We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I don`t normally like big hotels but The Grand manages to combine splendour with friendliness and charm. Our room, (and all areas of the hotel), was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are showing their age a bit but not worryingly so. Fresh flowers very much in evidence. The dining room, although large, manages to be reasonably intimate, with beautifully laid tables and starched white cloths. The waiters are immaculate and friendly and service is excellent. You keep your table and waiter throughout the stay. We were half-board : breakfast is a lavish buffet, with cooked food availableas well as rolls, fruit etc; dinner is 3 course waiter -service with plenty of choice. Dishes are varied and well-cooked and the desserts irresistable. Everything is presented beautifully. The hotel is ideally located on the lakeside just near the boat stop. We went for a stroll alongside the lake after dinner each evening and had drinks/coffee in the bars there (hotel bar very pricey!). Would recommend highly and return without hestation. Dream holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    151
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
89
369
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs, uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Could not believe how lovely this hotel is, most perfect central location, step out the gate and you are at bars and cafes and ferries. There are gardens exploding with colour overlooking the lake and private promenade, lovely pool with lots of sunbeds that even have headshades, and so many different areas to just sit quietly and gaze , our favourite was the pontoon jutting out into the lake. The restaurant was gorgeous, pristine tablecloths and linen napkins and candles, attentive smiling waiters always on hand and wonderful food, puddings just fabulous. In the mornings we ate breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, couldnt be nicer. A lake view is a must, our room was large with two small balconies, we asked the maid for softer pillows and she was back within minutes with them and chocolates too, lovely lady. The hills at the back of the hotel are picturesque, great for walking and views over the lake, was amazed at all the different trees, the cypresses are fabulous, wish we had them here, so elegant. And finally, would we go back,? Yes, yes, yes!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

After making this our third visit to the Grand it goes from strength to strength. Everybody was welcoming and very helpful. The evening meals were a delight and it was fantastic to be able to sit outside by the lake.

Good room with an unobstructed view, (always worth asking for a high floor).

Cocktails / drinks in Winne's are expensive, but the offer Mon, Tue, Thurs and Fridays between 1730 - 1830 is well worth it, just to have nibbles and a chat with Massimo and his team.

We hope to go back next year.............can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-East England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My wife and I took our children & their partners to this hotel- we had been there in Sept 2006 by ourselves & had a fantastic time

This time around it was even better! The hotel itself has a simple elegance that is hard to find today and was very much appreciated.

The food was even better this time around, the choice and quality was excellent and as we had a vegetarian in the group it was good to see she was well catered for and not just provided with a plate of vegetables as an afterthought.

All of the meals (breakfast & dinner) were an event overseen by friendly and considerate waiting staff who were committed to making the meals a very enjoyable and satisfying occasion.

The rooms we booked were a combination of single, doubles and a junior suite- all were very clean, tidy and well presented with superb views over the lake. The single room was a bit musty, perhaps it hadn't been used recently but overall very good.

The vast majority of guests were at least middle-aged but from our point of view this was not a negative thing and it was nice not to experience screaming and shouting around the pool.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing, peaceful holiday where you enjoy superb food and service with great views of the lake.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Spent a very pleasant week staying at the Grand Hotel Gardone. It is perfectly situated for the steamers that ply the Lake. I think most if not all the rooms have a lake view and balcony. The food was excellent. Freshly cooked omelette on the terrace in the morning was nice. You can choose to dine outdoors or inside. The pool is quite small but was not busy when we were there. I found the staff very polite and helpful. Barbara the front desk manager arranged taxi transfers at a fixed rate that was quite reasonable. Gardone Riviera is a quiet resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is a very nice hotel, huge and set right on the edge of the lake. The service was excellent and the food good, expecially the salad and dessert buffets. We were on a package holiday so were not surprised there was no choice of main course. The drinks were expensive and it is NOT an easy hotel if you have any diffficulty walking as although there are lifts, there are also small sets of stairs in several places and no hand rails to help you, even up to the front door. But it really is a lovely hotel and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We could never have afforded to stay there if we had not been on a Great Rail Holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

1st impressions were good on the outside, the hotel is situated right on the lake without the busy road inbetween. There is a lovely little pool area and other areas with sun beds with lots of nice places to sit and admire the lake, but then you walk inside the hotel and it looks like its stuck in a tacky time warp! the hotel is huge and empty. We encounted 4 reception girls 2 were helpful and the other 2 rude. We had booked to stay 2 nights but turned up 1 day early, the 1st reception girl didnt know what to do so we had to wait for the rudest reception girl I have ever come accross she seemed angry and started to question me why we are early! We booked a superior lake view with balcony for 2 nights. The bed was ok, thats the only positive thing I can say about the room. The carpet was really old and dirty, the furniture just horrible. The bathroom was lovely. The lift is a death trap. The prices are mad at E9 for a pint of beer. Breakfast was ok and the service good. We travelled around Italy stayed in lots of 4* and 5* hotels and this was without doubt the most disappointing. Without the fabulous location the hotel has nothing to offer. I would have rated it with a two but for the location. We had a really great meal at Emilanos and the Hotel du Lac but avoid the one next door with a ship on the logo.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in all the public rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.