We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Savoy Palace. Had a large, spotlessly clean room with a terrace and fantastic views of the lake. A nice touch was the welcoming basket of fruit in our room on arrival.Breakfast was buffet style with a menu choice and waiter service for evening meal with a good varied menu.The hotel is situated alongside a small lakeside promanade with a dozen or so restaraunt / bars and shops. We had a car for the week but the lakeside tour boats stop a few minutes walk from the hotel. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A lakeside room with a balcony or terrace is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing a comment about your holiday at the Savoy Palace. We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and you felt comfortable in your room and in the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again in this beatiful place of Lake Garda and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bon
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    76
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
130
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently as part of a Great Rail Journey holiday group. The accommodation was mixed with not everyone getting a balcony. We asked for one but there was nothing available until the next day. The breakfast was excellent with a highlight being able to eat on the terrace by the pool. Dinner was a restricted 'English' menu - not what we wanted in Italy. We ate in twice and thereafter making use of the good restaurants a minutes walk on the shores of Lake Garda or a 10min walk to IL Vittoriale. The rooms were very clean and reasonably well equipped but no tea or coffee making facilities or decent hair dryer (take your own). The location was very good for catching the many boats to various other parts of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view balcony room when booking and not one on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the comment you posted on tripadvisor. Your reviews are very helpful to understand if we are doing well and to improve the services we offer.

Thank you for the compliments about breakfast offer and location, we agree that in a warm and sunny autumn morning it is nice to start your day with a breakfast by the pool.

At dinner we serve typical dishes of the local and national cuisine that are usually very much appreciated by our guests, we are sorry if you were not satisfied with the menu.

In Italy it is not usual to provide tea and coffee making in all hotel rooms, but since we are aware that this service is very appreciated above all by our English guests, we provide them in some room categories – Deluxe and Prestige.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace and we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yet another very satisfying stay at the Savoy during August and September. Again, we had our special room 305 and 306. Tastefully furnished and plenty of space. Splendid view on the Lake, quite, great big Terrace with sun loungers, table and chairs for complete and private relaxation. Staff are EXTREMELY HELPFUL, POLITE AND EFFICIENT. We had a car accident, the culprit ran off. Arriving back at the Hotel, the staff informed the Police. It was quite a hassle not speaking enough Italian, they translated everything with great patience and commitment to the Police (and this despite running the front office). After 5 hours at the Police station the next day, we had all the papers required for the Rental company. All I can say, The Savoy is and will always be our preferred destination.

Big bathrooms, soft, cuddly towels and bathrobes. Excellent chamber maids!
Very good and varied breakfast till 10:30AM.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms 305 and 306, offers excellent views on the Lake. Both with a fairly big terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your lovely comment. It was a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace and I am very delighted to have had the chance to know you personally this time. As the owner of the hotel, I am very attentive that the service is always at a high level and I am very glad about your compliments for the staff of the hotel.

I hope to welcome you again next year at the Savoy Palace and I wish you all the best.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were part of a group, so the hotel had to deal with clients plus two visiting groups which seemed to stretch their resources at times. We had a nice comfortable room overlooking the pool, without a veranda. Hanging space was fine but there was not really enough drawer space for two people. Reception was good, efficient, friendly and always helpful. most of the staff spoke more than one language and they were always ready to tolerate someone trying to communicate in halting Italian. Once they had understood my dietary problem they made every effort to accommodate me and never once made a mistake. Food was very good and varied. Service was always good,in the restaurant, bars, rooms or anywhere else and there was always a cheerful smile to greet you. I agree that with a few tweaks this could be a 5* hotel and certainly one that we would recommend to any traveller

Room Tip: upgrade if you can and get a balcony. Keys are electronic cards which you must insert into the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very helpful to understand where services can still be improved. For me as the owner it is of great importance to keep service on a level of a 4 star superior hotel and I can understand from your comments that we are doing well.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and I would be delighted to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace in this beautiful spot of Lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome, prossecco and fruit basket in our suite. We upgraded to a lake view suite which was delightful and would recommend as the balcony was very large. The pool area was great for sunbathing and was also where breakfast was served. Breakfast was very good as there was a variety of choices. The location was great for bars, restaurants and local shops. I would stay here again as the staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The rooftop bar was great for a nightcap as it overlooks the lake.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view suite, worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted about your nice and kind comment. It is a pleasure for all of us to receive those compliments and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and in Gardone Riviera.
It is very important for us to know that our guests feel welcome in a pleasant surrounding with friendly and helpful staff.

I look forward to welcoming you again next year and I wish you a good time.

With kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thought long and hard about what to say having read a number of reviews both good and bad and stayed at this Hotel for a week.
The Hotel has a fantastic location, all expected amenities and some great staff, on site car parking, pool, wellness centre etc etc. from an amenity perspective it has all the right ingredients. However the place finds itself in a bit of a time warp. It is stuck in the 70's or 80's and has not really moved on. The decor, the tired silk flowers everywhere, the reception layout and the bar/lounge.
What it needs is a facelift, a few more staff so that people do not have to wander off to the bar to order a drink for by the pool, and the reception staff do not need to help folk to their rom with the luggage etc. dining al fresco in the grounds would revolutionise the restaurant and its popularity
We really had a nice week. The staff were helpful and friendly, and try very hard to please. This hotel with a bit of investment and some modernisation could move to a five star rather than being just on the verge of four star.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms on the 3rd floor have very large private balconies whereas those above have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and stayed at Hotel Savoy Palace with our tour group so the hotel was booked by the tour operator. What a beautiful hotel and very friendly hotel staff. Our room was very spacious and we had an awesome view of the pool and Lake Garda, known as the Gardone Riviera. There is a cool roof top bar where we spent some good times with our group. There is also a happy hour with free munches.

This hotel is also located near the waterfront promenade and close to a shopping area and many fine restaurants. There are several close towns that you can walk to and enjoy the local sights.

We had a great buffet breakfast and had a wide variety of delicious food items to choose from. This hotel is located In an beautiful area of Lake Garda. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and look forward to welcoming you again in this beautiful town of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.