We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 3, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 50 hotels in Garda
united kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were here from August 4th to the 15th, As most of the reviews were old or in German I was a little dubious about where we were going but I needn't have worried, the hotel was lovely, the staff were great, the restaurant served delicious food, the breakfast was typically European, bread, ham, eggs, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and croissants among other things, Upon arriving we were given a room in the hotel but were told we had to move the following morning , this was a bit of a pain but we had a choice of rooms the next day and we chose a chalet which was great as it opened onto the gardens with our own private sitting area, my only complaint are the beds, the mattress was the hardest I have ever slept on, we even tried putting blankets under the sheet but it was still very hard. The pool area never got busy, would have been nice though to have had some kind of waiter service, instead you had to get dressed to walk up to the hotel to order a drink. The staff were all very nice. I think we were the only English couple there, mixture of German and Italian, they had weddings both Saturdays we were there but this caused no problems for us. The hotel is in a great position and only a 10 min walk into the centre of Garda. The views of the lake are stunning. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

negatives about the booking were not to do with the hotel at all but Thomas Cook who misled over pricing, they advertised £40 off the booking with a 'voucher code' but did not have a 'voucher code' box at check out, so the refund was never given,despite complaints.They asked for a coupon instead, a coupon is a tangible cut out type of discount, not an online voucher, totally misleading and misrepresentative, not impressed at all with their customer service. Thomas Cook also gave the WRONG area code on their website for Verona and I only found out the hotel number/code by checking myself... Thomas Cook also failed to advise that check in was not until 3pm (we arrrived at 12.15pm).. so was NOT impressed by Thomas Cook, but was impressed with hotel

On arrival at 12.15pm we could not check in but Nico, the receptionist spoke great english and looked after our cases whilst we went to the local market he told us was on.. however, we should have been advised of this in advance by the booking agent...

I had spoken to Nico directly prior to the holiday from London and also emailed and he was very helpful and showed us our rooms (we had 2 double rooms booked) and gave us a particularly large room (mountain view)..

flat screen tv and very very clean (rooms were cleaned daily)

road noise from the mountain road is quite bad but that's to be expected and no balconies but lovely comfortable clean rooms

He also showed us one of the communal terraces

As soon as you wakl into the hotel your breath is taken away by the amazing view outside as the hill slopes to the lake and you have the pool and jacuzzi to the left with breakfast terrace outside (buffet breakfast daily, very good and coffee served to table, not good fruit juices but nice selection of pastries and with yoghurt/cereal/toast/cooked eggs etc.)

the location of teh hotel is stunning and minutes walk along the lakeside promenade to the main Garda town and port (for boats to south and north of lake)

there is a beach to the righ tof the hotel set in mountains (lots of italians weekends, nice).. and a wonderful friendly beach bar to the right too, which we frequented often at lunchtime and after dinner in town

lots of live music in resort and very buzzy, busy, atmospheric with shops open to 10pm ... lots of restaurant choices...

you can walk to Bardolina (past the campsites and many beach bars) along the lakeside promenade

The hotel is rather dates in tersm of the lobby and communal areas inside, but this is the only negative really, it is a wonderful location, with an intimate and friendly atmosphere, we seemed to be the only Brits there and people kept themselves to themselves, it was quiet and sedate..

Thoroughly recommended.. and we would go back and have sent email to hotel to thank...wonderful location.. and Nico was exceptionally good at reception..old school manners and professionalism..

Room Tip: rooms on back with mountain view are fine view wise but noisy from road but not overtly so, lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a week in mid september. The hotel, grounds, pool, manager and staff were all excellent. We stayed in a superiour lake view room which had stunning views across the lake.
In a perfect position just a 10 minute walk away along the lake front to the hustle and bustle of this relaxed resort. Breakfast was basic but more than adaquate.
Though I can imagine being in a room on the road side of the hotel would be noisy the lake view room were perfect for a good nights sleep.
The hotel is run by a very small but dedicated and freindly team and kept spotlessly clean.
We will not hesitate to return to the Du Parc when we return to Garda. If you drive down to Garda or hire a car the hotel has plenty of parking space.

Room Tip: Book a superiour lake view room itrs well worth the small amount extra. The views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here in late August after being in hit and humid Venice for a couple of days. Set at one end of the bay, the hotel is approx 700m away from the built up lake front, but close enough to make it a easy stroll into town. The rooms were big and clean, with a tv, fridge and air-con. Our room was in a building to the side of the main hotel but as we spent almost no time in it we didn't mind. There are extensive gardens in which to sunbathe on one of the many loungers, and a big pool to jump in when it gets too hot! There is a restaraunt in the hotel but we didn't eat there except for breakfast, which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel itself is a little dated. We had two rooms outside the main building like small bungalows near the entrance. They were a good size although not interconnecting.

The manager was omnipresent and very helpful. Internet access was free so I could follow the cricket. The pool was lovely and clean. The grounds themselves were just a bit tired but certainly no worse kept than my own garden.

The hotel itself is in a fabulous location. Simply walk out the bottom and around (to the left) along a nice, wide, well kept pathway to the middle of town where there are lots of shopping and eating opportunities.

The breakfast buffet was slightly haphazard in terms of cooked options - ie fried eggs were simply presented on a plate with half a dozen other fried eggs - help yourself - as opposed to cooked to order but there was a reasonable range of options and the hotel itself was one of the best value ones we stayed at.

There is (free) onsite parking although it looked like it could get congested at times when the hotel filled up.

Overall though an excellent property if slightly dated.

I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Whilst the rooms and bathrooms are dated and basic the grounds and charm of the hotel more than make up for it. The garden is beautiful with plenty of natural shade; it overlooks the lake and has a lovely swimming pool. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk out of town (along the lake front) this is great because you are outside of the busyness of the town, but in easy reach of the shops and restaurants - also means the hotel has plenty of space for carkparking. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Marconi 3, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Hotel Du Parc Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.