We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential, such a shame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Regione Lago Pigo | Pigna, 18037 Imperia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Imperia
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much potential, such a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place has so much potential but my friend and I likened it to the hotel from the Shining. It looks like it used to be something spectacular....back in the eighties. It was nice for the price we paid but we got it on offer - I wouldn't have paid more. No atmosphere from the moment you walk through the doors, despite the grandeur that meets you. The bar was closed before 10pm and the smell of rotten eggs (sulpur from the pool) is incessant. The staff were friendly and did their best to communicate with us in English and our room was absolutely acceptable, - very clean with lovely views out of the window. But they need to do something to revive this place....and get rid of that awful smell.

Room Tip: ask for views either overlooking Pigna village or the Pool. These will give you the better views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    111
    85
    53
    48
See reviews for
37
218
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

If there were one word to describe the experience...it would be "STINKA" This is actually my second experience with this hotel. Key items to know; first, if you are not okay with smelling sulfur (rotten eggs) the whole time...do not even think about going here! Secondly, if you remember the big empty halls from the movie "the shining", this is the place. Big bar, no Bartender, no people. The restaurant; closes at 9pm. People in Italy don't even go to dinner before 9. Breakfast was pathetic, day old rolls (maybe two), everything store purchased in individual plastic. There was organic cereal in packets, however no bowls, spoons or milk! One of the staff saw me carrying it back to the table and to his credit asked if I needed a bowl and milk. The Spa...We tried to make a reservation 2 days in advance and called the Spa, I kid you not, 20 times. Never once did they answer the phone. The following morning we called, they answered! One availability for only one us (3) the entire time we were there...and we were guests of the hotel! The Pool...another review was right, you do have to wear a swim cap. They were hilarious and we did have great fun with that silliness. The pool itself is anything but clear in any sense of the word, has all kinds of organics floating around in it and it stinks to high heaven. If anyone thinks a swim cap would keep the pool from getting dirty or clog up a filter, they are seriously demented. Okay...the good stuff, the area and the view was spectacular. The room was clean and the bathroom was nicely appointed. There is a fantastic restaurant 5 minutes walk from the hotel entrance up the hill. The reception was not the greatest by a long shot but they did try. Truth is...the place has great potential and I'm sure in its heyday it was spectacular. Now...stinka

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We arrived in an empty lobby with almost no furniture. One man and a woman behind the desk with almost no english or french. We went to our room where we were suppose to stay 3 nights but were very disappointed when we saw the room. No nice view, no chairs at the terrace and the room had no ambience whats so ever but it did look clean. We decided to enjoy a lunch at the pool. Arriving at the pool the smell was horrible like old dirty water. We installed ourselves at a table overlooking the waterfall which we hoped to enjoy later on. BUT as it turned out it wasnt possible to swim at the waterfall eventhough at the brochure we saw a beautiful picture of someone enjoying it. Turned out that was just for the picture. Then we were in for an other suprise, the quality of the food!!! chemical morzarella with no taste and to make it worse, dried basil instead of the lovely fresh basil we expected in Italy in a four star hotel. After lunch we had yet an other suprise: the pool. It did look lovely but the smell was terrible. and we soon found out a BATHINGCAP WAS OBLIGED! Some kind of doctor explained to us that it was obligated by law which is absolutely not true. The manager of the hotel adviced us to swim without a cap if we didint want to wear it, ignoring the words of this so called doctor. But there was no way we could use the pool without one. In the brochure was a gorgeous woman enjoying the pool with NO cap. He explained that it was just for show because it would look better in a brochure. As for the spa, we couldnt get any massages for the first day. The chairs were all plastic, empty halls, no relaxing music or lovely welcoming assistance, nothing... halls filled with old empty rooms. We enjoyed Spa Hotels all around europe, Evia, Spa, Megeve, Bath, The Netherlands and so on but never ever did we have such a bad experience as in this hotel... We gave up and never stayed one night in this hotel. We checked out because the idea of spending 3 nights at a hotel where everything is a lie, a fake brochure and disappointing is a complete waste of time and money!!!! we went to a hotel which we knew already and enjoyed the sun, the hospitality and the service as you would expect in a beatutiful hotel. Never again the fairytales or lies of Pigna, thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

nice location, warm welcome, agreeable atmosphere, interesting package offers

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme

Address: Regione Lago Pigo | Pigna, 18037 Imperia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Imperia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Imperia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Pigna Antiche Terme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.