We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sicily in september” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Club Naxos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Club Naxos to your Saves list
Holiday Club Naxos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Jannuzzo s/n, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“sicily in september”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

Hotel is adequate for 3/4 night stay when exploring eastern Sicily. Rooms are of good size but furnishings are rather tired, but clean. Food is without imagination but quite edible and service in restaurant satisfactory. Good size pool with area kept clean and tidy. and small beach. Hotel is convenient for buses and taxis always available. Alternative dining choice nearby but not high standard, pizza and pasta mainly but inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    15
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

This hotel is changing its name to Russott Hotel (from Ramada Hotel)

When we decided to go to Giardini Naxos, we left it a bit late and not many hotels had vacancies - we were not sure of this hotel but with little choice we took a chance.
We were very pleased - we had large very clean pleasant room with double bed and side balcony with view of the sea and mountains. Breakfast very substantial with loads to choose from. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. The pool is a good size and is very suitable for swimming in (but probably not for young children). There are nice tropical gardens that you can sun bathe in. Also a short walk to hotels own small private beach - although pebbly you can jump in and have a good swim. Opposite the hotel there is a good selection of restaurants and a water melon bar open very late. Hotel is few minutes walk from bus terminus so very easy to get to other places including Taormina. We got hotel to arrange pickup from Catania airport and this cost us around 75 euros but on way back we were confident enough to get the bus ourselves. Useful local web site is ----.
Boats pass by hotel and take you for local trip - we recommend Pepes boat - he is so much fun. You can see him in photograph! Main centre is pleasant stroll 1km to sandy beach - promenade with lots of restaurants etc Keep walking to end part of promenade find Ristorante IL Maniero our favourite - Pepe who we made friends with took us there one night and we did not look at the menu once - the sea food is great and we tasted pasta that had flavours we did not think possible. So, if you are looking for nice comfortable hotel with good facilities we would recommend this one!
Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

I have just returned from a one week holiday in Holiday Club Naxos,Giardini Naxos,Sicily. I stayed here with my husband and two children aged 9yrs. and 11 yrs. We booked this paticular accomodation because our travel agent recommended it as most suitable for families in this area. The transfer time from Catania Airport is only 50 mins.
We got off to a bad start here as we had to wait outside in the afternoon sun for two hours for a room to be cleaned upon arrival.When we did eventually get to our apartmrnt we were not disappointed. The apartments are spread out over quite a large area. The complex is very well maintained and very very clean. There are tennis courts, football courts, an open air theatre, a restaurant ,a mini- market and a lovely pool area. Our apartment was located at the end of the complex which turned out to be a blessing as the music from the pool area seemed to be a bit of a problem for the residents located closer to the pool.The apartment was located in a terrace of six and was two stories.It was quite basic with old fashioned decor, but very clean and well maintained .On the ground level there was a double bed, a table and four chairs, a kitchen cupboard fairly well stocked with cutlery, saucepans etc., a fridge ,a sink and a two ring gas hob. Also contained on the ground floor was a wc. with a wash hand basin. There was a very effective airconditioning unit mounted on the wall.
Upstairs was a largish room with two single beds, a dressing table ,two wardrobes and night stand .Another efficent airconditioning unit up here. A small balcony was off the bedroom, not quite big enough to lie on.The bathroom was located up here consisting,of quite a powerfull shower, bath, w.c., bidet and wash hand basin. We later discovered that the walls between the apartments are paper thin. We could hear every word from the people either side of us and sometimes we actually thought that somebody was in our room. We ended up moving our bed as we were kept awake by our neighbour's snoring.
The staff in this complex were very helpfull and quite friendly. Most spoke basic english .The annimations team here are top class. They are very friendly and run quite a good programme of events. From 10am at the pool for gymnastics, dancing, games etc. right through till 2am including a live performance every evening in the theatre at 10pm.During the day they run a kids club with various events .Our kids went one day but as 99% of the other holiday makers are either Italians or Sicilians they found the language to be too much of a barrier.
The resort of Giardini Naxos itself is a fairly quiet resort, very crowded at this time of year. The Holiday Club is at the end of the resort in an area called Recanti, a twenty minute walk will take you right into the centre of Giardini Naxos.The local bus stop is only a five minute walk and there is quite a good service to the local towns and villages. There are lots of interesting places to visit nearby.The coarse sandy beach is only a two minute walk away .It is a private beach an you must pay 10 euros per day to rent the sunloungers and umberella. Our biggest problem here was with the food. all the local restaurants seemed to have identical menus. all pasta and pizza. We soon got fed up eating the same thing day after day. (hope you like pasta).A three cousre meal is approx. 12 - 15 euro per head.
Overall we found that the resort is not really ready for the European Holiday Market as there are very few family attractions and nothing specifically catering to children. If you are looking for a very quiet relaxing holiday the maybe this is the one for you .However if you like to visit water parks , crazy golf courses etc. then you will be disappointed ,we simply couldn't find anything like this.There didn't seem to be much night life about but maybe if we didn't have kids with us we could have found some.
The Holiday Club while being fairly basic was very clean, safe and friendly.Hope you find this helpfull and if you do decide to go enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2004

Giardini Naxos is a nice place if you want to be by the sea and near Taormina. But the Ramada would be a poor choice. The food in their main dining room is without taste (nowhere else in Italy did we experience that). The decor is outdated and not charming (except for the 2 traditional Sicilian painted carts). Assistant manager was not on duty [for many hours] when needed. If you must stay there, do ask for a room with view of (active) Mt Etna. DEFINITELY eat nearby at the most charming and tasty little restaurant SPELUNKA - a wonderful place with most tasty food and personal service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2004

The Ramada Hotel at Giardini Naxos - or just outside the resort to be precise, at Recanati - had a fabulous location - quiet street, and set right on its own piece of beach. Being outside Naxos was a bonus, and its just a thrilling, cliff edge bus ride away from Taormina (bus stop 5 mins from hotel). There are scrupulously kept gardens and pool also if the beach isnt your thing. Public rooms are enormous, cool and decorated in an eclectic and surprising! mix of styles. Bedrooms (and bathrooms) are huge also - 2 double beds - ours had a fabulous view of the sea, in fact you could hear the waves lap on the beach from the room. The restaurants/beach bar/cafe were all great, you could actually not leave the hotel at all and be perfectly happy - but then youd miss seeing Sicily! The whole Hotel was immaculately clean and well kept, the staff were excellent - a very well run, fabulous, beach hotel. Couldnt fault it. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2004

This hotel is old, the decoration is from 1960, nothing has changed ! the rooms are enormous, but they put only two small 60 watts bulbs for the all room : impossible to read in bed..The worst is the noise from the other rooms : you hear absolutely everything, really everything !!!. Breakfast is bad, coffee is infect. It's too bad that such a property is abandonned like this, it's really a shame for Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2004

I stayed at the Ramada July 2003, and I must say I was impressed. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and fluent in numerous languages (I was with an international group of friends, so this was a plus). The lobby was huge, and the food at the buffet was great (breakfast and dinner!). Sicily isn't known for its beautiful beaches, so although all our rooms had a balcony, our ocean views weren't so spectacular. Of course this the fault of nature and not the hotel. My only complaint is that my non-smoking room smelled of old cigarettes, and a huge flock of bats flew around over our balcony at dusk which was slightly frightening. Other than that, the hotel was great and in a good location, but stay away from the salon!

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Club Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Naxos

Address: Viale Jannuzzo s/n, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Club Naxos 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Club Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Naxos Hotel Giardini Naxos
Holiday Hotel Naxos
Holiday Hotel Giardini Naxos
Holiday Club Naxos Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Club Naxos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.