We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Acquario Degustazione

L'Acquario Degustazione
Via Vittorio Emanuele 66, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
+39 0942 56284
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We ate here in the evening and I can honestly say it has to be one of the best places I have been to. Everything is of very high quality and all fish is fresh-it comes from the preparation area/shop next door. Service is excellent but not intrusive. The wine choice is excellent-we drank an Etna variety. I had oysters and Paolo certainly had a good knowledge of the various types. We are very fussy diners in that we expect things to be right, to taste superb and for service to be top notch. This restaurant did not disappoint. I can certainly recommend this to everyone. Well done et grazie

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    30
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sets the Standard for Fresh Seafood in Sicily!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Acquario is a small restaurant seating perhaps 30 with a casual elegance which immediately makes one feel both relaxed and pampered.

For those who have never eaten at L'Acquario the crustaceans and shell fish are all alive when brought into the kitchen to be prepared, so when we talk about fresh it doesn't get any fresher than that. Paolo features over a dozen different types of oysters daily that are maintained to perfection in his saltwater tanks as well as scampi, lobster, and crab. He has a pump that draws saltwater from the sea to his tanks which provide oxygen and filters the water maintaining the crustaceans and shell fish in perfect and alive condition. All of the fish are locally caught and never farm raised. I've dined here on four occasions and would highly recommend everything on the menu, I've never eaten anything less than excellence in it's preparation and presention though I would certainly recommend the mixed raw seafood appetizer for first timers to this establishment.

The wine selection is small but intelligent and all of wines on the list go extremely well with the dishes from the menu.

The Acquario is definately a "destination restaurant" and not to be missed on your next trip to Sicily.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you love fish, this is the place to eat.Choose it from the selection laid out fresh on ice and the chef cooks it for you.Service excellent from a lovely lady,good wine, and also fantastic dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Fish is Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I knew we were going to have a good time because I found the one free parking spot meters from the restaurant. This was after a 230 km drive.
We you walk inside there is a presentation of freshly caught local fish to choose from. It was my wife's birthday so we went all out for lunch. From the fried local white bait, lobster to the whole salt baked fish we all enjoyed our meal.
I selection of good wine raised the price of the meal for the 3 of us. But it was still worth the drive there and 300 km back. Thanks to the auto-strada and the fast flowing traffic it was achieved easily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Smart fish restaurant attached to their fishmongers ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great fresh seafood selection, top wines served in this modern smart restaurant and part of the fishmongers next door. It was perfect. Highly recommended. €200 for two over a full lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Acquario Degustazione also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to L'Acquario Degustazione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Acquario Degustazione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.