We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colomber to your Saves list
Hotel Colomber
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val di Sur, 111, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value hotel in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel was cheaper than most on Garda and we thought it gave excellent value. Our room was clean and reasonably spacious with a balcony and mountain views. Breakfast was fine - not an enormous variety but plenty to eat from a self-service buffet, and evening meals were simple but delicious. Service from the owner and his family was always friendly and attentive. The grounds and pool looked lovely but the latter was closed for the off-season when we stayed. The hotel is in a mountain village a steep drive a few kilometres up the hill from Gardone Riviera, an ideal starting point for mountain walks. There are other restaurants in the village if you want some variety.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We (my husband and two young kids) stayed here in peak season of August. However it was a haven of peace and tranquility. The pool in the garden just seems to go endlessly into the mountains. In fact on one day we watched some abseilers come from the top of the mountain to land by the side of the pool.

The pool is fenced off so no worries with little ones. There is loads of room for games in the garden. We often wandered into the village bought some bread ham cheese tomatoes and had a picnic in the garden for lunch. There was also a bar/pizzeria within walking distance.

One night we ate in the hotel restaurant and that was great too. It's simple cooking but homemade and local.

The room we had did not have a balcony but a lot of the rooms do have with lovely mountain views. The rooms were spotless and very spacious.

One day we walked down to the lake (about 30 mins) and caught the bus back up to the village.

But the main thing which I loved about the hotel was the relaxed vibe of the place. It is family run and has been for 3 generations and the host is fantastic and we felt like we were staying in their home. Couldn't be more helpful.

We had a fantastic week and the kids loved the pool and swinging chair in the garden.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

If you are looking for peace, great home cooking and value for money in a friendly family-run hotel, then this is the place for you.

We spent three nights at half board and always looked forward to our evening meal. The quality of the food was exceptional for the price and we had two outstanding local wines recommended by the proprietor.

The room and hotel common areas are at the upper end of what you would expect at this price level and the lovely outdoor pool surrounded by mountains was a real treat.

If you want a quiet location just ten minutes up from the lake front, then this is the place for you. The friendly and knowledgable owner also speaks excellent English.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
En route
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

First thing first, this hotel is a 10 minute drive up a mountain road from Gardone Riviera. However, to me thats all part of what makes it special. You are away from the lake side but you still have all the views, and easy access.
We found the hotel owners to be excellent hosts and by the time we left considered them as friends. The accomodation was clean and tidy, not overly luxurious. The bed was made every day and the room tidied, you can't ask much more.
The hotel setting is ideal, silent nights and cooler than the lake so a bit more comfortable. The hotel pool was clean and during our stay always quiet.
The hotel has a restuarant which provides a wide range of food, and all to a high standard. During our stay they also catered for a large party of former Alpine soldiers. An excellent day was had by all.
The hotel was excellent value for money, and I would happily recommend this hotel to my friends and family, and look forward to return to it in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in September - it is located above Gardone Riviera in a quiet little village called San Michele. Hotel is signposted from gardone so is easy to find and about 10mins up a typical mountain road with amazng views of the lake.
Hotel is very clean and owners charming. Breakfast was good although no fresh orange juice as always at Garda. Very peaceful and pool is lovely. Showers a real let down though. Water takes a long time to run through and then the shower head sprayed water everywhere but on your head!! at €64 per night though it really was good value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomber

Address: Via Val di Sur, 111, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomber 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomber Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Colomber Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.