We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Fasano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Fasano to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Fasano
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zanardelli, 190, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Long Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel is located right on Lake Garda, the view is just overwhelming. We got a room with an ample balcony facing the lake which enhanced the pleasure of our stay. The hotel facility is definitely up to the standards of a five star hotel. A library offers a place for work and relaxation, with beverage services available until mid-night. There are 2 pools, one indoor and outdoor, probably the best pools I've ever enjoyed in Italy (except for swimming in Lake Garda which is a total thrilling experience). Breakfast is abundant with eggs made to order and served until 10:30AM, no rushing guests out of the breakfast once the clock hits 10:30. Hotel staff is very friendly and courteous. The Chief (Chef) concierge, Jay Scott Guinta, came from the United States and now is an Italian, who made our stay extra enjoyable. In conclusion, a nice place to spend some quality vacation time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    42
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
140
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just back from a great week in Lake Garda where we stayed in the Grand Hotel Fasano. We had a lake view room which offered unobstructed views of the lake. The room was a good size and the bathroom was perfect with Aveda products. Nice touch.
Breakfast was buffet but a chef was available to cook your eggs anyway you wanted. Lots of fresh fruit, cheese, cereal, etc. The breakfast seating area was outside on a veranda with lake views. Very nice way to start your morning.
The Garden area is large with families near the pool and couples and those looking for a quieter time have their own space.
The Spa has it's own indoor pool and relaxing area that is accessible from near the pool area and my wife reports very positively on the treatments.
All in all, a very good hotel with excellent staff. Italian and German are the lanuages at the front desk but some of the staff have very good English, especially the Chief Concierge (An american who has lived in Italy for 30 years ;))

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Friends of us have stayed at the Fasano last year. They were totally amazed, so we decided to follow their suggestion and we booked in July. We had a gorgeous lake view room with a balcony and nice view. Comfort in the room was superb; we didn’t miss anything at all. We tried the hotel services (bar, restaurant, spa): breakfast and dinner served on the terrace are excellent also the AVEDA treatments at the spa are worth a try. If you go to Lake Garda don’t hesitate and book at least a couple of nights at the Fasano.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

At the check-in we were given a standard room as was written on the web-site "no lake view" but in fact it turned to be that "no lake view" means motorway front- it was obviously noisy at the time we walked into the room that I asked to change the room but was told it was the only one available. Then discovered the hair dryer was broken, toileteries in the bathroom were limited to three little bottles of: shower gel, shampoo and facial cleaner for double occupancy, on request for body lotion and toothpaste we were provided with extra samples of same items :) The personnel of the hotel greets you in German when you call the reception and on the question to supply with the bathrobe they wouldn't understand you even after spelling the word untill you give the German equivalent , after that they brought me XXL bathrobe in grey-white washed-out color that looked if somebody was wearing it for few months. My boyfriend was giving a joke that the guy at the reception was trying to be so accomodative that gave me his own bathrobe, but without any joke it looked terrible. Airconditioning was not working properly, in the bathroom didn't work at all. TV last century old showing only German channnels and few Italian. Minibar empty as in a motel also had an impression because of the motorway noise, that even the closed window didn't help. To use any of your own electical equipment needs an adaptor because the plug-in system is old fashion. No ironing service available in the evening, and we were asked to wait till the morning, I was lucky I bought a steamer in Paris so the adaptor was kindly provided to me. So I had to call the reception at least 5 times on the arrival to get accomodated in the room more or less. Even though the room was obviously not 5* level very dark and noisy, no sufficient items available, so the only wish was to take a shower and escape from that. In the morning at breakfast we were shocked by the way we were asked to change the table because it was for 4, very rude way, after we changed 2 gentlemen took our place and to the question why then they are sitting at that place I was fighted back by the waitress. Even the breakfast was quite good, the service made me feel uncomfartable during the breakfast. On request to change the room for the next night I got a rejection, so I don't think I will ever come back to this hotel.
5* as they declare is only their gorgeous garden which at all means doesn't worth that money..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Beautiful location - very pleasant deluxe grade room overlooking the lake. Bathroom small and basic but had all the elements that one would require.
Service was generally very friendly and prompt. The spa was excellent with gorgeous treatments. The grounds are very well maintained and complement the hotel perfectly.
We wish we had known about boat hire - evidently this can be arranged by the hotel with delivery of a boat to the hotel jetty. It would be good if the hotel information in the room was more comprehensive. The majority of information is presented in Italian or German - English speaking visitors seem to be less well catered for in this respect The concierge service is excellent but you have to know the right questions to ask.
Food was excellent overall.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel, België
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Had a wonderful stay here for 4 days, was very impressed by the quality of the renovations on the hotel building, inside (rooms, sanitary) and outside (garden furniture, towels). The overall feel is of grandeur and ultimate luxury. The location is the best around the lake, Gardone is one of the most historically interesting and authentic part around the lake. There's also a botanical garden close by the hotel which is worth a wander around.
Gardone also has a great small village Gardone alta (higher up), good place for interesting food if you had enough of the slightly over stuffy ambiance at the restaurant in the hotel.
Rooms are either lake facing or not, so there's no use of having a room that faces the very busy road behind the hotel, to be avoided! The room itself was very clean, housekeeping is the best I've seen in a long time. Spacious and good sized terraces with amazing views with full sun from the early morning till about 14,00 so never too hot either.
Outside there are lots of sunloungers, good quality towels and excellent service if you'r thristy or up for a snack while looking out on the blue lake. Swimming pool is a very good size; not just a puddle pool, and alternatively take steps into the lake from 3 different places in the garden, great feeling to have the choice depending on the weather conditions.
Overall the main drawback is the huge amount of german people staying here, i have nothing against them however it become a problem when the italian staff start speaking german to you even though you aren't, I guess they become slightly paranoid after a while?
There is also an excellent aveda spa with a heated covered pool, many different options available except for men, there the choice is more limited.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I discovered this fantastic location during my last Italy trip. Really good hotel with amazing spa. Much better than other, more expensive, accommodation in this region. Recently refurbished with all the comforts you expect and excellent service. They also have a hip restaurant by the lake. Definitely my favorite place.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Fasano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Fasano

Address: Via Zanardelli, 190, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Fasano 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a frontage directly onto the peaceful western edge of the lake, this luxury five star hotel has rather exceptional qualities for the discerning guest. Privately owned, it stands in 12.000 square meters of tranquil and secluded sub-tropical gardens. It has a heated swimming pool, access to the lake for water sports. Public rooms, including spacious lounges, are furnished with elegant sophistication and panache. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Escapio, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Fasano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Fasano Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Fasano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.