We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Treasure' and 'Pleasure' for 'Leisure' !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virginia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Virginia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Virginia
via Montebaldo 19, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A 'Treasure' and 'Pleasure' for 'Leisure' !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

'Does exactly what it says on the tin'.... Well if there was ever an 'apt' statement for a hotel this is it !!!

We stopped here during the last week July 2012.
It IS only a 3 star,....... but it is likley to be the BEST 3 star you stop at !!!!!

Clean?....I could eat off the floor !!!

Helpful?... The family staff (except Daughter) cannot speak English but MADE SURE that we got what we wanted...even if it mean't phoning their daughter late at noght or early in the morning. NOTHING was too much trouble !!!!

Location? ideal for short walk to Garda town and is on a quiet street.

Food? Simple and Great (You want to see what they did when we asked for a food bag for day out !!!)

Score 1= Poor / 5= Excellent

Service = 5
Cleanliness = 5
Food = 4
Location =5

Would I recommend it? .....Yes, without hesitation (providing you don't expect a rave or party !)

My only dissapointment? ....Taking so long to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Garda in 4 years. Each time we stayed at the Hotel Virginia. Having decided that we loved the area, Garda is our favourite resort on the lake. We wanted to try bed and breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat by the lake and nearby.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is ample - basic requirements of a b&b and only a few minutes from the lake. What made the hotel so wonderful for us was the friendliness of the family running it- from the special couple who own the hotel to their daughters who speak English but put up with my attempts to speak Italian. We have had the same room every time we go which is why it feels like our second home. How we wish it was ! When we return to Garda we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a bed and breakfast.
Good quality breakfast with cereal, cold meats egggs etc....not an English breakfast.
Great location near to town centre and ferry terminal for exploring Lake Garda
Quiet at night for good sleep
Hotel is spotlessly clean with a lovel family running the hotel.
Ask for a room with a balcony as this gives you a bit more space.
No swimming pool but on the recommondation of the hotel owners daughter i got the free shuttle to the nearby sports centre.
This is five star with pool outdoor and indoor and with loungers and umberella with a terrific view of the countryside. You can spent all day there as there is a cafe.
All I can say is that I agree with previous reviews that this hotel is a great place to stay if you want to see more of Lake Garda

Room Tip: This is a bed and breakfast. Good quality breakfast with cereal, cold meats egggs etc....not an En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel 5 minute walk from Lake, some uphill walking. Hotel very clean, room basic but comfortable. Aircon an essential in the summer, it was great come back to a cool room. Breakfast was ok but we preferred to walk to the waterfront, coffee and croissant about €7 for 2. We usually choose a higher grade of hotel (this was a last minute deal), but I'd happily stay here again. Great value and everything you need. Just loved Lake Garda, eating out great value. Loads to do, my favourites were hiring a speed boat and visiting other towns around the Lake or hiring bikes and doing the same.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow,UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel Virginia from the 23rd June to the 30th June, a week of unusually hot weather . It was a pleasure to return to the Virginia with its excellent air conditioning. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were basic but perfectly adequate. My wife has gluten free requirements and they kindly supplied her with gluten free bread and crackers at breakfast. Should we ever return to the delightful town of Garda, we will undoubtedly stay in the Hotel Virginia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We stayed at the Hotel Virginia for 2 weeks B&B May/ June 2012 We have never stayed in cleaner hotel - it is spotless and excellently managed. Bedding and linen regularly changed. The rooms are spacious comfortable and more than adequate. We also paid a little extra for a balcony room - ideal for that pre prandial beer. The breakfast was good. An old Italian couple run the hotel who speak no English whatsoever - but no problem - all correspondence was easy via e mail with their daughters who does speak good English and who is around most evenings in the hotel. The hotel does not take credit cards - so organise yourself to pay cash. The location could not be better - in a quiet street yet only 200 metres from the main street and 300 mtres from the lakeside restaurants and lake. We like to eat in a different restaurant every night when we are on hols - so this is ideal. I canot believe how cheap the local restaurants / wine are. Views ? - what more could you want - you're in Garda ! We wil be back to the Hotel Virginia - it is the epitome of what we look for in a 2* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Virginia for a week B&B at the end of May 2012 which we booked independently. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are spacious. We paid a little extra for a balcony room with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The breakfast was excellent, typically continental with a good selection of cereals fruit ham cheese eggs etc. We booked a car at Verona airport and again the hotel offer free underground about 300 yards away. Though the delightful old couple, who run the hotel, speak little English, all correspondence was easy via e mail with their daughters who speak good English. The hotel does not take credit cards so cash is king. Another couple staying had their taxi from the airport arranged through the hotel. The location is ideal in a quiet street yet only three to five minutes walk from the restaurants and lake.

Room Tip: A balcony room is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virginia

Address: via Montebaldo 19, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Garda
Hotel Virginia Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.