We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place - nice quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Sofia to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing place - nice quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a five night stay in a deluxe room with a view of the lake. Room clean and tidy, yes they do have old style TVs. perhaps some updating needed. Small bar, drinks reasonably priced as they don't use a measure!. Nice pool area, some towel on the sun bed issues, but generally okay. Nice garden and quiet location. 10 mins walk to lakeside. Staff are helpful, only issue we had was our safe, we could not open it. Staff offered to help, we wanted it fixed when we were there, but they did it when we were out, leaving safe open, cash, passports all readily available! Hotel does not have a restaurant but plenty of locations nearby 10 - 15 mins walk. Some nice restaurants up the hill from the hotel. Reasonable breakfast buffet, some snacks available at lunchtime. Not a place for kids or teenagers.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment regarding our Hotel, its
rooms and the service we offer. It is a pleasure for us, that you
enjoyed the pretty garden, the nice pool area and the quiet
surroundings.
Hotel Villa Sofia is a bed & breakfast hotel, but we provide “light
lunch” for those who prefer to stay in the hotel or by the pool during
the day and we have special offers for dinner for our guests in our
sister hotel Savoy Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Villa Sofia.
As an alternative you can choose either to go to “Gardone Sotto” and to
have
dinner by the lakeside or to walk to “Gardone Sopra” in the old part
of the village and enjoy many good italian restaurants there.

Although you don’t recommend the hotel for kids, we are very pleased
to have many return guests with small children, as Villa Sofia is a very
family friendly hotel and we hope to welcome you among our repeat guest
in the future.

Best regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Have just returned from a lovely short break at Villa Sofia. We had booked a deluxe room with great view of the lake, good size and very clean. Staff were very friendly and offered the option for us to check out late as we had an evening flight. Plenty of fruit, pastries, cakes and cereal for breakfast .
Gardone is a smaller resort than others on Lake Garda and very peaceful - perfect location and perfect hotel for a short break without the kids.
(I do agree with a earlier comment about the shower - the bath is too narrow to have a shower on the side wall and as it was fed from the mains pressure and heat varied constantly)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your nice review about our hotel, the staff and the accomodation.

If your holiday’s desire was rest and peace, Villa Sofia has been the top choice: it has a wonderful location between the old centre of Gardone Riviera and the little and charming centre of Gardone Sotto, reachable with a pleasant walk.

All rooms are very comfortable and nice, and the category you have chosen has a stunning lake view. Waking up every morning, looking the infinity sky and marvellous Garda Lake, which is the best way to begin your short “love’s escape”?
Then starting the day with a good and various breakfast in the garden, frames hotel’s beauty.

We are sorry you had some problem with water preassure, and that you find the shower too small but Villa Sofia is an ancient Villa and, for this reason some areas haven’t had the possibility to be modified or be expanded.

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel!

Best wishes.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts., England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting, in a small garden with a swimming pool. The pool area is nice but the pool itself is a bit small - there was a bit of the old leaving a towel on the sunbed thing going on. The location is great - 5 minutes from the old town on top of the hill, with a good choice of restaurants and the entrance to Il Vittoriale (not to be missed!); 10 minutes from the lungolago with another good choice of restaurants. Breakfast is good, apart from the coffee, The bar was very expensive.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with large, comfortable beds. A light over the dressing table would have been useful. Not that it mattered, but they still had old cathode ray tube tellies - haven't seen one for years! The bathrooms are well appointed but need attention - the bath was too narrow and there wasn't a proper shower.
The staff were pleasant and helpful, but I was a bit annoyed that they didn't give us the local discount card for hotel guests when we arrived. We only found out about it from the lady at the boat station and it would have saved us 25 euros on our boat fare.
All in all it was nice hotel, but nothing special especially given the price,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slependen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks with a 2 year old child. The hotel was clean and the staff was absolutely fantastic. So helpful and always smiling, we felt really welcome at this place.

The breakfast was good, offering a variety of cold and warm food. We recommend eating the breakfast in the garden, peaceful is the word.

The swimming pool is really nice and you can order a good lunch at the pool if you like.

The location is perfect with a short walk to upper and lower Gardone. Nice and quiet. This hotel is perfect for both families and love birds wanting a quiet, relaxing vacation.

We will definetely come back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciated bery much your fantastic comment on Villa Sofia and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays. Our efforts are always to ensure a great stay for all those who are looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday in a lovely green surrounding.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in Villa Sofia.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

As long as you can make the restricted bus and ferry timetables work for you when getting here, Gardone Riviera is a pretty, reasonably priced and relaxing location. The hotel staff at Villa Sofia were fantastic and very helpful. The room was spotless and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a superior room with a side balcony and beautiful view of the lake and gardens. The swimming pool was ideal and well serviced by staff for drinks and a lunchtime snack. Would stay here again and definitely recommend it for a relaxing break!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardone Riviera
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

very nice hotel and employees, very clean and proper, nice surrounding ! Old and small bad working televisions. If you never look it is a top hotel, if you like sometimes watching tv, you must do it without a star !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice little hotel in the pleasant area of Gardone Riviera, on Lake Garda. A short stroll from the water's edge and the main restaurants etc of the town.

Staff very friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself was very nice, both externally and internally.

Great little pool and pleasant gardens to the front.

Breakfast was of a good quality with plenty to choose from and as much coffee and tea as you wished. If it's hot breakfast you're after, you're very limited to "scrambled eggs" though they were a little congealed for me with perhaps bacon or sausages, though the cold options were extensive and always fresh.

Top tip was a local water fountain in the car park just across the road - even had fizzy water on one of the three taps! You'd see locals constantly coming with their own bottles to fill up, rather than buy it from the supermarkets!

Shame a few kids arrived and left during our week there, but most were civilised!

Don't forget the 0.75 euro charge/tax per person per day, but I'm guessing they all have this!

Room Tip: You have to upgrade to superior or equivalent I think to get a lake view - our first floor bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sofia

Address: Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Sofia Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.