We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, beautiful hotel, marvellous service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa del Sogno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa del Sogno to your Saves list
Hotel Villa del Sogno
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Zanardelli 107, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, beautiful hotel, marvellous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently stayed here for four nights, and it was wonderful. Very peaceful and quiet and relaxing, and would have to agree that the terrace area has to have the best view of Lake Garda. The gardens and pool area are beautiful, and the rooms and amenities fantastic. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the food and drinks very good although a bit pricey but to be expected at a hotel of this quality.
Best suited to couples or people with older children as it is a very quiet and elegant setting.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We splurged on the tower suite and it was worth it! Fabulous jacuzzi and private terrace up on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bollington - England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Bad points

Sloppy standards..... the in room info says " Restaurant is open 7.30 am - 9.30 pm" But in Italian it says " 19.30 - 21.30 "
Under keys it says " Our chamber MADE (?? ) is responsible for all the items disposed in the room "
Can anyone translate that ?
==================
There were no towels by the pool when I went late afternoon.
There were no pictures in the room ..... 5 star hotel with no pictures DUH!

How does the spa bath work?. A call to reception to ask how it works met with a " I cant help you! "
Eventually I discovered it a switch high up on the wall - why not put a label to say what it is? Or teach reception!

Bill was wrong on check out - charged Euro 120 twice for dinner!


Good points
Breakfast and dinner on terrace superb.

Next time I will stay elsewhere and just use the restaurant

At Euro 350 per night was expecting something special - Villa del Sogno fell way below my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is a little dated but well maintained and spotlessly clean.

The rooms are smallish and expensive for what you get.

The Gardone Riveria is quiet, bordering on boring

However, the service provided at this Hotel is second to none. I’ve stayed in many alleged 5 star establishments, especially in Asia, and none have provided the almost telepathic service provided here.

The staff are chatty, but courteous and always efficient and helpful.

As an example, one evening, whilst we sat on the wonderful terrace admiring the view of the Lake and Islands, a storm seemed likely. As the weather worsened the waiters unobtrusively prepared the terrace gazebo so that we could continue our meal outside and watch the subsequent storm in the dry.

We had a wonderful meal, great recommendations for wine and a bit too much cognac that night.

For three days we had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. The food is great, not too expensive and the service amazing. There seemed little point going anywhere else

You cannot help but feel truly pampered there.

Very highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

A beautiful property situated on a dramatic hillside overlooking Lake Garda, to the north a glimpse of the Alps. We were there in late september (off-season), and there very few other guests at the hotel. Nevertheless the service was outstanding at the hotel, at the restaurant (where by the way we had a meal that we still talk about) and also at the spa. Breakfast on the terrace was sublime - the fact that I rhapsodize about an omelet (an omelet!) to my friends says it all, I believe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I can only echo the favorable comments by others regarding this jewel of a property. My wife and I spent three wonderful days here in mid-October and wish we could have stayed longer. To us the resort should be rated higher than the Hotel Villa Serbelloni (also 5 stars) in Bellagio where we stayed after. Our room was awesome; the service in the restaurant was suberb; the view from the terrace balcony and from the pool area was gorgeous; the very large property was a virtual botanical garden; the people friendly and helpful; and the location well situated for day trips.

Room Tip: Finding the entrance to the property from the main road is tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Superb resort, great service, higher end dining, and immense dining terrasse overlooking lake....all the while, very secluded and private as in the middle of landscaped and wooded area of many acres.

Well located within 20 minutes taxi ride from desenzano train station on the main Venice to Milano line...Great way to spend two days resting and boating on Garda Lake.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We just spent 3 lovely romantic nights at this beautiful 5 star hotel. Our superior room was spacious with gorgeous views from the terrace balcony of Isola de Garda. Nice surprise to be greeted with a chilled bottle of Proseco on arrival and enjoy it watching the view from the balcony. Fortunately for us the weather is unseasonably warm so we were able to eat the sumptuous buffet breakfast on the terrace restaurant. At night we chose to eat in the romantic candlelight gazebo at an intimte table for 2 as part of the "American Bar" a limited but plentiful menu and not as expensive as the main restaurant. The waitstaff of Andrea, Angelo and Celeste were delightful and so attentive as we were their only diners each evening. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and we were able to use the free shuttle to get us down to the ferry dock. This is a lovely old villa that is impeccably maintained and very comfortable with beautiful furniture and paintings and lovely lush gardens. Because of the unseasonable warm weather we were able to enjoy late afternoons around the lovely pool. A wonderful start to our tour of the Lakes region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa del Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sogno

Address: Via Zanardelli 107, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa del Sogno 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sogno
Del Sogno Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sogno Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa del Sogno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.