We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Garda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madrina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Madrina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Madrina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paolo Veronese, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best in Garda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel really lived up to expectations in terms of location, rooms, food and facilities.
The staff were very efficient, friendly and able to communicate easily with their English, German and Italian guests.
We were on half board basis and enjoyed all the variety of dishes on offer at dinner and it was a bonus not having to go out to find restaurants every night after being out most of the day exploring all that Lake Garda has to offer. Breakfasts offered plenty of choices too.
The location of the hotel, just set a little bit back from the lake front, made it a tranquil haven to return to but it was very easy to walk the short distance down to the lake, cafes, bars, restaurants and shops in Garda. I would really recommend this hotel and when we return to Lake Garda, we will definitely stay at the Villa Madrina!

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and overlook the pool but you probably need to be on top floor to have lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although we saw reviews that moaned about the short walk to the lake front, this is a BIG positive.

Enjoy the buzz on the shore then retire to the peace and quiet up the hill.

Its a well appointed hotel with good sized rooms and excellent breakfast. We also found the staff very friendly , contrary to other reviewers. The Owner/Patron introduced himself to us personally on the first evening and we found the other staff very helpful and friendly. Only one niggle is the rooms are not very soundproofed so if someone has a bit of a noisy return, you'll hear it, though we only had one incidence of this in the week.

We travelled with two adult children and the hotel listened to our request (always a good sign) and put us in rooms next to each other.

We would return.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on the first floor are good, you get a view, but you are not overlooked by the pool us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A very impressive and friendly Hotel. Well managed and with excellent service.
Superb location and fantastic swimming pool and associated facilities.
Very well equipped rooms but the air conditioning struggled for a couple of nights as there was a heatwave when we stayed there.
Basically cannot fault this hotel and would recommend to anyone but possibly best suited to the SAGA generation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived back & the hotel was fabulous! There was 4 of us in our party & the inlaws we travelled with loved the hotel, they attended breakfast ( we are never up in time) & the gala dinner night & raved about the food & service. The only grumble the inlaws had was that the short walk down to the Lake front didn't have a footpath, but that's not the Hotels fault & the cars seemed used to people walking down the side. The cleaning staff were excellent £ they even came into the rooms in the evening to turn the beds down. We didnt use the Spa or gym, but didnt realise till our last day that the wirl pool & gym were free, so we might have uses the wirl pool. Would recommend this Hotel & if we go back to Garda we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is my 2nd time traveling from Canada to Garda. I specifically rerouted my travels to land through Garda on my way to France just to stay at The Villa Madrina.

I personally think the place is magical. I find the location and hotel so relaxing. Villa Madrina is just a great place to wind down and relax.

The view from the hotel is beautiful. The hotel is quite and only a 2 minute walk from the boardwalk in Garda.

The staff are top notch, attentive and kind.

Check out my pictures.

You will certainly love the Villa Madrina. I recommend trying it.

Room Tip: Get room 108. It is quiet and on the end of the ground floor of the building. You can sleep with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel on the whole is very impressive. It is in a great location just a five minute walk from the lake. Rooms are large and spacious with fridge,kettle and air con. Most of the upper floor rooms have a good view of the lake and a large shaded balcony, great when the weather is hot. The pool and garden area is a nice place to relax as long as your towel is on your sunbed by 8am! The breakfast buffet is very extensive, just about everything you could ask for is there. The only downside at breakfast is that the tea and coffee is not hot enough, this is more of a european thing rather than a fault of the hotel. The quality of the food at dinner is very high, even from the set menu. There is an a la carte menu which you can pay extra for but nobody tells you this.

There are a few minor niggles with this hotel which would enhance the overall experience if they could be sorted out. Firstly, there was not a particularly friendly welcome on check in, efficient yes but a smile or two wouldn't go amiss. The staff on the whole did their jobs well but I would say they remained a bit "distant" and didn't really interact with the guests enough. The dining room lacked a bit of atmosphere as guests couldn't really talk to each other, even those sat at the same table didn't speak ! The evening meal was especially quiet as there were only a few tables set every night.
The owner tended to "loaf" around in the background and never really got involved with guests or even the staff.Twice a week there is a welcome drink and canapes but he only appeared when everyone had gone to dinner and started to clear the stuff away. One major gripe was that the air con was never used in the dining room. The doors to the terrace were always open and that made it unbearably hot when it came to dinner time.
Having the doors open for breakfast is fine but not for dinner, if the hotel is advertised as being fully air conditioned then it should be used, especially when it's 30c+ outside.
Sometimes we had to rush dinner in order to get back to our room to cool off.

Housekeeping was fine although sometimes the rooms weren't done until about 4pm. For some reason the air con would switch itself off at random times, not sure why. Also it didn't seem to work particularly well between 7am and 9am. One of the lifts was out of order most of the time. Minor points but sometimes these can made a big difference, especially when you are paying a premium price.

Overall the hotel is very elegant and rooms are furnished to a very high standard. The service is adequate but not outstanding. Food is of a very high quality with a good choice for breakfast and dinner. The wine list was extensive and reasonably priced. If you like a nice quiet atmosphere in a small select hotel then this place is for you. It is probably a little bit overpriced but then you can say that for a lot of hotels around the lake.

If only they could inject a bit of atmosphere and a bit more enthusiasm into the staff and the owner then it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Top floor is best for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Spent 10 very relaxing days at the VM, which is a very good, family run hotel with a quiet and comfortable atmosphere. The staff are excellent, the rooms are quite large and well furnished (and fitted with shutters for a good nights sleep). The bathrooms are very good, with lots of towels, robes and slippers. The pool is excellent, with plenty of sunbeds. Most days there were only a handful of people using the pool area before noon, although it was busier in the afternoons when people returned from trips.
The hotel has had an additional floor level built during the winter, but is never crowded or noisy. Very few children and no teenagers. Location is good, being less than 5 minutes walk to the lake and centre of Garda.
One or two minor negative comments: not every sunbed has a mattress, pillows and bed mattress a bit firm, no English channel on the TV (perhaps this should be a positive).
Garda itself is lovely, as is the lake. Lots of Italians and Germans, but quite a few English people at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the lawn and pool, but not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrina

Address: Via Paolo Veronese, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madrina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Madrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madrina Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.