We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Giardini Naxos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Giardini Naxos to your Saves list
Hilton Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Jannuzzo 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great summer ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I enjoyed our stay at the hilton. .very friendly staff. Great pool. ..but for me the only thing missing would of been a coffee making facilities. .I get up early and could not get a coffee to 7 am. .all go to the bar outside the hotel .something to think about. ..

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Hilton Giardini Naxos with us.
I am pleased to hear you found the Hotel and the quality of services to your liking.Thank you also for the special praise for our staff attitude and professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    288
    145
    34
    9
See reviews for
199
290
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Hilton has a split personality. On the one hand you can't fault the rooms which are spacious, well appointed and serviced to a high standard. Although, there is no complimentary tea/coffee. Facilities are also good with a well equipped modern 24/7 gym, spa, swimming pool, private beach and relaxing lounge area with free wi-fi. On the other hand there are some incredibly frustrating features of the hotel which work against the strengths.

Top of the list is the sunbed situation around the pool. It has to be said that the team of lifeguards are excellent being friendly and helpful at every turn. This is even more admirable given the invidious situation they are placed into by a nonsensical hotel policy.

80 sunbeds for over 250 rooms around the pool is crazy. This is due to the available space. The issue is that they are free but the dozens on the beach are 15euros for two plus umbrella. This forces guests to compete for those around the pool. To avoid guests reserving beds and not using them, the pool attendant keeps a note of how long a towel has been unattended on a sunbed. If someone arrives requesting a sunbed all personal belongings are removed from an unattended sunbed to give the sunbed to another guest. Then when the ejected guest turns up a heated row ensues between the new incumbent, pool attendant and ejected guest.

This is mad as there were daily arguments where guests had just left for half an hour to get a snack or go swimming. Some guests realised they could just turn up remonstrate for a sunbed and manage to achieve an eviction. This is an unworkable system and creates so much unnecessary tension. If only they removed the beach charge there would be ample for all guests. Actually, on more than one occasion I saw an evicted guest complain to the management who then removed the beach cost. This may all seem a minor drama but you would not imagine the arguments that occurred resulting on one occasion with a tug of war between two competing guests trying to secure a sunbed and umbrella with the pool attendant trying to referee a situation he created by applying the hotel policy.

Sunbeds always seem to create problems wherever you stay where there are insufficient. At the Hilton there are enough if you include the beach sunbeds.

I didn't feel the price of drinks, coffee and snacks was too bad - only slightly higher than the local restaurants and cafés. However the restaurant prices are way too high. The Hilton is surrounded with lovely restaurants with free fast wi-fi where a three course meal for four with three pints of beer and 1 litre of wine costs between 80 and 90 Euros. That would be more than double in the hotel and not anything different. The Hilton in-house restaurants are not busy - I think I know why. Surely they should shed the corporate policy set miles away and compete with the locals - I reckon they would win hands down.

A buffet dinner with entertainment at the Hilton was 100 euros per person that is ridiculous for a family of four.

That is what makes this hotel so frustrating. Set in a beautiful location with excellent rooms and facilities, helpful and friendly staff at the lounge bar, reception and pool they could dominant the market. They were full everyday of our stay but sadly the out of touch pricing for meals and the sunbed situation meant they lost so much guest support. We loved the holiday but gave up on food at the hotel and spent outside as did the majority of guests. If they were more in tune with the guest's needs they would be a great hotel which I would fully recommend.

Sadly they are not so I offer a qualified recommendation. If you are happy to navigate the sunbed contest and eat locally it is a great place to visit and stay. If you are looking for the complete Hilton experience you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your stay experience at The Hilton Giardini Naxos, guest comments are considered an important tool in our process of quality/service improvements.
We are pleased to lear that you enjoyed your stay with us and at the same time we have taken good note of the issues you have pointed out and will investigate in order to see if there are ways of improve them.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.

Sincerely,


Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed with family. The hotel has a good location by the beach and with a number of nice restaurants nearby. It is a 15min walk to the more central part of Giardini-Naxos , but most restaurants close to the hotel were superior to those in the centre.
The room was ok with a nice sea view and cleaning was good.
The breakfast buffet was good.
The hotel gym was good with enough space and equipment as well as AC to be able to work out properly. The pool was nice, quite crowded and a bit hard to get sun beds. We preferred the beach which has large pebbles rather than sand. Not as soft as sand, but no sand in all you belongings.
Wifi was very slow, annoying 2014...should be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
-----------------
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the quality of the Hotel, the room with its seaview, the fitness centre and the beach to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights on half board basis in Hilton plus room with sea view. Check in was efficient and room was ready ahead of schedule. Lobby is spacious and interestingly decorated and incorporates a bar area with pastry counter selling pastries and ice cream. Free WiFi in lobby was often slow and unreliable but I found the free WiFi in Panarea restaurant to be far more consistent. Room was reasonably spacious and was very clean and the beds were comfortable, the tv had a few English speaking channels i.e Fox news, CNN, BBC world and a Sky movie channel. Location is ok, few cafes and restauarants and shops in vicinity but quite a walk in the heat to the main beach/port area of Giardini Naxos but the interbus bus stop is close by, we caught a bus to Taormina (12 euros return for 4 persons and a highly recommended trip - great town with lots of shops, pretty gardens and Greek amphitheatre all worth visiting). Back at the Hilton breakfast was excellent, good variety on offer and fresh omlettes could be ordered if you so wish, staff attentive. Evening meals in the Panarea were buffet style (we didn't try the a la carte restaurant as there was little in the way of vegetarian options for my daughter and the menu seemed expensive), very wide range of starters including salads, grilled aubergine, stuffed peppers, Parma ham with melon, olives, soup etc. Choice of 5 main courses, usually two pasta dishes and three meat or fish dishes. Food was tasty but there should have been some hot accompanying side dishes to go with the meat or fish dishes e.g. garden vegetables or potatoes. Deserts choice was limited to two or three styles of Sicilian cakes and water melon. Salvatore (interesting but jovial and likeable character) looked after us well in the restaurant and arranged for ice cream for desert for my boy one evening and a pasta dish for my daughter another evening as no vegetarian option on offer that night. Local wines in the restaurant were reasonably priced and were enjoyable. Pool is lovely and although sunbeds are in demand we had no problems securing enough beds, lifeguards are efficient at finding sunbeds and moving unused towels from 'reserved sunbeds'. We didn't use the adjacent beach as the kids didn't like the shingle beach. Hilton sent a card and some locally prepared sweets to our room on my daughter's birthday which was a nice touch. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and I would recommend this hotel. Very nearly but just not quite five stars for me.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Hilton Giardino Naxos with us.
I am pleased to hear you found the Hotel as well as the quality of breakfast and restaurant to your liking.
Thank you also for the special praise for Salvatore (Maitre of Restaurant), that has already been informed of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The first impression was as you enter is its large lobby. Lots of sitting room even in the high season of August. Free Wifi service which is only available in the lobby could be improved as it was extremely slow on occasion.

Front desk staff were efficient but could do with a more friendly service oriented attitude. Bell hops were excellent with a luggage delivery problem rectified in a jiffy.

The room was large and I was satisfied with it. The cleaning staff did a good job. The hotel has a nice pool and beachfront, I only had breakfast there which was included in my room cost. There was plenty of variety with standard powder based scrambled eggs and bacon. Selection of teas varied from day to day, once a full spectrum, on another occasion you could have any tea as long as it was English Breakfast. There is plenty of room for breakfast including an area al fresco.

Opposite there are many good eating places for dinner.

Overall I was happy with my short stay there.

Room Tip: Some guests complained about music late at night that could be coming from the busy street area wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.
I am pleased to hear you found the quality of the hotel, your room, the buffet breakfast as well as the beachfront and the overall services to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed with family. All our rooms were spacious and well looked after. Friendly staff. They could do with a few more sun beds, but at least the pool lifeguards removed towels from reserved beds after about an hours non-use.
Good buffet breakfast, with attentive staff. Hotel could do with a table tennis table and maybe snooker or pool tables too. One disappointment was the WiFi. Only available in the public areas, and although fee, it was often hit and miss as often too many guests trying to log-on. Hilton should really invest in high speed internet in rooms, and make it complimentary/free of charge. It is definitely an important factor in determining our future choices. We often went to nearby cafés and bars for much better and free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your experience at the Hilton Giardini Naxos.
I am pleased to hear you found the quality of your room, the buffet breakfast as well as the overall services and staff attitude to your lliking.
We are sorry to learn you had some troubles in using the wifi system in the lobby during your stay. At the same time please be informed that internet is available in all rooms at a cost, while is free of charge in all public areas as lobby, bars ,restaurants and business centre .

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If 1st impressions are key, then the Hilton has to update the lobby at it's hotel in Naxos: Dated is being kind, what a fantastic space it could be, if it did not appear to be filled with sofas and chairs from the 60's.
1st impressions over, the Lady who dealt with our check in was excellent, very informative and knowledgable. The other Receptionist we dealt with was Linda, easy to remember due to her fantastic eyes and also excellent service.
Our room was spacious with a great view of the sea and pool area.
The Hotel has a modern gym and was busy on the occasions we used it.
Breakfast was a typical buffet offering with fast and efficient Waiters & Waitresses clearing tables and taking hot drinks orders.
We used the beach three times and paid for sunbeds and umbrellas on the 1st day: we sat on our towels after that, no pressure from the staff was applied to rent the equipment.
The entertainment at night appeared rather dated and we spent our evenings out.
WiFi: €9.50 per day too expensive or Free in the lobby: Intermittent and slow. Why can't WiFi be free to guests?
I feel the Hotel has great potential, it has a fantastic location, the feeling of plenty of space and really friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms would appear to have great views as we were on the lowest floor and had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannimaccarrone, Direttore at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear you found the Hotel and the overall services to your liking.

At the same time we have taken good notes of your comments and verify is there are ways to improve the aspects you pointed out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

Giovanni Maccarrone
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Giardini Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Giardini Naxos

Address: Viale Jannuzzo 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Giardini Naxos 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Giardini Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Giardini Naxos Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Giardini Naxos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.