We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Sicily, feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Porta del Vento

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giardini Naxos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Porta del Vento
Save
You added B&B Porta del Vento to your Saves list
Via Naxos 263, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Giardini Naxos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in Sicily, feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Porta del Vento is the most friendly and homey B&B we have stayed in Sicily. Elisa, Alba and Dario are extremely friendly and gave us amazing tips and suggestions of places to visit, restaurants and beaches. They are amazing hosts and made us feel part of their home!

The B&B is ideally located in Giardini Naxos, 2 mins walk to the beach and next to an amazing gelateria for a quick sweet treat before going to bed. It is 15 mins away by car from Taormina and a quick drive away from Catania city on the highway A18 (but they're also bus services from Giardini to Taormina). We stayed at the stanza grecale (the violet room). The room was very spacious and it is very nicely decorated with paintings by Elisa. Also, don't miss Dario's pics, they're very cool. The bathroom is brand new and spotless. Breakfast is abundant and the coffee is incredible.

We cannot recommend this place more highly!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had quite some trouble finding the house at Via Naxos 263, but once we discovered it, we saw Elisa and her mother waving and cheering to us from the balcony, as if we were coming home after a long stay abroad. Dario came down to welcome us und helped us carry up our heavy luggage. We were amazed by the very tasteful and clean and tidy appartement and were given the room with the Etna view - which was belching out smoke all the time. Dario showed us fantastic photos of the eruption last March, taken from his kitchen on the top floor of the wonderful house. He is a very talented photographer, tell him to show you the pictures of Etna in Winter and his series around Gardini Naxos - it’s worth it. The whole family looked really well after us, gave us great tips for nice Restaurants and places to visit. The breakfast was very nice - typically Italian with faboulous cappuccino, fruit, bread, croissants, biscuits and all sorts of juices you can think of. We felt so much at home, that we decided to stay on another day and the farewell the next morning was really very familiar.
All in all, you could not find a more friendly, cleaner, more charming and a more tasteful B&B than the Porta del Veneto!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION: Taormina can be reached in 20 min by bus. And you can easily make a day trip to Etna and Syracuse from there.
PERFECT ACCOMMODATION: the house itself is always very clean, very cozy, and very tastefully designed. If you can, try to book a Voilet room – you will have a view to Etna from your balcony. It looks amazing!
PERFECT WELCOMING: Dario with Elisa, and Elisa’s parents welcomed us with open hearts and made our holidays unforgettable! Dario is an expert in all restaurants and places to see around. He gave us useful hints everyday. And Elisa with her mom every morning was waiting with the best breakfast you can imagine! Elisa even baked a chocolate cake for my birthday! Their joy and attention to see you in the house is so real and so warm.

Dario and Elisa, thank you so much for your friendship and for making our holidays unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

If you go to Sicily, you MUST visit Taormina and Giardini Naxos. Beautiful sandy beaches, clear blue sea, Mt Etna and great baroque cities nearby ... I was there for one week and stayed at Porta del Vento, B&B, in Giardini Naxos.
It's a wonderful place, very close to the beach with a great view on Taormina's coast.
The hosts, Elisa and Dario, are so kind and lovely! They welcome you and make you feel like a part of their family. The place is clean, bright, cosy and nice. Great homemade food!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice! Just try it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I spent with my friend 3 extremely nice days in one of the most hospitable places I visited ever - Porta del Vento in Gardini Naxos on the east side of Sicily. The B&B is placed in the seaside resort between Catania and Messina which is a great starting point to visit all most amazing places on the east cost. What's even more exciting it's just near to Taormina - must to see town in Sicily! But that's not so important - the best is the place and its hosts - Dario and Elisa and her parents who own the place and put all their heart to keep it as clean, cosy and beautiful as possible plus give to all their guests their passion and love which you can find only in Sicily.

Room Tip: ask for room with Etna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traiskirchen, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Beautiful B&B in great location - so close to the beach, restaurants, cafes, public transport... The room (and the whole house) is perfectly clean, well organized, comfortable and everything I've expected! Nice little balcony to sit in the evening and enjoy beautiful Sicilian summer weather. B&B is in the busy street (narrow street with lots of traffic and music from nearby cafes), but it perfectly fits the mood and experience of Sicily.
The owners are great people, helpful and always positive! They gave us all info about places to see/visit, where to eat, what to do during the day, always responsive to everything I asked. They also gave us discount vouchers for restaurants (with recommendations and most of them are really great) and the beach. They were very welcome and friendly with us and my daughter and I really enjoyed!
I would definitely like to go back and explore more of Sicily and enjoy beaches of Giardini Naxos! Thank you Elisa and Dario for making this holiday even better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Porta del Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Porta del Vento

Address: Via Naxos 263, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Giardini Naxos
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast PORTA DEL VENTO (meaning “the gate of winds”) is set in one of the most beautiful places in the world, that is, the coast at the foot of Taormina’s hill, surrounded by citrus orchards and flourishing Mediterranean flora. The house has a modern and elegantly detailed façade, planned for welcoming light; it is mainly white with some cream-colored elements and big windows. It also has a balcony and a nice garden with grass and rare plant.Inside, it is furnished with elegance and style so as to offer, together with the friendliness of its very helpful owners, a warm welcome to those who want to spend some time in the exotic Sicilian atmosphere, in the maritime climate of one of the most admired tourist seaside places in Sicily.The B&B offers 3 bedrooms, two double and one individual. The rooms have all the comforts you may need: balcony, private bathroom, TV, air conditioner, frigobar, WiFi, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Porta Del Vento Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Porta del Vento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.