We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fisihing village with super restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giglio Island

Giglio Island
, Isola Del Giglio, Italy
0564 809400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$86*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great fisihing village with super restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I took a day trip to visit Giglio Island while in Porto Santo Stefano. It is a very easy ferry ride from the dock in Porto Santo Stefano. Tickets round trip are 20 euros pp and the ferry ride is a beautiful slow ride that last about an hour. The ferry also transports cars if you want to take your rental. We chose to leave the rental behind.

The trip to Giglio is very scenic. As you pull in to the port you go right next to the Concordia Cruise Ship that ran a a ground back in May 2012. So close you feel like you can touch it...that was very neat to see.

The village itself is full of shops and restaurants. We had a great lunch and spent about three house exploring and taking photos. Our time was limited, so we did not visit the walled castle on the top of the island...I was told the views were superb. We also di not go to the other side of the the island to visit the famous beach call Giglio Campese. We were also told this was a great location. All are easily accessible from a public bus that runs hourly back and forth from Porto Giglio to Campese Beach stopping at the castle each way.

We wished we had taken an earlier ferry so we had more time to explore.

It is a great day trip and worth the visit if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    70
    12
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magic island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yes it is ! is the one where Costa Concondia collapsed...but believe me, nevermind with this, the island is still beautiful. go there if you are in south Tuscany.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

small town quite touristy. Take a bus up to the Castle, magnificent old fortress town with superb views and good restaurants

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Boat trip to Giglio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful little port and crystal clear water. Good place to chill and to scuba dive. Scuba schools near by.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“you need a small boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Giglio island is a small jewel in the Mediterranean sea. If you take a boat you go round and you find blue sea and wonderful beach. You can eat at Giglio porto or go to visit the oldest part at Giglio castello...Very interesting for scuba divers.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giglio Island also viewed

Isola Del Giglio, Province of Grosseto
Campese, Isola Del Giglio
 
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
Campese, Isola Del Giglio
 

Been to Giglio Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giglio Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.