We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli

Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli
Piazza Garibaldi. 2, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
+39 036520832
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic gem of a restaurant. We booked for lunch based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We were a little late for lunch but our hotel called ahead and they said no problem,they would stay open for us. The meals both my husband and I had we're all fantastic. Fresh, authentic Italian cooking. Staff simply delightful. One of the best meals we have had in Italy. Seek this out if you are in the area!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    65
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The food will take you "To the Angels"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was one of our best dining experiences in over a month of good dining experiences in Italy! The steak tartare is marvelous, and the gnocchi drenched in carbonara sauce then covered with sliced white truffles took me to the angels, for sure. My wife loved her asparagus crespelli. We went back the next night and had the exact same menu, it was that good. Oh, and the friendly and gracious Signora speaks pretty good English. If you are in Garda Riviera or even anyplace near it you must try this little place in a tiny medieval town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Gardone Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Where to start? Food, service, atmosphere... everything, and I do mean EVERYTHING, was perfect! It's a little gem in a magical little street. The food was delicious, from the bread to the coffee. If you choose this place, you're definitely in for a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It was a few years back but wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

OK so we went there in 2005 (or thereabouts). We were just watching Locatelli and Graham-Dixon and reminiscing about this fantastic small restaurant. I observed it was in my top 10 fab places I have eaten. Small place, great breads, great service, great food. Even writing this I want to go back there and have a meal! We ate there twice when we stayed at lake Garda. What a gem!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good place to eat with very personable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the first restaurant we tried when we arrived in Gardone for a week and we reckon that it was one of the best there. The menu has a very interesting range of choices and what both of us chose were well prepared. The people working in the restaurant clearly care about what they are doing and provide excellent and unobtrusive service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli also viewed

Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
 
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Trattoria Agli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.