We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

just spent a week at this hotel & it was all as was advertised.Superb position overlooking the lake,very near the ferry station.The staff very attentive,polite & helpful.Food wonderful & varied with an excellent choice at breakfast & dinner.Small friendly bar that was not expensive with a good choice of cocktails & drinks.My single room had a side lake view & was very comfortable,towels changed daily & bedding three or four times in seven days,it had a good sized bathroom with power shower.All was emaculately clean with plenty of outside seating areas including loungers around the pool which was very well cared for as were the lovely gardens.I could not fault it.Stephanie York

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    99
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
359
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Four of us stayed for 4 nights and we wished it was longer. Both rooms were lovely - one was a front lake view (216) which though small had everything you needed and the view more than compensated. The second (238) was a superior side lake view and was a decent size. There was a settee and plenty of space to move around. The view too was good.

The hotel and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always a friendly greeting. Breakfast is served between 7 and 10 and was plentiful with lots of choice of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts and omelettes cooked to order. Afternoon tea was served at 4-5 and you could have this on a very pleasant terrace. We ate in the restaurant on our last evening and this was excellent value at 18 euros. The buffet salad to start was so varied it was hard not to fill up on it. The drinks in the hotel are no different in price from Garda.

Towels are supplied for use at the pool or to take to Gardacqua which guests have free entrance to. You can catch the free shuttle bus from behind Hotel La Vittoria. The hotel is very close to the promenade. You have to walk along the roadside for a short distance before crossing but we didn't find this a problem. Italian drivers will eventually stop!

This is our second visit to Garda but our first to the Excelsior. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

great room , great staff , great safe in the room (my laptop fitted) , great breakfast , they serve coffee and cakes everyday with no extra charge , they give you beach bag with beach towels . Parking is a bit tricky if the hotel is fully occupied .but overall , great hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I cannot fault anything I found here. The room (322) had a balcony and a view of the lake and was well furnished and very clean. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. At the end of our stay we were asked to complete a feedback form and one of the questions asked us to nominate an outstanding staff member. It was a very difficult choice to make. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone whatever their taste, and when eaten on the terrace overlooking the swimming pool and the lake, was an experience to remember. The location of the hotel directly opposite the lake could not be better, close enough to the town centre to walk there in minutes, but away from the crowds. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody and would definately stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to visit Garda and booked here because of the reviews we had read.
Everything you read on here is true, the location is perfect for walking onto the Garda promenade, the hotel is clean and finished to a very good standard and last and best of all are the staff, who make your visit so pleasurable.
You will always get a smile and a "bongiorno" and nothing is ever too much trouble.
We got back late one evening and with only 5 minutes before the restaurant was closing, Vito sorted a table for us and the staff stayed on to accommodate us, which was done with a genuine smile.
We never go back to the same hotel or town, but for the first time in 30 years of travelling we are going back here, we have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, but this one takes a lot of beating.

Room Tip: A front room is fantastic, however the side rooms are still great, so you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just got back from a week staying at the Excelsior le Terrazze. Fantastic hotel and great location. The hotel is just a few hundred yards from Garda town centre and the lakeside restaurants making it ideal for going exploring both the local town, and the remainder of the lake by boat ferry. The exterior is very well kept and the pool area is lovely. Inside the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful, providing a great service. The breakfast offers a wide range of choice as does the bar, however we didn't get chance to try the restaurant at night.

The only gripe would be the size of the room. We chose not to upgrade to a lake view room as we were spending very little time there and we found our basic room to be very small. It was however very well kept and the bathrooms area was sizeable. My parents had a room with a balcony and partial lake view which was larger, so the upgrade is definitely worth while. The hotel also offers a spa pass for Gardacqua, 2Km away - this is well worth using as the facilities are very good. Overall a great hotel and one we will definitely visit again

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vito dei Normanni, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Incredible hotel..... I can't fault it! It was everything we expected and more. You must have a front lake view room, it's definitely worth the extra, we had a standard front (112). The extras include, spa and lido membership - seasonal, prosecco at breakfast, afternoon tea and free excursions. We went on a fabulous lake cruise. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We will be going again soon. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Address: via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Garda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.