We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good services but take care of details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atahotel Naxos Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atahotel Naxos Beach to your Saves list
Atahotel Naxos Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Recanati 26 | Giardini Naxos, Messina, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good services but take care of details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very good hotel, ideal location for a family/ fanily with children vacation .
I traveled in august 2013 and I Had a room in main building.
(With the room near a restaurant terrace I had free Wi-Fi in balcony room !!!)
The best service in this hotel is the restaurant – breakfast and dinner.
Some details
Difficult to understand how the team makes the distribution of sun beds (there are 6 rows of sun beds, first row closest to sea). The dialog I had in first day comes from a joke: when I asked for 2 sun beds, a young lady asked me what row I want. I said first or second. The answer: We have free beds only on last row!!!! And the same each day.
Management must consider peoples who smoke.
I do not smoke. People in my group do. In the morning 7-9 pm they want coffee and cigarettes. Coffee is available only in the restaurant for breakfast and you are not allowed to take coffee outside restaurant. In restaurant smoking is not allowed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    275
    127
    52
    24
See reviews for
309
181
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed back in July 2013. Beach was shingle and got worse once you are in the sea wading out to swim .
Sunbeds with shades bit tatty.
Room we had was away from most activities.
We went A.I. however if you wanted bottles of water in your room you had to buy from the shop and cart it back to base.
I love Italian food but this place failed miserably.
The main bar queue was a free for all . Witnessed 3 heated confrontations in one night . Staff at the bar would give you one drink per key card . So you and your party would all have to go up for one drink per trip . Crazy.
The buffet style dining area staff were a joke. Unless you were Italian you were ignored to the point of rudeness . At breakfast we never once had a nod or greeting of any sort . Seemed like they were doing us a favour putting cutlery on the table.
Also very expensive for A.I. package deal. Would not waste my time and money on a return visit.
By the way I can get by speaking a Sicilian dialect and have travelled around both Italy and Sicily many times and always had a great time. I guess just unlucky this time round here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We obviously went the wrong week in September when everything shuts down. No bowling, no archery, only 1 bar, only 1 restaurant, entertainment limited and there are no shops along sea front. Beach and pool are locked at night so you can't even walk along it or sit by it. Use of beach and pool is strictly regulated. Have to pass through water bath to get to pool and are supposed to report to lifeguard first...stuff that. You have to get ticket for beach and be directed by lifeguard...great but don't think you can do this between 12 and 3 when the beach staff have a siesta! You will get constantly hassled on beach by people wanting to give you massages or sell you towels etc especially if you are reading...just close your eyes and ignore them. It poured hard with rain twice which meant getting absolutely soaked when making it from one of the garden rooms to the main block for restaurants etc. (take an umbrella this time of year). Food was absolutely fine actually. Snack bar had some lovely toasted paninis and salads and of course burgers and hot dags. Bar menu was split between what you can have free and what you can't - ie cappuccino you have to pay for and espresso you don't - I know, why?? pannins yes ...cakes no.. therefore you have to top up a pay card to buy any item not free and those in the supermarket. However they only take cash in the souvenir shop - confused? Trips are limited and well over priced. Nothing of interest except village only accessible by cable car or bus. Archeological museum - don't bother...inside not in English and not a lot to see, outside nothing to see! and walked for miles. Room ok but you won't want to sit on balcony as it is very small and you can't see over wall and even if you could there is no view. TV only 2 news channels. Bring your own hairdryer as one in bathroom useless. Very quiet rooms and pleasant surroundings. Oh nearly forgot market on a Saturday morning 9-1ish. Only thing to do of interest so walked it 4 times. Very impressive turn left outside of hotel and you can't miss it. Hotel complex immaculate ..staff are constantly cleaning and maintaining. Airport absolutely useless on way back. Forget duty free - 1 shop most shelves were empty and very limited seating area in departures and no air conditioning so beware if you need to sit down. Although we were with First Choice the gate number changed several times so don't panic if you think you are in the wrong place.

Room Tip: maybe hotel complex rooms would be better but noisier I guess as the hotel seems to have a huge pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our initial experience of Atahotel Naxos was disappointing. We had made enquiries about the availability of a room in the hotel proper before travelling and had been told that there was no availability for our dates. We were assured that the chalets were equally attractive and that they were very convenient to the hotel.
Our chalet was not attractive, especially when we compared it with the luxury of strolling to your hotel room from the spacious lobby. The chalet was dull and the grassy area around it was dense with insects.
After one night we discovered that there was in fact a room available in the hotel and we paid the extra. What a difference!
Naxos itself is sort of remote. You do a lot of walking to get anywhere central. It does have some good bar/restaurants, including O'Neils. But after dark sets in, you don't feel all that comfortable on foot.
The hotel grounds are fabulous. Fruit trees everywhere and well kept mini-roads to the periphery of the grounds. There are well equipped playgrounds for infants and children. There is an amazing Olympic Pool outdoors.
The roads inside the complex are great for walking. You certainly become aware just how far you could be from the hotel building when you reach the more distant blocks of chalets.
The fish pond opposite the front door is an interesting feature.
This hotel is a good base from which to tour the island and you are within easy reach of the airport. Taormina is not far away, with its quaint appearance and expensive price tags. Mount Etna is worth the visit, but bring a good warm coat (much colder than at sea-level) and bring an extra $50 if you want to take the cable car further into the craters!!! Bit of a rip-off. The craters at bus-stop level give you a good idea of volcanic activity from the past.
Go for a room in the hotel or ask for a chalet on the upper level of its building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent location and great facilities. Cooked breakfast not good but other product fine. Dinner very good on certain nights during our seven day stay. Location is on beach front but sea is somewhat dangerous. Lifeguard on duty. Prices in bar and diningroom wine were reasonable by Irish standards. We stayed in the villas were happy with the accomodation. Would have liked facilities for tea and coffee. Would have no hesitation in recommending this three star hotel.

Room Tip: Villas in the 800 region are newer. Undestand from other members in our group that the hotel rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in October during the low season with my kids. I booked a villette on the groundfloor. My kids appreciated to play in the lovely garden surrounded by olive trees.

Overall the the rating is good, the service and the facilities are very professional, this is why the resort is a magnet for all tour operators in Sicily. This may be the downside, as the service may sound very distant.

Food was great, with antipasti and grilled fishes, wonderful dessert buffet. Another great asset is the tropical garden.

The hotel provides a shuttle to Taormina, they bring you to the cable car, 3 EUR the ticket to Taormina.

During low season, the weather is perfect and I would highly recommend the place for a family

Room Tip: Choose the Vilette closed to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballincollig, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Drove from Catania and found the hotel difficult to find. The hotel was in a nice spot but I would recommend that you book room only. Breakfast and dinner were poor but local standards and very much focused on tourist tastes. I ended up going for breakfast in a local bar and eating out most evenings as the choice in the hotel as more Italian than Sicilian. Having said that the view from my room to Taormina was spectacular and the view of Etna was breathtaking. The hotel was full of bus tours but if you are into diving then there is a dive centre on the beach by the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atahotel Naxos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Naxos Beach

Address: Viale Recanati 26 | Giardini Naxos, Messina, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#6 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Naxos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atahotel Naxos Beach is a modern, all-around resort, just a few KM from Taormina. It offers a full range of services, that makes it the ideal place where to relax and unwind in a beautiful location. Sicily's crystal clear sea, its warm sunshine and the delicious food served in the five restaurants are just some of the things you can expect from Atahotel Naxos Beach, along with impeccable and attentive service. The modern congress center offsets the resort's sport and leisure activities, designed for families looking for an attractive holiday location with a full range of facilities: nightclub, swimming pools and shopping center. RESORT: 642 rooms: 189 in hotel (19 Junior Suites), 453 in cottages (63 Superior). Rooms available for disabled guests. 5 restaurants and 4 bar. Private beach. Beach umbrella, beds and chairs and towel service. Medical service. Newsstand. Tobacco products. Boutiques. Photographer. Laundry. Internet Point and Wi-Fi in common areas. SPA & WELLNESS: Massage and beauty treatments. Gym with trainer. Yoga and relax techniques. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: 4 pools (including 2 for children and 1 Olympic). 2 tennis courts. 2 five-a-side football pitches. Group lessons for sailing, windsurfing, and canoeing. Archery, tennis, swimming, water gym, aerobics, and step aerobics. Tournaments:volleyball, basketball, soccer, water pool, tennis, bowls, ping-pong, chess, diving center, billiards and video games, discotheque, piano bar, entertainment staff, Baby and Mini Club. Near the resort: water skiing, parasailing, riding, jet ski, and pedal boats, Golf Club with 18 holes (25 km). EETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: 14 rooms and 1 plenary room for up to 780 people in theatre seatings. 1.600 m2 area. A large proposal for all events. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized, exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atahotel Naxos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Naxos Beach Hotel Giardini Naxos
Atahotel Naxos Beach Giardini Naxos, Sicily
Naxos Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atahotel Naxos Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.