We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
guernsey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We had our honeymoon at this hotel and it was the perfect place to relax. The resort is small and quiet, so not suitable if you are looking for good nightlife. Most of the restaurants look over the lake and there is a small promenade for a brief walk. The hotel is excellent, we upgraded to a room with terrace overlooking the Lake and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and with thick walls, we didn't hear much noise from other residents. Some of the rooms overlook a busy main road, so might be noisey. The bus stop to Salo, the nearest town is nearby -buy your tickets before boarding at the newsagents (with the yellow canopy) Salo is 4km away and has a good choice of restauruants, and shops, especially shoeshops. We also visited Malsceine and Sirmione, both pretty and busy resorts. The cable car queue at Malsceine is long - about an hour - but we felt worthwhile. We hired bikes - not in good condition - from a garage in Salo and found the car drivers to be considerate. We had to cycle on the main road, but it was great to get off the bikes and leap into the lake when we were hot. The food was superb and v reasonably priced eg 7 euros for a seafood pasta and 12 to 18 euros for the local wine, Lugano. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleaseant and breakfasts were good. Hotel pool is open til 7pm, cold drinks available and limited pool snacks. The fast ferry service is great, the departure point is beside the hotel and all the times are clearly printed on the outside. Didn't do any trips to Verona or Venice as it was too hot - usually 32C daily. The scenery around the lake is gorgeous.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    76
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
130
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

There's an air of professionalism about this lake-side hotel - which comes through in the standards of service maintained by the friendly and helpful staff. Situated between the busy main road and the lake front, the rooms and public areas all seek to make the most of the setting. Bedrooms are traditional and well-equipped, but were not just as spacious or as comfortable (due to noisy air conditioning) as we had anticipated. On summer evenings dinner is served at poolside tables, but for a better overall dining experience one of the local restaurants (within walking distance) might be a better choice. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

The Savoy Palace is a very nice hotel with good views of the lake and a nice pool. The staff are very friendly and all speak very good english.

Please keep in mind that if any of the comments that follow seem petty or picky, it is only because there is very little wrong with this hotel at all!

When we arrived in our room we could only see the lake by stretching our necks out of a side window. We asked to be moved and the reception staff didn't bat an eyelid before offering us another room with a much better view. It was slightly bigger too!
We booked a standard room and it was perfect for what we needed it for. It was on the first floor above the reception are and our view was slightly occluded by some planters that screened the balcony. Without any prompting, the planters were lowered and our view was much improved!
Our room was on the rear corner closest to the car park. We did hear some loud music from a bar/restaurant a few hundred yards further down the lakeside, but it was barely noticeable with the balcony windows closed. I don't think it went on much past midnight or 1am, but if you are sensitive to outside noise at bedtime, it might be advisable to try for a room right in the middle of the hotel overlooking the pool.
No noise from any other rooms in the hotel though. Very quiet, and that was with it fully booked too!

The air conditioning has to be set at reception to your desired temperature and fan speed. It works very well. There is a control in the room but any changes you make to it revert back to the original settings after about half an hour. In our case we were freezing by morning until I asked at reception. Ours kept reverting to 16 degrees Celcius and the fan at full blast!

The mini bar fridge, along with all of the other electrical items and sockets, turns off when you leave the room. The fridge doesn't warm up without the power, but you can't leave any ipods/ phones etc. charging whilst you're out of the room.
On the upside, although the hotel information pack says that you can't store any of your own food or drink in the fridge, we did for the whole week and nothing was said to us at all.
We bought our own beers and mini bottles of Prosecco from the supermarket (about 10 mins walk towards Salo, closed 12pm to 3pm, open till 7pm) and drank them instead of the extortionate mini bar items. My wife even drank the mini bar bottle instead of the shop bought one by mistake. Even thought he bottles weren't the same we swapped them round and weren't charged!

We only on a bed and breakfast basis, the meal in the morning was very good, with a varied selection of hot and cold food. The fruit drinks were a bit overly sugared though. No complaints at all.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and the food was very good. We only had the set menu, but the a la carte also looked very tasty.
If you are looking to eat in the town, avoid the restaurants on the front that look over the lake. Although the food is adequate, it is over priced and the restaurants in the pedestrian street behind the hotel (Emiliano's) and up the hill (the locals call it 'upstairs Gardone') at the church and Il Vittoriale are far superior.

There is a very nice terrace that can be accessed from the reception bar. For some reason very few of the other guests used it, but it gives a fantastic view of the lake and there is a refreshing breeze in the evening. Perfect for an aperitivo prior to dining out in the town.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the ferry pier, from which you can explore the whole lake.

The car park outside the hotel is pay and display (1 EUR per hour) from 9am to 7pm apart from 7 spaces that are free to hotel guests. The hotel also has spaces underground that cost 10 EUR a day. We used our rental car a few times during our stay and, although there were no free spaces available when we got back, one soon turned up after a few hours. Much cheaper than shelling out 10EUR to the hotel for the whole day!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Though the resort is fairly small you are near the ferry to get to the others if you want to explore the nearby Salo or other towns around the lake. The hotel itself was good, not the newest but nice enough - we had a lake view which was lovely and the Pool was a good size. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at the Savoy Palace for 9 nights in June. We were not disappointed, we upgraded from a superior room to a prestige room which gave us additional patio space. A full view of Lake Garda which was beautiful and nice to use the patio of an evening on sunbeds overlooking the lake and watching the sunset.
The location of the hotel for ferries was superb and the food was second to none. We enjoyed a five course meal every eve and a buffet style breakfast every morning. The food preparation was top class, if there was something on the menu we did not like we were offered alternatives, even though the 5 course meal was a set meal. Nothing was too much trouble.
The waiting staff and manager were all very polite and professional and very very helpful in every respect.
The hotel itself was quiet and the pool was fantastic and also quiet.
Shops and bars nearby and shutters to close each night if you wanted to be quiet or during the day if you wanted to cool the room down. All in all a wonderful experience and we would love to do it again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel was very nice and even better than we expected based on the positive reviews. Our room was on 5th floor with the direct view on the lake. The room was not big, but nicely decorated and comfortable. The view from the room was breathtaking. The swimming pool is not big, but clean and comfortable. One of the best points for us was the terrace bar. There was a great view and also nice cocktails. The hotel also had a Jacuzzi for free to guests which looked good – unfortunately we did not try it. The breakfast was good with wide selection (especially for Italy :)). The staff is very professional and friendly – everybody spoke very good English. The hotel has the direct access to the promenade from the swimming area.
The hotel restaurant did not look cozy for us, so we did not try it for the dinners but went for the restaurants on the lake. One (we cannot remember the name, but there is a crazy guy – owner – always running around and playing a guitar in the evenings) had tasty affordable pizzas. For a romantic dinner the restaurant called Osteria Sans Souci was excellent (but not cheap) – it is like 2 minutes from the hotel.
The room was not very quite because of all the noise from the ships/boats on the lake – there were some little noise even at night. But we are very sensitive to any noise, so maybe for other travelers it was absolutely fine.
With regard to location, the hotel is right on the lake shore. But with its back side, it faces relatively busy road. But it is important to say that only several rooms are on that side – probably 95% of the room are on the lake side.
We recommend this hotel for stay in Gardone Riviera - this town from our experience is one of the most beautiful on Garda lake. It is possible to take a boat and go around the lake. We went to Sirmione which was also a nice day –trip. Unlike Sirmione, Gardona was not very crowded in May, which was also a plus for us. We hope to come back here sometimes in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

room was spotless easy to find with a fantastic view of the lake and mountains.staff were very friendly easy to talk to. breakfast food was always hot and fresh .

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.