We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happens when the front desk staff pulls a fast one...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Giardini Naxos

Save Saved
You added Hilton Giardini Naxos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Jannuzzo 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Giardini Naxos
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“What happens when the front desk staff pulls a fast one...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location. Pebble beach was different in good way. Room was up to par but first floor views are obstructed. Hotel staff generally very good and helpful. Only issue was front desk staff that switched rooms on us last minute without telling us. This inevitably caused an internal mixup that had them lose our valeted car for nearly an hour when we went to pcik it up for dinner. And this meant a lost evening planned in Taormina as parking was full by time of our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Giacomo M,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Giardini Naxos.

We are pleased to learn about your overall satisfaction and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the room change.

If you are planning to come back to Sicily in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me, I'll be glad to arrange all is needed for a very special sojourn at the Hilton Naxos again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    188
    93
    28
    4
See reviews for
132
200
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is old fashioned, needing a deep refurbishment but acceptable overall. Large and comfortable rooms. What we most enjoyed is that the hotel is just by the beach which is spacious and nice. Halfboard board is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at on Tripadvisor.

Guest comments are considered of utmost importance in our process of quality of service/standards optimization.

We are happy that you enjoyed our location directly at the beach as well as our spacious guest rooms.

Regarding the price of the halfboard, please be informed that we will have a look at it in our next Management meeting.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future at the Hilton Giardini Naxos and remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Large, very comfortable first class hotel on the beach. Large, well appointed rooms, excellent breakfast. Good service. The hotel was very much occupied by American business groups, but the service did not suffer. The magnificent a la carte restaurant was underpatronized, but served excellent Sicilian cooking. The village itself is not very interesting (we found ourselves on the bus to Taormina several times), but for a Sicilian beach holiday the Hilton is perfect. Some OK restaurants in front of the hotel, and more about a km away.

Disadvantages: the free WiFi in the lobby was slow. Free WiFi in the rooms should now be standard. The too lax policing of the "no-reservation-of-sunbeds-by-the-pool" should be bettered. We had to eat very early breakfast to grab sunbeds, while seeing that most sunbeds were "occupied" but empty until lunch. The charges for the spiaggia were too high.

Would certainly come back!

Room Tip: Ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Treemonisha,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Giardini Naxos and for sharing your experience.
Guest's feedbacks are very important for us in order to improve our standards of services and products.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in relation with our beach chair and wifi charge policy. Please allow me to inform you that most of the hotels In Giardini Naxos as well as other resort destinations make a charge for the use of beach chairs to give guests a better service in terms of service and life security; whereas the use of wifi is free of charge in the lobby if guests are not willing to pay for the use of it in their room.
However please be informed that we are considering the issues in order to see if there are ways of changing the policies in question.

We hope to welcoming back soon and I'll be glad to arrange all is needed for a very special sojourn at the Hilton Naxos again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staff at reception is wonderful, I remark in particularly Roberta, always ready to help or give a tip to have good time and spend a great vacation. Rooms are large enough, but, telling the truth, not so clean, neither balcony is clean. I think this is because workers have not enough time to clean well or have not enough incentives. When I checked in I found hair in the bathroom, then lately every day of my stay again.. maybe they clean without washing what they use for cleaning?! Long black hair that did not belong to me for sure... Also staff at breakfast seems overwhelmed and not in a good mood. But breakfast is fairly good.
It has been raining pretty a lot during my stay, so I remarked that TV channels are not enough. Choice is less than average if not even poor, especially concerning German and Russian languages, and there's plenty of these tourists in Taormina and Giardini di Naxos. The only "news" channels are bbc, fox tv and cnn, for sure not enough to have an idea of what's happening around the world.. WiFi inside rooms is terribly expensive and, in such an expensive hotel, it should be free of charge, at least the wired connection!!! This is one of the reasons why value is average if not even poor.
Sleep quality is average only cos of noise coming from nearby hotel and bars on the street, but can be avoided if you sleep with closed window or you change room for one on the opposite side.
Spa is great and Marianna very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Rooms that face hotel's swimming pool are quite, the ones that face the other hotel nearby (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Elena M,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your detailed feedback, which is taken very seriously as it is the key for improving our services and products.

We are very sorry to learn that you experienced problems with the cleanness of your room, the variety of tv channels as well as the personnel attitude at breakfast and that you did not like our internet charge procedure which is free charge in the lobby area and at cost in the business center. We are considering these issues in order to see if there are ways for improvement.

Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed our Spa and thank you for your special praise for Roberta and Marianna that will be informed of course.

If you are planning to come back to Sicily for business or leisure, please do not hesitate to contact me , I'll be glad to arrange all is needed for a very special sojourn at the Hilton Naxos again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Comfortable and spacious rooms; nice pebble beach and swimming pool.
Service is not great. On our arrival, it took them quite a while to find all the details of our reservation.
The car valet service is not efficient at all. It takes forever for them to bring your car to you. On our depart day, they simply could not find neither our car keys nor our car. It took them 40 minutes and a big shouting scandal from our part for them to find the car. Good thing that we allowed lots of time to get to the airport and that we did not get any traffic, otherwise we would have been late for our flight.
Location is good if you want to explore other cities/areas rather than only Taormina. If all you plan to visit is Taormina, then do not choose Giardini Naxos: the traffic to and from Taormina was bad all the time, parking is a nightmare and a taxi costs 25euros. There is a bus every 30 minutes (not too far from the hotel), but you still get the traffic.
The restaurant just behind the hotel was really nice with a great wine list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. Guest comments are considered of utmost importance in our process of quality of service/standards optimization.

We are very sorry for the problems with the valet service and apologize once again for this inconvenience. Please be assured that we are working on improving this service.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcoming you again in the near future and have the pleasure to meet you personally. I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to stay in Taormina but by the time I booked everything was booked in the family room size. The hotel looked great on the website. The rooms were a actually great with large balconies facing the ocean. Cozy beds and flat screen tv in multiple languages. I would select the option to include breakfast as the buffet was quite large and my teen boys loved it. The problem with this hotel is there are 40 "free" pool chairs and 2oo beach chairs that are 10 euros a day for 2 chairs and umbrella. Needless to say we never scored a pool chair waking up at 10 am every morning. For Italy it's got one of the best beaches as far as the "sand" is one of the least rocky (but they are still tiny rocks). No cool large naturally occurring rocks to jump off of but they had a banana boat ride and jet skis. Once you leave the hotel there are a few touristy moderate priced restaurants across the street. And that's it. Nothing interesting for miles. This is a good spot if you want to chill for 2 days at the hotel to get over your jet lag then move on. Otherwise there is nothing to do here. Good for people that want to day trip to catania and surrounding areas. We strictly chose it for price. We wound up driving to Taormina after the first day and hanging on the beach there where we rented chairs and rode the tram up to the top, used the beach showers, checked out the shops and had dinner for the remaining 2 nights. The hotel always seemed to have a line at the front desk even though there appeared to be a bunch of staff coming and going all the time. Took forever just to get an extra key. They are not big on extra things that you take for granted in other hotels. Like I needed a boarding pass printed. I had to get a code to get to a computer in the biz center. Then had to figure the printer out and clear the previous job as someone rise left 8 pages of something in Russian in the printer queue. I saw several frustrated people at the desk with the same issue. The problem with staying at this location if you want to be in Taormina is parking. It's a busy city and if you don't get there early parking is limited. We used the valet service at the hotel for our car for same issue. They had many plush couches in the lobby where I saw families huddled around a computer to watch a movie with the free wi--fi they offer only in the lobby area at night rather than pay 10 euros in the room. Whatever. I dont know why everyone doesnt offer free wi-fi in this day and age! They also had a nice Italian espresso/snack bar in the lobby. It was only open when the restaurant was closed so after 11 am to midnight. Overall the rooms were nice and my bed comfy but the location just didn't cut it for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Sicily. Your feedback is of utmost importance in our process of quality of service/standards optimization.

We are sorry to learn you dissatisfaction regarding our price policy for the sun beds at the beach and our internet charge procedure which is free charge in the lobby area and at cost in the business center. We are considering the issues in order to see if they can be improved.

Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that your sons enjoyed our breakfast buffet and you liked our spacious guest rooms with comfortable beds.

Should you plan to come back to Giardini Naxos in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me, I'll be glad to arrange all is needed for a very special sojourn at the Hilton Naxos again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel could be amazing but lacks quality services that the other Hiltons offer.

The pool was lovely but small, it only catered for 70 guests on loungers and these did fill up very quickly. The hotel has wasted a huge amount of space with chairs and umbrellas at the pool that could be used for loungers. I think it is a complete rip off to expect guests to pay for loungers and umbrellas on either of the two small private beaches if the pool area is full - seems mean and petty!

Breakfast was only ok - for me it missed out on the usual Hilton 'wow' breakfast - there is no chef cooking fresh eggs, omelettes, crepes etc., that you see in every other Hilton – people and kids especially love this service. I did order an omelette each morning and it was brought to my table and was lovely but other guests might not know that they do have a choice as it is not said to you by any of the waiters.

Wifi in the lobby was ok depending on how many were using it - funny to see all the teens on their phones...........

Would recommend going to eat out in Taormina every evening - Giairdini Naxos is a rundown sea side town with little in it, the best eating places would be up the Hilton end - we went to O'Neills one night and it was lovely. The bus to Taormina costs very little and buses are always on time - take a right out of the hotel keep walking past the Euro market (lovely deli here) and take the first left you will pass a fruit stall/cafe (lovely to sit and eat melon!!) - you are at the bus stop. Beware there can be a lot of shoving and shouting from people getting onto the bus which we found bizarre as there is enough room for everyone. Taormini is located on the mountainside and there are over 167 restaurants to choose from - streets are very pretty and quaint like Sorrento.

Our room was gorgeous and the AC was perfect (we must have been one of the lucky ones). I have one major complaint and I will be contacting the hotel directly about this - on our last day we went to Mount Etna (this is wow - do it!) we arrived home at five o'clock in the evening looking forward to hot showers and getting out quickly for dinner, when we got to our level the cleaners were still on our floor - we got to our room and one of the beds had been half made up, the other was the way it was left that morning and our dirty towels had not been replaced - I have never come across this in all my Hilton stays - I called one of the cleaners and asked her for towels (even if the towels had been replaced I would have been happy enough) - she came in and started finishing the room while we had to sit out in the balcony - no apologies were made, she was actually very abrupt!! Bizarre too I was reading another review we kept putting our dirty glasses out and they kept putting them back on the table dirty each day. It seems to me that there is not enough cleaning staff. Also other hiltons we have stayed in replace towels after your showers in the evening with clean ones for the morning - this one did not!!!!

Would I recommend the hotel - don't think so – not for the price we paid for our stay - have stayed in far better run Hiltons and it is a pity as it would not take much to give it a wow factor.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni m, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Giardini Naxos, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, which is of utmost importance for our process of quality of service/standards optimization.

We are very sorry to learn that we did nit meet your expectations as a Hilton hotel. Please be assured that we take great notice in discussing your points in our next managers meeting in order to avoid such circumstances as described and to make guests feel more comfortable experiencing the Hilton standards and philosophy that we are living daily with sincerity.

We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to become the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Giardini Naxos. I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Giardini Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Giardini Naxos

Also Known As:
Hilton Giardini Naxos Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos Hotel
Hilton Giardini Naxos Sicily
Address: Viale Jannuzzo 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Giardini Naxos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hilton Giardini Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Giardini Naxos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.