We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Cardiff
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great views of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a family run hotel at the north end of Garda. The main road separates the hotel from the lake but the building is elevated. All rooms have views of the lake but especially the superior ones that seem to have to be booked directly with the hotel. The side rooms have a limited view and I think are smaller than the front rooms. There is a balcony for sitting out overlooking the lake and pool. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The road can be a little noisy with the window open but this did not bother us. In fact the variety of traffic is interesting. Walking from the lake the last 100m is gently uphill on the road which means that children have to be looked after. There is quite an uphill walk from the road to the hotel reception but it was not problematic for an 80 year old. The advantage of this location is that you are on the lake promenade only a short walk from the hotel. The staff are attentive and friendly and the in house dinner is good value and fun. The tables are a little close together but this may be a reflection that the outside terrace was not being used for dinner during our visit. Once a week there is a Gala dinner which is well worth booking. About 300m on the lake shore is a "lido" where there is a small bar and a park owned by the hotel with loungers. It is a peaceful area where you can swim in the lake but really nothing much else to do there. There is free parking at the hotel but the drive is very steep and I suspect crowded in the main holiday season. There is free wifi and this worked reasonably well. In all a very good stay and the dinner is worth having on most nights although for variety it is easy to walk to the waterfront restaurants also.

Room Tip: Paying a bit more for a superior room is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    96
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
352
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from our first 7-night holiday to Garda and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We booked th holiday via one of the big tour operators almost 12m ago and primarily selected the resort and hotel based on brochure & trip advisor reviews - we were not disappointed with our choice as the experience at the hotel was great.

Garda itself is a great place to stay to see the sights of Lake Garda and is relatively small but with good access to ferries and the main roads and it has a nice series of lakeside bars and restaurants and a pedestrianised shopping area with enough to see and do. The hotel itself is ideally placed as it is just to the north of the town as is only a few hundred yards from the ferry pier and is literally a 5 minute walk down the road into town. The other benefit from Garda town was that it wis smaller than many of the other towns on the lake and was not overflowing with tourist trips during our stay.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel all aspects of the service was excellent. We had a rear facing room with a balcony as that is what we had selected from the brochure so being rear facing was not an issue for us given the amount of time we spent in the room and the room itself was presented and a good size plus the cleaner came every day.

The hotel is a good size with a nice pool area out front surrounded by sun lounging facilities and a nice terrace which has access to the bar (which is also accessed from inside as well). The terrace area was ideal for relaxing in for either a drink or just to relax & read and having breakfast on the terrace outside with the nice weather was great start to the day.

As with many place in Italy the tariff was half board and all aspects of the food and service were great, with the reception, bar and restaurant staff and cleaning staff all being very friendly and efficient (a big thanks to all of them). If you need to get up early for any trips or return flights then the staff will make you a pack-up box the night before (which I must admit is the best array of pack-up we have had from a hotel)

Breakfast - offered an extensive range of fruit, cereals, yogurts etc plus local meats, cheese etc plus freshly made omelettes. The coffee was fantastic and there was a range of teas available

Snacks - there is a reasonably priced snacks menu available at lunch if required

Afternoon Tea - A very nice touch was the afternoon 'tea and cakes' which was a daily theme at 4pm every day if anyone wished to partake - a great idea

Dinner - was offered between 7pm and 8.30pm and we really enjoyed every meal. The selection was normally a range of salad options (inc a very good array of mixed meat and fish based salad extras). Normally there would then be a choice of starters inc a soup option and a choice of mains plus some very nice desserts. The Friday night was a special menu night with all diners asked to be seated for 7pm and a fixed menu was offered which again was a real gastro experience with the chefs unique twist to some dishes (the Tiramisu was especially good).

Drinks - Well, being near Bardalino, in many places a glass of wine is cheaper than a soft drink ! - the 'house' wine at the hotel was found to be nice (both white and red) and was priced at 2 euros for a glass so we did not bother with the wider wine list as the wine by the glass was good. Nastro is also available on draught.

So much to see and do around the lake and surrounding towns and this was the perfect place for a base - we would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit; the first being last year, this time a week later 23rd June, to see if what we had experienced previously was really a wonderful dream! And the answer, yes it was and we've just been subject to yet another fantastic experience. We've got to say, out of the many dozens of hotels we have stayed in all over Europe there has never been one that comes anywhere near this hotel in terms of customer care. All the staff remembered us and not just our faces but things we had told them. It was overwhelming and from the moment we set foot through the door we were at home! I'm not going to whaffle on about how brilliant this was and that was....because everthing was brilliant. If you wanted to find fault with something then I suppose you could but nothing that is going to change the whole wonderful package we received at the Excelsior. It didn't even matter that the weather wasn't at its best...all the staff were and that's what counts. Will we be going back to dream again...of course. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and enjoyed every moment.
All of the staff where extremely friendly, whilst our room at the front of the hotel which had a balcony, was of a good size with exceptional views over the lake – also being well maintained, very clean and quiet. We do understand some of the rooms at the rear of the hotel, a little on the small size, with limited opportunity to upgrade due to the hotels popularity. Having booked B&B at this hotel privately, we had the choice to take a short stroll into Garda for our evening meals, but did this only on one occasion – preferring to enjoy our meals at the hotel, very good value and of a good quality. The free afternoon tea and cakes also a nice touch.
Yes would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner & I stayed at the hotel for a week mid June in a room with a side lake view & I can echo other comments regarding the size of the room - it was fairly compact but this didn't trouble us in any way & we did have a nice view of the lake from our balcony. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable & the bathroom was also nice so no complaints. The staff were all very friendly & spoke various languages, which helped in my feeble attempts to speak Italian! As we stayed for a week the hotel provided free transfer to & from Verona airport which was great. The hotel location was superb, only a 5 - 10 minute walk to along the harbour promenade to the centre of town although you did have to negotatiate the sometimes busy road and even though there is a zebra crossing a few yards away from the hotel entrance getting the traffic to stop was a bit haphazard - a bit of patience is required! The view from the lovely terrace/pool area was stunning, you could never get tired of that! The hotel also privides towels for use at the pool. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis as we wanted to eat out at various restaurants so can only comment on the breakfast, which was served on the terrace over looking Garda, nice! The choice of food & drink on offer at breafast was very good, various hot & cold food options & on the drink front, tea. coffee, juices & prosecco! The hotel also offers exclusive use of a private garden above the lakeside beach 10-15 mintues walk away. The garden is behind the Bikini bar and has sunloungers, provides towels & has toilet & shower facilities. So in conclusion I can definitely recomend this hotel - we had a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

        I stayed here with my best friend for 3 days and 4 nights in late April. The weather at this time of the year is a bit temperamental, i.e. bit chilly/ rainy. The hotel offers a 35Euro (total) transfer from the airport to the hotel- the closest airport is Verona which is quite a distance away and so this is quite good value compared to what we would have had to pay otherwise. Remember to book in advance as we booked the return leg the day before and the receptionist seemed visibly annoyed he had not notified her earlier.

·        The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly on our first day providing maps and guides to both Garda town and Verona and explained to us where the bus and ferry stops were. The hotel had a small pool outside (which we did not use), and faces the lake. At 4/5pm there is a small afternoon tea snack served in the lounge area of pastries, coffees and teas. The waiter even went out of her way to provide some honey for my friend’s camomile tea.

We booked a twin room, which was not large but sufficient in size and clean. The bathroom was strangely very large in comparison to the hotel room itself. We also had a balcony which was on the side of the hotel so we could see the lake round the corner but as it was a bit chilly we didn't go out on the balcony much. Free bottles of water are provided on a daily basis which was quite nice.

The hotel corridors constantly had this strange mouldy smell despite the fact that housekeeping appeared to be cleaning and hovering constantly! The room we booked came with breakfast which was quite nice. There is a small selection of hot food including an egg station, and mostly continental- the coffee is delicious and freshly brewed. The only thing which I found strange was the fact that there was no iron available, and if one had wished to iron any clothing you would have to pay the hotel laundry fees.

The hotel itself is very close to Garda town, it is based on the side of the main room and there is a steep incline to get to the entrance but there are steps for those in heels! Across the road and down the steps some 200 metres is Garda town. Within the town there is also a bus and ferry stop, making this location very convenient.

overall a great stay .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackthorn, Oxfordshire UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel with lovely lake views and a good pool. All the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was really good. We booked half board and intended to eat out some nights, but the food was so good we ate first and then walked into Garda and had a drink. The wine was very good and only 2 Euros a glass so is a much better buy than a bottle! The rooms and hotel in general were spotless and the bed was really comfy, although the room could have been a little bigger the large balcony helped. The balcony has a table and chairs but sun loungers would have been perfect as the view of the lake was lovely. Only a five minute walk to the town it is in a great position. We would stay here again without hesitation. Make sure you ask for a full lake view room as the side rooms are not so well positioned.

Room Tip: Ask for Full Lake View upper floors are even better but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Address: via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Garda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.