We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good hotel and facilities great location. However the Germans were reserving pool side sun loungers. The management should look out for this as reservations were not permitted and sun loungers are in short supply, the only down side to the hotel. Traditional Italian breakfast. Tinned fruit and sweet pastries not great.

Room Tip: If you find anyone reserving a sun lounger take there towel or stupid a4 laminated German flag to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    84
    77
    24
    10
See reviews for
50
102
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed four nights as part of tour with Riviera,its a very pretty hotel &nice grounds had a good size swimming pool but towels were charged for one euro
the rooms are spacious with balcony with lovely views of Mt Etna
The food was a bit of a let down,not the standard we expected of a four star hotel
wi fi was charged at 5euro for 2 days again we expected this to be free ,drinks were expensive
it would have been nice to have had tea/coffee in room there was a fridge but little use not having a kettle etc
The hotel has its own Private Beach about five - ten minutes walk also plenty of bars etc near by
The dining room is massive & when several different tour groups are dining at the same time can be very noisy

Room Tip: we had first floor easy to nip up the stairs,did not have to wait for the lift which was slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel looks very good & no expense has been spared on the building & grounds. It is badly let down, however, by the very hard lumpy beds & very flat pillows. There is also a charge of 8 euros to use the indoor pool as well as having to also pay 1 euro for a pool towel. The price of drinks are very expensive, as well. The reception staff were very rude & argumentative to our tour guide because some members of our group arrived in shorts! There is also a charge to use the computer, 3 euros an hour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I attempted to stay here for three nights as part of a tour group; however I was unable to do so due to lack of air conditioning. When I spoke to the unfriendly staff at the front desk, they informed me that the AC depends on the outside temperature, but they generally do not put the AC on until June. I also asked them for an electric kettle to boil water for tea in my room, which they also soundly refused. Given that this was my third consecutive bad hotel experience in Sicily, I decamped to the Hilton-at extra expense-where they had AC, and brought a kettle to my room with no problem. I generally do not travel with tour groups due to the possibility of hotel experiences such as this one, but it was the only way to see the main sights of Sicily in a limited amount of time. Based on the other reviews, it seems that some people get lucky when they stay here, but I was not in that group.

Room Tip: Pray to the gods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very average hotel looked very pretty from the outside lots of flowers climbing the walls etc. The rooms were good size and comfortable, bathroom fine with plenty of hot water and room had nice balcony facing East so could sit out and see the morning sun. Staff were pretty indifferent and rarely managed a single smile throughout our 4 day stay. The breakfasts were ok but the evening meal very mediocre until one of our party made a complaint and then they seemed to improve! However possibly the cost had been negotiated by our tour company and budgetted for accordingly as other guests seemed to have a different menu!! The bar area was dark and felt enclosed and rather unwelcoming especially since our previous hotel had been the complete opposite, light and bright. The outside pool was nice but quite small and there was also an inside pool and spa but I did not use these facilities. The beach was only a few minutes pleasant stroll away. Everyone complained about the 5euros a day charge for wifi connection!

Room Tip: Eastside if you want mountain and side sea views. Westside to overlook pool. Whatever floor you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed there three nights during our tour of Sicily. There appear to be much better hotels in the area. Staff was not friendly and actually rude at times. The breakfasts were adequate. The beds were very uncomfortable. The only hotel that charged (five euros per day) for wifi connection during our entire trip. Would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I spent 12 days at this hotel last summer. It is an amazing hotel. It's clean, rooms are nice and clean, bathroom was a decent size and their staff was very nice. Outside of the hotel is a beautiful pool, which was my favorite area, the whole outside of the hotel is covered in beautiful flowers, it is simply stunning. Be aware that Sicily is boiling hot during summer, so be prepared for a constant heat wave. Dinner is a real experience, make sure that you bring nice clothes for it, because you will not be allowed to go in, unless you have long pants and a shirt. Food is delicious , so I guess it's worth it.The only downside is that, if you're a Internet junkie, you will have to pay for WiFi, which I think it's ridiculous (5 euros per day, or 25euros for a week - to be honest this is outrageous). In stead of wasting your money paying for WiFi, if you need Internet, ask for a WiFi password in a local restaurants when you have a meal over there, they rarely change it, so you can use it whenever you want. Beach is very close to the hotel, just few minutes away. There are few grocery stores next to the hotel, so you can buy fresh fruit and cold water when sun starts burning :-) Over all, it is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful if you additionally pay for a pool view. Kids are always running around, screaming and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.