We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Style, good service, but a few faults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Sofia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Sofia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sofia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Gardone Riviera
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Style, good service, but a few faults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Villa Sofia is a classic building from the early 1900, with its own style. Some people have said the hotel is hard to find, which is partly true, as the street number isn't on any GPS device we had (car + 2 phones...), but once you find the street there are signposts to guide you at least to the rear entrance (best spot to park your car since no one goes there and the front parking is always full). We arrived very late in the evening, had called the hotel that we'd be late, which caused no trouble at all. Room was with a partial view of the lake, nice as we didn't specify. Room is spatious (for 2), we were on the 3rd floor. Though it was clean, there were traces of dust under the bed, nothing major but a lack of love for detail. Breakfast is hotel-classic, good but nothing to shout about. Service was nice, always helpful and friendly. One staff member must have spoken at least 4 languages (one east-european, Englis, Italian and German). I would recommend it as we had a nice time (3 nights) at the end of August 2012, and it was VERY hot outside.
Only gripe I have is that the isolation from the other rooms is rubbish. You can hear nearly everything. I usually hate this but for some reason I didn't mind this time around, must be the general good mood around there :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you placed on tripadvisor. Your comments are very useful in order to improve service and make your stay even more comfortable.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Villa Sofia.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just spent a week at The Villa Sofia. After reading so many positive reviews we left feeling a little disappointed. Although the location is convenient for Gardone (being in-between the town by the lake and the town up the hill) We highly recommend the hire of a car to really see what the lake has to offer. There is no beach as such in Gardone although the Villa Sofia did have a very acceptable swimming pool area. Considering the cost of the accommodation and the lack of an in house restaurant we were expecting breakfast to be of a higher standard than what it actually was. The spread was mainly continental with some bacon and scrambled eggs. The eggs were lovely but the egg tray to our disappointment was almost always empty!
Our room was unfortunately on the ground floor with our view overlooking the breakfast terrace. Unfortunate, and we would recommend if you are given this room to ask for another. There was nothing worse than opening the windows in the morning for some sunlight and having 30 people peering at you!! Oh and no iron available on site so take your own or be prepared to pay 5 euro an item! In a nutshell we felt the Villa was more 3 star than 4 and thus unless you get an exceptionally good price it's just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor or above facing the lake and you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. I feel a bit sorry that you did not enjoy very much your stay in Villa Sofia.
Villa Sofia is situated in the setting of a beautifully tended Mediterranean park in the most elegant and tranquil part of Gardone Riviera. The Villa has been carefully restored in 2004 with love to details maintaining the historical Art Nouveau style.

We do our best to offer an adequate four star service to our guests and on site laundry is a part of this service.
At breakfast we offer a wide range of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests. We know that a good breakfast is essential and appreciated by all and your point of view will help us to improve our service even more.
If guests are not happy with the room we usually do our best at the reception to change it also during the stay if not possible on the first day.

It would be a great pleasure for me to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We came back from lake Garda on the 30th I was really looking forward to staying at the hotel Sofia it looked beautiful as it was,but the hotel had no atmosphere and not very good for kids as it only has 1 pool and no other entertainment ,some of the staff we found pleasant but we also found some rude espiacally the night watchmen. the standard rooms at the back had a busy road that kept us awake late and woke us up early,the hotel is not on the lake but a 15 min walk.I have stayed in only 4 and 5 star hotels and this was the worst in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

I read the comment you placed on tripadvisor about your stay in Villa Sofia and I would like to express my disaproval.

Before booking Villa Sofia you had the possibility to see photos and read descriptions on our website that give a clear picture of Hotel Villa Sofia, so you already knew what service you can expect during your holiday.
I would like to point out that we have numerous comments on tripadvisor that love the atmosphere and calm of Villa Sofia.

Regarding the night watchman, he acted due to our hotel policy: he received some calls from other guests in the rooms who complained about loud voices at the pool (it was already 1 o’clock in the night), so he just came out to tell you this.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday in Villa Sofia, but I am disappointed about your negative comment, because Villa Sofia surely is an excellent hotel in its category.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in Villa Sofia on our car trip round the Garda Lake. The location is just perfect, the hotel is quiet, has own svimming pool, is situated within walking distance to Teatro Vittoriale and some great restaurants and has a parking place big enough for all customers. The room was fine and spacious and the view to the Lake Garda was nice. If the personnel had been a little more attentive and helpful we might had given 5 points. They didn´t help us with advice a) how to use the free wifi (you must go back downstairs to get the access code), b) how to get to the Teatro Vittoriale easyly, or c) if it were possible to book massage in the sister hotel although there were a advertisement of it in the room. Sorry about those little things when you don´t have too much time to spare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on tripadvisor. I am grateful for your nice words. Regarding the personnel of the Reception I would like to inform you that we try to give all useful and necessary information about the hotel during the check in and we apologize if we did not in your case.
You can be sure that our personnel at the reception is always at your disposal for any information you may need.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Villa Sofia.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is half way up the hill (10 min walk each way), between the restaurants and hotels on the lakeside and the livelier bars and restaurants of the upper part of the Gardone Riviera. It suited us as it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront when we wanted to but close enough to dip back in for a drink or meal. The room was a good size with a comfy firm double bed and nice fresh linen. We had a balcony and view through the trees of the lake even though we hadn’t paid for a room with a view. The en suite was spacious and clean – floor was a bit slippy so beware! Breakfast was served between 7.30am and 10.30am and consisted of a selection of juices, coffee/tea made to order, wholemeal and white bread rolls, bread for toasting, hot and cold meat (didn’t pay much attention to this as I’m a vegan), scrambled and boiled eggs, cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumber. Several bowls of fresh and stewed fruit (prunes) were available with yogurt, cereal and a selection of fresh pastries and croissants. Jam, marmalade and all that stuff is available too… all in all a pretty good spread. I filled my boots! There was a mini-bar with tiny expensive drinks and no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room but there is a bar in the hotel and they can make you drinks for a charge. There is a very nice, clean pool to swim in at the front of the hotel. The only issue we had was on our last night a group of young ‘uns decided to go swimming and drinking at midnight – there was a bit of screaming and hooting but it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t want to complain as they were having such fun but we did have to get up at 6.30am… I’m sure the night porter would have helped had we complained. The kitchen staff served an early breakfast for us so we could leave at 7.30am. The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful .I would return here – it’s a very nice hotel in a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - we got one even though we didn't pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. I am very happy about your nice words. Your comments are very helpful in order to improve services and make your stay even more comfortable.
I would be happy to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel - beautiful setting overlooking the lake with a stunning pool. Perfect for a relaxing break - breakfast on the terrace everyday, lounger by the pool, ending with dinner in the cute village up the hill. Repeat that for 5 days and we were ready to stay for good!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment. I am very glad you had a nice stay in Villa Sofia and I am very grateful about your compliments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Wonderful holiday. a nice place. wonderful staff. 2 weeks on Lake Garda, flew by. I'd like to go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sofia

Address: Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sofia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Sofia Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.