We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Perla

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Perla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Perla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vespucci 5, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 hotels in Garda
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at La Perla - 4-11 May 2013, this was our 3rd visit, having stayed the same period in 2012 and in early July 2010. Hotel staff are extremely efficient, very welcoming and we were amazed that the staff could remember us from our last year's visit. Pool is fantastic, food plentiful and enjoyable. Rooms are smallish but more than adequate and we have sung the praises of this hotel to friends and family. Having now visited all the surrounding towns of Lake Garda we will take a rest from another visit for a couple of years but would recommend the day trip to Venice and the Dolomites. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. The hotel situation, the atmosphere, all lend itself to providing a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Going on the ferry a must, we would recommend taking the ferry to Riva la Garda and then catching the service bus back to Garda - this way you have the benefit of the leisurely lake trip and enjoy driving through the various towns on the return. Easy to do and a good service on both modes of transport. Tip - visit in July, weather more settled and all trips running, visit in early May as we have in 2012 and 2013 and weather is more unsettled, warm, but can be wet. Evening trip to Venice not operating until the end of May, so little disappointed at that. Nothing negative to say about La Perla whatsoever - perhaps we shouldn't tell too many people about this 'pearl' in Garda and try and keep it a secret !!!

Room Tip: We have asked for a pool view on our last two visits, which were as a couple. On our first visit wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    107
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
143
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After reading reviews on here we were not disappointed this hotel was spotless the food was first class. The rooms are quite compact but all you need because there is so much to see you don't spend much time in it, it was cleaned every day with clean towels if needed the shower and toilet were also spotless. The only area that needed upgrading was the small balcony but most had great views. The dinning room very clean and spacious, the food was some of the best i have ever eaten with a great selection and the service first class our waitress was Carmen she always had a smile. The pool area which was situated through a walk way this too was spotless it had a little bar that was only open for a short time( i think it opens longer in the high season). Our rep Rebecca was always on hand and extremely helpful with sorting out trips that are a must. The hotel was in short walking distance from Lake Garda and the many shops and restaurants. This was our first time to Garda but i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A very pleasant stay on my first visit to Italy. I travelled with a friend and we stayed in a small but well fitted twin room , everything was very clean and the beds comfortable. The shower was compact but quite powerful and always a supply of hot water . towels were changed at the guests request ,every day if required however a guest notice reminded us to be mindful of ecological effects . Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout rank. Most spoke English and German very well and you did feel you were looked after . The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful , you did have to choose your evening meal option at breakfast but this did avoid disappointment and again was always generous an d served hot . During our stay the guests were mainly middle aged or elderly it was not a lively atmosphere but people watching can be very entertaining and new acquaintances were made .

Room Tip: Ask for a front view room which are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our stopping here wasn't planned as we were on our way to Venice. Glad to have a place to stop relax by a lake until hitting the road again. Very German influence throughout the town. It was chilly out so we didn't get to use the enormous pool which was a disappointment as it looked so inviting. We enjoyed our quick stop in Garda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

great location, near bus station but quiet enough. great pool view, there is a walk way to pool (also lift there) food was lovely, always nicer to get table service compared to rush at a buffet. Please note if you dont ASK in advance, you will be allocated a SHARED table. We emailed them in advance to ask for our own table, which we prefer. friendly attentive staff. entertainment not so great, but some people may like it, garda appeals to older people, we are in early 40s and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and stroll down the various bars / restaurants at night. walk to Barladino takes a good 45 minutes, lovely scenery. we went during the Bardelino wine festival, highly recommended! we would consider going back to La Perla in the (far away) future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have visited many areas of Italy before and have never had such dissapointing food and service. If you are looking for authentic Italian food La Perla is not for you. It felt more like school dinners. My friend and I placed our evening order at breakfast and on three occasions we were not able to have our choice as there was none left! The last meal was really memorable we ordered Tiramisu but there was none left and was offered chocolate mousse and apple baked tart, the chocolate mousse was a swirl of cream sprinkled with chocolate and the apple tart was a hollow pastry case with very little filling. There was no one available to give us advice on choice of wines and the waiters and waitresses had very little time to spend with you as they were so busy. The hotel is generally clean but a little tired looking. The poolside appears larger in the brochure and there was very little space between beds when busy. It is only a short walk to the lakeside and the bus station is near by these were the only good points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europlan, Proprietario at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are sorry that in spite of many positive reviews, the cuisine wasn't to your liking.
We offer dishes that are 100% Italian, obviously everybody has different tastes.. We believe your diappointment was due to the fact that you didn't have the possibility of tasting Tiramisù (typical Italian dessert), but our dessert buffet is made of many dishes and these can unfortunately finish, however there is always a vast variety of home made cakes on offer.
We have on call a maitre sommelier and our pool for adults (30 x 16,50 mt) has a large green park where, whoever wishes, can find space and peace.
We thank you for the comments received that will definately urge us to improve any inefficiencies received and we sincerely hope that you will be our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very old, but kept up very well and the staff was very nice. The hotel guests are between 50-100 yrs. We are fairly young so more then 3 days wouldn't have been ideal. The location is fabulous. There is so much to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Address: Via Vespucci 5, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Garda
#8 Family Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Garda
La Perla Hotel
Hotel La Perla Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.