We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Cheshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Most of the previous reviews have done the Excelsior justice and described it very nicely - Joanne W and Hols3 have got it in one. We were there for a week, and booked direct as we wanted a Deluxe Lake View room. The hotel arranged our airport transfers, which were fast and efficient.
We stayed in 408, which was a lovely room with plenty of space and a large bathroom (twin sinks and a double shower). There is enough wardrobe space, with shelving instead of drawers and it took my wife 3 minutes to find the 'hidden' mirror. The terrace is huge, quite private and overlooks the bay. No, it isn't cheap, but I wouldn't expect it to be and you cannot put a price on peace, quiet and that view.
We decided to take the half board option instead of trolling around looking for restaurants. It was a good call, the food was excellent with top marks for the salad buffet. Drinks are not stupid hotel prices, and 5 euro for a massive G&T is fine with me.
The choice for breakfast was great - fresh coffee, every kind of tea, I even got a liking for camomile, honey and vanilla:-), fruits, cereal, three styles of loaf, cheese, ham etc etc. The omelette was lovely (re. another comment - continental bacon is like US bacon, fatty and crispy). We were very good and avoided the prosecco at breakfast.
Without exception the staff were lovely, always smiling and helpful, making our stay even more enjoyable.
Garda is only a few minutes away, the walk on the road is fine, there is a crossing and drivers were more courteous than in the UK. The fast boat ferries are the best way to travel, and good fun. We visited Sirmione, Gardonne and Desenzano and Salo - all very nice. Bardolino is maybe a 2.5m walk along the lakeside promenade.
There was a nice mix of guests and we had some enjoyable evening chats on the terrace over a few glasses of wine:-)
All round a very chilled out week, thank you.

Room Tip: If you want the best view and a big terrace, get 408 or the one next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    96
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
352
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel. I find it difficult to add to the commendations already bestowed on it in the majority of the existing reviews, it was everything we hoped for. On arrival the reception staff provided us with an overview of the facilities and services available. They were always available to address any questions or offer assistance, all spoke good english which is always an advantage. The bedroom and all other areas of the hotel were spotless and maintained to that standard throughout our stay. The cleaners checked the rooms in the morning and in the evening emptying the bins, changing towels for a second time as required. Even turning the bed covers down which although unnecessary was a pleasant gesture.
The standard, quantity and variety of the food cannot be faulted. The restaurant manager and all of his staff were attentative, courteous and helpful. There were two gala nights with special menus and live entertainment. Breakfast was available on the terrace overlooking the lake and offered a large variety of hot and cold food. The omeletes cooked to order in from of you by the chef were particular good. The kitchens, viewed from the outside appeared as spotless as the guest areas of the hotel.
The situation is perfect, our side room still had an excellent view of the lake and surrounding gardens. It is only a five minutes walk to the main promenade and shops.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a stay in Garda.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the lake. Front rooms have a more expansive view although our si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just back from a week at this lovely hotel.Everything was of a high standard - food,service, cleanliness,pool area,staff etc.Only very minor quibbles such as only Maitre 'D taking dinner orders (could be a wait),lack of variety at breakfast,plastic glasses in bathroom and 3 mils with tea/coffee in room (why not 4 !) .Location of the hotel was great,just a short walk to the town centre
The resort is very quaint with a nice promenade and lovely old cobbled side streets packed to the rafters with nice shops,ice cream parlours, bars etc.Nearby town of Bardolino is also very nice ( a nice long walk along the lake front) and Sirmione was beautiful.

A trip to remember and we will be back !!

Room Tip: Room 232 looks out onto the rear car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at this hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent with lots of information from the very friendly staff. Our room was gorgeous, really modern, clean and smart. There is a fantastic view of the lake from the hotel, perfect in the early evening with a drink before dinner. The food was superb, breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Tea/coffee and cakes served in the afternoon if your around which is a really nice touch. The evening meal is great with tasty salad on offer to start and then an extensive menu. Watch out for the Gala dinner...a lot of food! You'll never leave here hungry. The staff in the restaurant and so friendly and helpful. The bar is always manned and drinks avaliable, they also serve a lunch menu which is nice for relaxing days.The hotel is ideally located with only a very short walk into Garda, the boat stop and bus station. The hotel also allows access to gardens nearby, we didnt manage to use this facility but other guests reported that it was a great place to relax. Our room was cleaned twice a day, there was a safe and a fridge within the room too. The hotel gave us a bottle of champagne on our first evening to celebrate our recent wedding which was a special touch.Everything about this hotel made it a perfect stay for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room on arrival for a very reasonable price for the week, others staying at the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed for a week at beginning of September in this beautiful hotel in an amazing setting. From the moment we arrived at reception we were treated with exceptional friendliness and courtesy. Every member of staff we encountered during our stay were always more than helpful.
The hotel has a clean cut modern feel but manages to remain welcoming. There are lovely colourful vibrant painting on the walls. The foyer/lounge area has newspapers and a good selection of novels if you need something to read. Plenty of chairs and tables to relax or spend time with some of the other guests or catch up with a bit of reading.
Rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the staff appear to take pride in their job. Our room was always left sitting to perfection on our return. The staff call around late afternoon for turn down service.
The food is amazing!! great quality,freshly prepared and always warm when served. Buffet salad bar to start could honestly be your meal..there is so much choice so you soon learn to leave space for the rest of the courses to follow:)!!Vito and his staff are very efficient and service is slick and friendly. The breakfast was one of the best I have seen anywhere in the world. There is a huge selection of ALL kinds of breads,cheeses,fruits,cereals and cooked breakfast of bacon,eggs whatever way you want them cooked. Lots of different juices,yoghurts and even all types of seeds to put on top.
A welcome to the hotel glass of proscutteo is served on your first night and on gala night..and you can help yourself to a glass a breakfast if you wish!:) Wine and drinks very reasonably priced..great selection of cocktails!:)
Nice size swimming pool..never crowded and never a problem getting a sunbed..no shallow end so probably not good for younger children. Towels provided by hotel in a little bag.
We met lots of great people in this hotel on this holiday.Guests were relaxed and friendly and I think that is why they interacted well with each other. I did not hear anyone complain the whole week I was there...I think that says it all:)!!!!Would not hesitate to recommend to friends!Probably does cost a little more than other hotels in the area but then you get what you pay for and the Excelsior is more than worth it!
Ps...we had a problem with a car hire(not booked or anything to do with hotel)but Manuela very kindly helped us when she didn't need to....brilliant!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room...book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

First the price - we paid £165 per night for B and B. There was nothing really wrong with the hotel other than this was very overpriced. When we arrived at the hotel there was no concierge (and none throughout the week) On leaving at the end of the week, the transfer coach picked us up at the bottom of the very steep drive down to the road and my wife had to struggle down with a very large suitcase. One entering the hotel you find a very utilitarian lounge and quite an impressive terrace - but the view of the lake is partially obscured by trees growing the other side of the road. Once past the reception area, the inside of the hotel is rather like a collage dorm. There are no internal features at all. What upset me most of all was the room (graded `standard`). There was no bath only a shower. There were no drawers at all in the room and it took my wife three days to find the make-up mirror ( which was cunningly recessed into a compartment in a table). The double bed was two single beds pushed together and if you rolled onto the gap during the night, the gap widened and you woke up scared you had fallen into a chasm! There are no bathrobe unless you are prepared to pay extra for them. At breakfast, the chef preparing omlettes was very good but the rest of the breakfast is very poor. The bacon was very fatty and lies dormant in a pool of grease and I saw no one attempt to eat it. Bacon and eggs seemed to be the only hot items for breakfast. A piece of white toast I had on the first morning was the worst bread I have ever tasted. I never attempted to eat toast again throughout the week. The evening meal is good and represents good value for money but then they charged me £10 for four very small bottles of coke. The deserts look nothing like those featured in the brochure. The staff are excellent and very pleasant - but they always are in Italy. Frankly there were 3* hotels on the waterfront that to me, at least, represented much better value. Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoGarda, Manager at Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Yes, again !
We read all reviews very carefully, to get a chance to improve and avoid mistakes … it’s not easy to fulfill everybody’s expectations !
I had a quick look at all Mr Kemyst’s reviews: out of a total of 20, 3 are TERRIBLE, 6 are POOR, and just 2 EXCELLENT … must notice that he is very unlucky when choosing an Hotel !
We just want to wish Mr Kemyst some good luck for the next holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a great hotel, situated near to the lake and a short walk to the town. Our room overlooked the lakeside and we had a large balcony overlooking the the swimming pool. The room was spacious and modern spotlessly clean, although the bathroom was a little on the small size.
Complimentary tea and coffee bar and your own fridge was a real bonus
The meals were outstanding. The buffet breakfast choice was extensive and the chef on duty to cook your personal choice was a nice touch.
Complimentary afternnoon tea with cakes etc was served each day from 4 to 5 pm.
The dinner menu was varied (we stayed 14 days) with plenty of choice for each course and cooked wonderfully. The first "salad Course" was so extensive it was amazing!
The swimming pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds and shaded areas, although a little on the small side. The provision of towels for the pool was a real bonus.
The staff were always very helpful and polite and went out of their way to help you.
Guests have accees to a private garden area along the lakeside called "Bikini Lido" with free use of towels and sunbeds, a pleasant alternative to the swimming pool area.
If we return to Garda we would book this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with full lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Address: via Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Garda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.