nearby producers, and a lovely rosè of Montepulciano that combined beautifully with the porcini crepes. The wines were selected for us by the maître d’-sommelier and served to us, as was the food, by the cordially professional waiter. A final word of praise, this time for the warmth and deftness of Elodia herself as she served us breakfast each morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, professional service, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I was at Elodia for dinner with my wife, celebrating my birthday. It was a splendid evening! The food was all superb, served and presented impeccably. Before our selection, we were presented with two rounds of welcome bites, one of which (Spuma di ricotta con zafferano) was celestial! Service was flawless and pleasant at the same time. Got good advise on wine and a few nice wine/food/ earthquake exchanges with the owner. We are already planning to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elodia also viewed

L'Aquila, Province of L'Aquila
 
L'Aquila, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Elodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elodia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.