We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Artemide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Artemide to your Saves list
Villaggio Artemide
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Porticato sn, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We picked the Villaggio Artimede from an Internet search with the intention of staying one night before driving up Mount Etna. Even with a GPS in the rental care this place was hard to find, and the Gabbiani Supermarket along the main street through town is the best local landmark and market.

The positive aspects of V-A include (1) secure, gated parking and grounds, which were well-kept; (2) clean room equipped with a small kitchenette; (3) plentiful hot water in the bathroom; (4) tap water was potable; (5) overall the V-A and surrounding area was very quiet; (6) helpful owners; and (7) the nearby Gabbiani market. Gabbiani serves prepared as well as fresh food, and is a short walk from the V-A. We used Gabbiani instead of local restaurants. As we only stayed for one night, we didn't use the pool or poolside bar, nor did we do any sightseeing by foot.

Negative aspects included (1) air conditioner didn't work the night we were there. To get cross ventilation in the room, I had to stand on a chair set in the shower stall to open the bathroom window, and then leave the front door open with the grill pulled down; (2) the kitchenette was not supplied with dish soap, sponge or towels for basic cleaning, nor did the bathroom have soap or shampoo; (3) the mattress and pillows weren't comfortable (felt like sand bags to my back and neck); and (4) Internet only worked in the motel office, not in the rooms.

We paid 70 euros for one night's stay, about $95 US. At this rate, and in comparable tourist locations in the USA, Motel 6 and Super 8 would provide better value, far more comfortable beds, and reliable in-room Wi-Fi, more often than not. Absent a better mattress and pillows, I would not stay here for more than one night.

If you plan to tour Mount Etna or the local coastal towns by car, buy a good map, and make sure your car has up-to-date GPS configured to western Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We - a Danish senior couple stayed here for 5 nights from 16 September to 21 September.
We were upgraded to a 2 room unit consisting of a large bedroom and a spacious kitchen and livingroom. The place is utterly clean and the kitchen is nicely equipped with the nescessary utensils to prepare your own meals. Good amount of plates and cups and other cookery stuff.
Outside you find a table and chairs and a parasol.
Aircondition in both rooms.

The wi-fi is in the reception area, but works fine.
The place is so well maintained and the pool is clean and fresh.
This is a small place, but very tranquil and is suitable for families with small children or people who wants a relaxing and quiet vacation.
The poolbar offers drinks and sandwiches.
The host, Antonello and his sister are remarkably helpful and very serviceminded, so it was a great pleasure to stay here at the end of a 4 week vacation through Sardinia and Sicily.
We can only recommend this place, and maybe September is a good month for those who want a quiet vacation.
Close by, within walking distance you find a couple of nice supermarkets and the beach is within walking distance as well.
This was the nicest looking resort in the area, as far as we could see.
Our compliments to the people who run this place.
Grazie !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything was good and I could see myself live there! The location was good but not perfect, it takes only 20 minutes to walk to Giardini Naxos Centro and 10 minutes to the beach. We had a view of Etna at our terass, really awesome! Recommend this place a lot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Villaggio Artemide is located at the South edge of Giardini Naxos, so it’s beach (about 600 metres away) is not crowded. There is a big supermarket nearby, and food purchased in the nearby shopping centre can be prepared in the kitchen-cupboard. A sizeable swimming-pool belongs also to the property. The outside light facing the broad bed cannot be switched off so it is advisable to put the shutters. The garden is well-kept by the gardener looking like a university professor. The staff is freiendly. Wi-Fi can be used in the room belonging to the reception. The staff is friendly, especially Mariella, the receptionist who gave useful advice.

Room Tip: Apartment 19 is advisable as it's terrace is on the back (not along the passageway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently got married in Taormina i needed to find some affordable accomodation for our guests and choose Artemide, i must say we were not disappointed with this family run self catering site was very clean with nicely decorated single storey rooms also very clean, it had a lovely pool with pool side bar which was very inexpensive, the site was secure and safe for children in fact a few of our guests with young families hope to return next year, there is a supermarket nearby approx 250 metres which sells everything you would need for your stay plus a couple of restaurants roughly the same distance, the bus stop which takes you into Taormina on a coach rather than a bus is approx 400metres and costs roughly 2 euros and takes 30mins no point in taking the car as the car parks are expensive, the small beach is approx 400 metres from Artemide or you can travel into Giardini Naxos some 2 miles to the main beach with sun beds / shops etc, all in all we found this small self catering site superb for our needs we booked 11 of the 20 apartments so almost felt like our own villa, yes its a little way out from Taormina but none of our guests found that a problem and the bus service is great, the owners were absolutely fantastic even going out of their way to setup a BBQ for us one night arranging taxi's and getting people to and from the airport whether you are a young family, young or mature couple you will find these owners are very accomodating and it's not too painful on the pocket either so all in all everyone who stayed here had a great time, Thankyou Antonello

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Artemide

Address: Via Porticato sn, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villaggio Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Artemide Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Artemide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.