We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place like no other overlooking the lago di garda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dimora Bolsone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dimora Bolsone to your Saves list
Dimora Bolsone
Via Panoramica 23, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a place like no other overlooking the lago di garda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went a view days in this very nice place : a spacious house, with charming chambers having a wonderful view on the lago di garda. The house is surrounded by a lovely garden with orange trees, limon trees, olive trees, fig trees... It's a very quite place, few kilometers from the noisy center of the city. The beakfast takes place on a terrace with a wonderful view, a gastronomic breakfast, served on the sunny morning. No doubt that is it a place to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Fantastic views , delicious breakfasts and what a great host in Rafaelle. His place is the kind of villa I'd like to retire to!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I have just returned from Dimora Bolsone. I have visited Bolsone a number of times because to me it is stunning. I love it. My first thought in the morning when I wake up: ah yes, another day in paradise… . Bolsone is a full immersion of the senses.

The view from the terrace is one of the most spectacular I have ever seen. Eating breakfast overlooking the lake, taking in the rich green vegetation, the small historical villages and the distant mountains, is delightful. The rooms are decorated with beautiful 16th , 17th, and 18th century pieces and the bathrooms are super. The perfumed terraces are full of giant pots of lemon and grapefruit trees, climbing roses and bouganville. The owner, Raffaele, is courteous and full of knowledge about the area. He was born and has lived there most of his life so knows all the best places to visit, to eat, to drink coffee .

I would strongly suggest you visit the garden (more of a park). Raffaele, a tax accountant turned naturalist, has a device to let you hear the music of the plants. Yes you can actually hear the sound of the plants. Drinking a good white wine, overlooking the lake and garden, taking in the sounds, sights and smells is close to as good as it gets. I absolutely recommend a visit if you want to both relax and be energized.

However, two things One you must have a car, not only to get to Bolsone, but also to explore the beauty of the Lake and its surroundings and to eat at the many restaurants. Second you mustn't be dog phobic. Rocky and Glenda, two beautioful cocker spaniels happily wonder around the terrace and gardens.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The view from the rooms and terrace is to die for and the setting really lovely. Breakfasts are a highlight of that there's no doubt. Rafaelle took time each day and evening to recommend day trips, restaurants for lunch and dinner and went out of his way to make our stay as great as poss - sitting outside overlooking the lake in the evening with a glass of wine with the opera drifting up the valley was magical. Catia is a superb cook. Her cakes are legendary and even if (like us) you end out pounding the hills so you can look forward to them in the mornings it's worth it. I tried to get the apple cake recipe out of her but it's a family secret - it's HEAVEN!! The rooms are a little dated. My biggest quibble was that the towels wern't changed when I had left them on the bathroom floor on 2 separate occasions - they had been rehanged. Not what you expect for 200Euros a night and certainly not something I can ignore. It's a shame because if this hadn't happened I would have given a 5 as I can ignore dated furniture but not dirty towels. Tip : DO NOT GO TO MIRIMONTE the restaurant up the road. Dire. Head down the hill to Antico Brolo or any of the other outstanding places instead and leave this one to the old folks who live next door. Rafaelle and Catia recommended Mirimonte but shouldn't have and as all their other recommendations were spot on we soon forgot our first meal. All in all a lovely quiet restored villa in a beautiful part of Italy, gracious hosts, beautiful setting, personal service, lovely quiet guests and very couth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Dimora Bolsone is the perfect place to unwind and recharge. The rooms are lovely, the breakfasts worth every hour or more we lingered over them, and Rafaello the most attentive and knowledgable host. And the view is fanatastic. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed at Dimora Bolsone for two nights at the start of August. The B&B is well out of the village up in the hills with an amazing view over Lake Garda from most of the bedrooms and the terrace. The bedroom we had was on the ground floor and was big with a well appointed bathroom and lovely linen sheets on the bed.
Service is good for such a small B&B - when we arrived, we were offered a bottle of wine and olives as apperitif on the terrace. Breakfasts were lovely - also on the terrace with hams, cheeses, fruit, cakes etc.
I would certainly stay here again if I was going to be in Garda - but you do need a car and to be prepared to drive everywhere (and the road at the end is very windey). Wouldn't go there with kids (and I think that the sound insulation in the bedrooms might mean that if there were children staying, it could get a bit noisy), but for a couple, it is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The views and the breakfast
  • Disliked — No pool, needing to drive to go anywhere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed there for 4 days for our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful, we loved the place. It is located high up the mountain from Gardone Rivera so you need a car but the views are spectacular. We had a fantastic large room overlooking the lake (from afar). In particular the hosts Raphaelle and Katia could not have been more helpful or welcoming - they did everything they could to make our stay as pleasurable as it was - recommending trips to take, booking local restaurants and serving fantastic wine on the terrace in the evening. Also the breakfast were delicious - fruit, meats, cheeses, eggs, jams and olive oils all home made by Katia... finished off by a generous helping of a delicious desert each morning!! Would highly recommend this place to anyone, it was wonderful and relaxing...if it had a pool I would never have left!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimora Bolsone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora Bolsone

Address: Via Panoramica 23, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dimora Bolsone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Bolsone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimora Bolsone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.