We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel - Warm Recommendation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Airone to your Saves list
Hotel Airone
35, Senese Street, Grosseto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Grosseto
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel - Warm Recommendation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Grosetto with a very good friend for four days on a business trip.

We loved it!

This hotel has the facilities and professionalism of a major national chain - yet it also offers the sincere personal customer service from which the major chains are so sorely lacking.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff; as a Brit I am all to familiar with sullen resentful service from my fellow countrymen who seem to resent the idea of "serving" somebody else.

The staff at Hotel Airone are a million miles away from England - the entire team were enthusiastic, bubbly cheerful and nothing for them seemed too much trouble.

However many cappucinos we ordered at 2am, they reacted with charm, enthusiasm and panache. That must have taken some doing!

The night concierge at Airone was simply exceptional - one of the best hotel staff experiences I have ever encountered anywhere in the world. He really does his job with style.

On the day shift an excellent female senior manager runs the hotel with impeccable efficiency.

The hotel is modern, fashionable and has great facilities including steam room, sauna and a great reception area.

Best of all was the price - we were paying 70 euros a night for each double room with well stocked minibar. Having arrived by train from Rome where I was paying double this fee for anything that approached this quality of hotel, it was refreshing to find a bill so much LOWER than I expected!

Criticisms or negatives? I had none of substance. If you put a gun to my head and asked me to find a drawback I could only think of:

1. The swimming pool was a bit smaller than I expected and taking vigorous exercise swimming lengths would be tough to do here (although there was a great outside rooftop balcony/Bar).

2. Breakfast was fine and perfectly decent - but didn't really blow me away.

3. To start with the hotel was so full and we had booked so late we were in a single room which was slightly cramped; if possible I would recommend trying to get a double. After we moved, we were over the moon - the accommodation was perfect.

4. The town centre was a 10-15 walk which suited us perfectly, but some people might prefer to be right inside the city centre. I would suggest this accommodation is worth the extra stroll though! I don't think there anywhere else in central Grosetto which comes close to this...

Room Tip: Ask for a double away from the road if possible. Single rooms are fine and well equipped but not hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
22
22
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The staff was helpful and always friendly. They were a saving grace for this hotel. It was clean and felt like it was trying to be a nice hotel although in grosseto I think it was the nicest hotel around. Spa is extra money we went to the pool and left after finding that it was not clean. there were things floating around and at the time we did not know we paid extra for the spa so we just left. The room was clean and the parking was good although not fully secure. The internet was slow. So slow I could barely research without loosing connection. I tried wireless and ethernet neither was up to usable speeds. They allow pets which is not a good idea. We had a dog scratching and barking in the room next to us late at night. The beach club is good but they dont care about out of town users. We called to book a spot but when we showed up they said we never called. After waiting for 30 minutes they finally gave us a spot but the owner seemed upset we were there. I would not use their beach club again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurzach, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times during the last 5 years and have also experienced great hospitality. Location is great and breakfast too. There is a new part to the hotel which is great. Ask for a room in the new part away from the street if possible !

Room Tip: away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

It's a true oasis of peace and relax in the Maremma Toscana. Comfort all around, spacious & clean rooms, excellent food, exquisite smiling and caring staff, warm "centro benessere" are only some of the reasons that make the Hotel Airone unforgettable. So close to Etruscan sites, not far away from the sea, conveniently posted between Rome and Florence, it's ideal either for a short visit or a relaxing cultural long holiday. I recommend it highly to my friends in Ireland and around the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Address: 35, Senese Street, Grosseto, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Grosseto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Grosseto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff of the Airone Hotel is glad to welcome you in Tuscany and more precisely in our "Maremma". We have created for our guests a structure which sums up high style and innovative system, in order to make your holiday an unforgettable experience repeatable through time. Moreover, we have studied for you services and facilities to enrich your stay with comfort and relaxation. Easy to find and reach, good for every kind of permanence, the Hotel lies 50 mt. Far from the historical centre of the city, 7 km far from his gorgeous Dolce Vita in front of the sea, and 2 km far from the output "Grosseto Est" of the highway. Very next to the historical and commercial centre of the city, the Hotel was entirely restructured last year. Our Hotel has got 71 rooms with three junior suite, one Fit Suite (Suite with private gym Technogym) and one senior suite, surrounded by an high technological service system able to transform a simple stay in a hotel in an unique and extremely comfortable holiday. Every detail was designed with special care in order to create not a room but a little corner of tranquillity. Nothing is random, from the soft and sensual colors to the very vangard materials. Each room is soundproof, has got air conditioning with antiallergics radiant panels, phone, minibar, digital safe, HDSL, pay TV, DVD player and 42 inches satellite TV. Free wifi in every ambient of the Hotel. Spaces like the fitness centre and the beauty farm, the conference rooms, the hall and the lounge bar complete our 4 stars concept of receptivity. We have two floors of underground parking available for our guests. Comfortable for every kind of permanence, Airone Hotel lies in the middle of tuscan Maremma, surrounded of natural beauties, historical exhibits and enogastronomical goods. Details and refinements, elegance and taste to perform not a simple kind of stay but a real experience to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Grosseto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Airone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.