We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arathena Rocks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arathena Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
Arathena Rocks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calcide Eubea 55, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

this was the best holisday I have had for a long time...the hotel was great and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Arathena Rocks is a spacious hotel, but at the far end of the long promenade at Giardini Naxos, which made it heavenly quiet, in what is a very busy town of narrow streets and frequent traffic chaos. Grand lounges with antiques and a large dining room overlook a rocky shore, upper rear bedrooms facing Etna over an archaeological park. Staff at reception were very helpful and welcoming indeed, several spoke English. Bedrooms spacious, well appointed, mine overlooked the gardens and sea. Dining room efficient, food hot, tasty and Sicilian, but portions on one or two evenings were a tad small. Buffet breakfast fine, but samey, so if you were there 10 days you might get bored, but usual breakfast fare for Sicily. It is a long, but pleasant prom walk (1-2 km) into Naxos for sandy beaches, shops and restaurants, an advantage to have a car, but the hotel arranged taxis for us to go to Taormina and they have their own minibus, but needs to be booked. A few minutes from the autostrada, so good access for Taormina, Catania and Etna. On the whole a very pleasant experience, made more so by the friendly, courteous and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Arathena Rocks Hotel. The Reception Staff, cleaners and waiters were all friendly. However, the meals were boring - how many variations of fish or veal can be presented (at least 12nights out of 14)! One night I requested the soup as my first course followed by pasta (another first course instead of my main course). At the end of the holiday when settling the hotel bill we realised I had been charged extra!
The continental breakfast of cold meat and cheese was not covered except by flies and wasps!
We heard a member of bar staff comment to another resident that someone had been 'a poor tipper' - not very professional. The drinks (including water) were expensive.
Even with all the above draw backs the holiday was not a disaster just disappointing.
If the Hotel took notice of the above comments (and did something about it) then I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

It was nice to be so close to the sea.The food was not good and very repetative.I thought the resort was run down .Taormini was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

You always get such mixed reviews so I thought I'd just try and tell it as it was.

The hotel looks and feels great. We had a nice room overlooking the sea and it was bigger than other Italian hotel rooms we had stayed in. The hotel is quaint with lots of charm and it was great not to be in a large modern soulless concrete monstrosity. The hotel is spotless and very Sicilian in decor. The staff were friendly and helpful apart from when we arrived and could not get anything to eat for a late lunch.

Its the only hotel we've stayed in where you really didn't have any hassle with sun loungers and nobody needed to lay their towels out. If there was a downside then I'd agree that the food was not everything you might want. Breakfast was ok but not a great choice although the breakfast room was beautiful. The evening meal was a bit of a letdown. Starters were fine ie pasta, risotto, soup but the main course was either fish or meat. Not being a great fish lover it was a bit repetitive to get veal in various forms for 6 of our 7 evening meals. To me it would have been better to have varied it by making some of the starters main courses some nights. However it was well cooked and tasted fine.

It was a little annoying not to be able to pay for drinks as we went along. They had to be charged to your room and your bill settled before you left. Hotel prices were a fair bit more expensive and in hindsight it would have saved a fair bit to have bought the bottled water in town and went into a cafe/bar for a drink at night.

Giardini itself looks beautiful and very picture postcard. However there is not a lot in it and the shops all the way around the bay tend to be very tourist based. Its a real beach resort. Tairmina however is stunning and if you could have the Arathena Rocks hotel and poolside by day and then step out into Tairmina at night it would have been great. Views up there are stunning.

The hotel runs a courtesy bus to and from Tiairmina and this is in iteself a great feature of the service at the hotel. Didn't seem to be many others doing this.

Don't know if it was just us, the hotel or Sicily in general but we certainly got more mosquito bites than anywhere we have been before which while annoying did not spoil a really good relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Our best ever holiday to Italy/Sicily. What made it that? Without a doubt the staff. If there was anything you felt wasn't quite right they moved heaven and earth to put it right.

The food was no different than in any other decent hotel we've visited over there in the last 25 years. If you want roast beef and two veg stay at home. You have got to try the swordfish!

Free air con, free sunbeds, free safety deposit boxes, free courtesy bus up to Taormina. Very reasonably priced lunches by the pool, reasonably priced bar. We came home not having spent half of what we had the previous year in another Italian resort/hotel.

Whilst we were there there were two wedding receptions and a big family party; in other words the locals choose the Arathena. And even though there were functions on we never waited for service.

We hope to go back there in Sept, and will be back there next year - a first ever for us, i.e. going back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We were searching for a hotel that night and after a few disappointing places we found AR, which on first sight in the night was not overly convincing.

However we had a slightly worn but lovely decorated room with the most beautiful balcony and view.

The entire hotel is a piece of art with its beautiful 60ies typically itialian somewhat tacky yet tasteful decoration.

The pool and the rocky seashore are beautiful and the hotel is situated in a very quiet corner which is rare in this area.

Staff were friendly, pleasant and fun. We definitely would come back

Brekkie was OK.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arathena Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathena Rocks Hotel

Address: Via Calcide Eubea 55, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathena Rocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arathena Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arathena Rocks
Arathena Rocks Giardini Naxos
Arathena Rocks Hotel Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arathena Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.