We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplaned stay and Hotel Benaco.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Benaco to your Saves list
Hotel Benaco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 126, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Middelfart, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Unplaned stay and Hotel Benaco.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After 24 hours on the road we needed a place to stay for the night on our trip to southern Italy in July. Luckily they had a room, although no with a view. But all we really needed was a room for my wife, me and our 9 year old boy. We had an extra bed in our room which made the otherwise nice room feel very small. But otherwise it was a nice hotel, but nothing extra ordinary. The Americans would call this a boutique hotel. Location was super for a walk in the town. We took off after a good breakfast.
I'll love to come back later with a little more time in wonderful Garda.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

May 3-6, 2012 we visited Lake Guarda area and stayed in the small Hotel Benaco. We were very happy with our accommodations. It is a small 2 story hotel (no elevator) just across the street from the beautiful waterfront esplanade. The hotel is very modern with a lovely, large lounge/bar area all in black and white. Our rooms were good size with 2 double beds, modern bath, hair dryer,etc. Even tho the hotel is on the main thoroughfare thru town, it is very quiet at night .
The hotel also has a seating area our front where you can enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. An excellent breakfast is included in a modern room near the lobby. It is just steps across the street to the main area on the waterfront with all the restaurants and gelato area's where you can sit out and enjoy the people in the evening.
A HUGH street fair is held each Friday right on the waterfront esplanade. A wonderful treat.
.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 7 times now. It is such a welcoming, great hotel, the rooms are lovely with a balcony with either twin or double beds. It is also fabulously clean and confortable. The breakfast is also great, everything regularly refilled and lots of choice. Staff both on reception and breakfast are lovely. Car parking on site is good. Very good value. In a good location not far from the lake. If there is a down side it is the busy road in front of the hotel - but everything else outways that.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our third visit to Lake Garda and this time we booked independently instead of through a travel agent. This hotel is an absolute gem! The hotel is lovely, rooms were very clean and modern and the bathrooms spotless! Breakfast was great, lots of choice and the staff were more than happy to make something at your request. The air con was FAB!! Temperatures outside were over 87 degrees so we were very impresses with how cool the room was.

2 minutes walk to the ferry and had a great restuarant opposite at the Silvestro. We had a fantastic meal on our last night and some of the choices included Taglietelle with hare which my husband had. Real home cooking!! Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No lift but only 2 storeys and the staff will carry your bags to and from your room. Full sun all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for one night at Benaco, and it was a very pleasant stay.Big, recently refurbished rooms, nice bathroom and a short walk to Lago di Garda and shops and restaurants.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, as there is no elevator to carry your luggage.
Breakfast was a surprise, as italians don't usually care much about breakfast: it was delightful, everything there you could wish for, fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs, cheese and child cuts platter, muesli,....and good coffee, too.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Garda is a lovely place on its own so it was nice to stay there regardless. The Benaco hotel sits on the main road but that did not bother us at all. Free parking is offered some 600 metres away.

Our room was tidy and the bathroom clean. We had to drag up the luggage to the third floor but that was only because pride made us refuse the free help we could have gotten.

Very friendly staff and good breakfast. We only stayed for one night but we certainly could have enjoyed a few more.

Splendid hotel for couples and singles - I would probably not advise it if you were bringing young kids.

Room Tip: Room at the front have a little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hard to find a room in Garda but remembered this from a TripAdvisor review. Great lady at the front desk explained everything and even parked our car up the street so as to avoid a 700 meter walk to the hotel's parking lot. Hotel Benaco itself was full so we were sent across the street to Hotel Silvestro, which must be a sister property. The room was large but the included buffet breakfast was horrid. Very minimal with cold coffee and no hot water for tea. The kiwi was so hard as to be inedible. The adjoining restaurant was fine- at least it was away from the noise and smoke of the lakeside restaurants. Just a half block away is the ferry, numerous restaurants and shops. We used to stay at the Hotel Regina Adelaide but the price has become prohibitive. So it looks like Hotel Benaco is our new favorite.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Benaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benaco

Address: Corso Italia 126, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Garda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benaco 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Benaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benaco Hotel Garda
Hotel Benaco Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Benaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.