We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend visit to celebrate husband birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Bin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imperia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lago Bin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Regione Morga Nervia Valley, | Rocchetta Nervina, 18035 Imperia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Imperia
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend visit to celebrate husband birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This area was very known to us as our family home is in Rocchetta and my family are from this village. We always wanted to stay here so we can be waited on and enjoy hotel comforts with the use of a pool to celebrate my husbands 50th. We found the rooms adequate. shower is basic but extras make up for it with coffee and tea, free safe, basket of fruit on arrival and a lovely corner bedroom with two private balconies. Lovely italian music played in the evening around the pool to dance or listen too. Italian singers serenaded lunchtime diners with the opportunity to dance as well. Beautiful landscaped gardens with magnificent backdrop of the majestic mountains. Breakast was superb lots of choices homemade cakes, chocolate crepes, omelettes, fresh fruits and cereals. Lovely individual seating areas outside for breakfast surrounded by little pool areas with terrapins swimming around.... Very pretty.... We enjoyed our stay here.... Thank you.

Room Tip: 207 is a quiet corner room with two private balconies with one overlooking gardens and the second on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Thiis hotel is situated just a few short miles from the fantastic village of Dolceacqua (as recently featured on bbc's F1 show and recommendedby Jensen Button and David Coulthard) It is situated on a quiet road amidst beautiful countryside/ The hotels own beautiful gardens and poolarea are very much 4 star and would put a hotel costing 3 x times as much to shame .The rooms are simply furnished but are clean and comfortable (much what you would expect from a good quality 3 star hotel .I saw a review which criticised the food and can only say that writer either doesn't know what he is talking about or came across the hotel on a bad (and entirely untypical day).My family and I have stayed at this hotel (or in its very comfortable apartments situated just across the road in their own beautiful garden) on many occasions over the past 20 years or so and have always found the food to be excellent . Although we now have our own house in the area my wife and I always make a point of dining at the hotel at least once during our stay. The hotel is family owned and run and the family and their staff are unfailingly pleasant, welcoming and helpful.
All in all a hidden gem !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel rooms are basic but nice and clean. Quite a few more products in the bathroom than expected at this level, where there's normally not any. The bathrooms where pretty old though. I actually saw a couple of the rooms, and they were quite different, in size and the view of course. Some are facing the front of the hotel and have a shared balcony (so it is possible to walk from one room to another from the outside). Other rooms overlook the mountains and have individual balconies. One note on the beds would be that a tall person might not be very comfortable.

Reception area is some kind of taxidermy heaven (or hell) but I liked the surrealism of it. A (live) s,elly dog was also in reception though, filling it with a not so nice odor.

There is a nice pool area and gardens.

Definitely walk the short walk up to the little village for all your meals. It's very pretty, a little village square and a backdrop just like you picture it from an old Italian movie.

But mainly go there for your meals as dinner at Lago Bin is the poorest example of Italian food I have ever experienced.

Also nice walks in the mountains, get a map and get hiking!

Room Tip: Get one with individual balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

After initial misunderstanding of what we expected of a two bedroomed appartment which was quickly resolved by the management, we had a really wonderful stay. The hotel was very clean and service was excellent. A great place to relax and unwind in beautiful surrounding countryside. Highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northiam, East Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

Cannot agree with earlier comments on location, as the hotel is beside a river with fine mountain views. Rooms are fairly basic, but bath robes, slippers, toiletries, tea, coffee and chocolates on turn down provided. Tangerines and cakes also on first night. Also mini-safe in room.

Breakfast was OK when other guests were present, but on a couple of days we seemed to be the only guests and it was rather sparse! Staff were friendly and helpful. Some late noise from music from a wedding and wedding guests returning to their rooms, but only one night and one does not wish to be a spoilsport.

I would certainly stay again and recommend it for its location and tranquility on balance.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast on a couple of days
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

Comfortable three-star hotel with a nice swimming pool and more stuffed animals in the reception and dining room than I have ever seen in my life. Marmots, deer, foxes, boar, chamois.... No creature has been spared the taxidermist's scalpel!

Dinner was nice - and the breakfast buffet was first rate, with a neat little automatic orange squeezer and all the cake you could eat.

The rooms are well appointed... Ours had a nice balcony - although the views over the parking lot at the rear are absolutely nothing to write home about.

The Lago Bin is popular with tour parties and its pleasant canvas-topped function pavilion is in demand for conferences and weddings. However, it's in a rather uninteresting valley location - around 10 Km inland from Ventimiglia.

The village of Rocchetta Nervina ten minutes walk to the north is worth a half hour stroll. More interesting is the ancient riverside town of Dolceacqua 4 Km to the south.

OK for a one-night stop if you're passing through the area, but not a very interesting place to use as a base for touring.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

My brother and I stayed in this hotel in May of 2002 when we were traveling in the vicinity (in our rental car). I just loved it because it was like a hunting lodge with lots of rustic wood and trophy animals mounted everywhere. The restaurant was lovely and the service was excellent. The other guests in the restaurant seemed charming and congenial. We weren't sure exactly what we were ordering for dinner and so the waiter played "charades" with us and pointed at one of the mountain goats, making an appropriate noise. We all laughed and I ordered the "chamois." It was a little salty, but very good. The room was small but clean with a little balcony overlooking a babbling stream. The bathrobes were monogrammed. The elevator was the "tiny" variety. The whole feeling in the halls was somewhat dim and "old Europe." That's exactly the sort of atmosphere we were searching for, however. The hunt style breakfast was delicious and plentiful, too. Very nice presentation. The hotel driveway was lined in hedges of beautiful blooming red roses. Even though it was very early in the season, we sunned by the pool before departing the next morning. A welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the French coast on the last day of the Grand Prix. Thank goodness for the travel advisor in Dolceacqua who suggested the hotel to us in our moment of need. It was just a bit further up the road in Rocchetta Nervina. We never would have found it / known about it if not for her help. A really neat place, to me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lago Bin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Bin

Address: Regione Morga Nervia Valley, | Rocchetta Nervina, 18035 Imperia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Imperia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Imperia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lago Bin 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Bin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lago Bin to your Saves list