We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 2 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
Corso Italia 25 | Via San Francesco d'Assisi, 27, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good 2 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have just returned from an excellent week at the Hotel Europa in Garda Town. It does not do half board but with the range and number of places to eat in Garda that is not a problem.

The Europa is a 2 star in a very good location. It is kept clean and everything works as it should. The rooms are good for 2 star and have fans which seem to work quieter and more efficiently than airconditioning. The rooms are cleaned and linens changed daily.

The standard continental breakfast is eaten in a comfortable breakfast room or, if you prefer, in the garden. You can also relax in the garden

I feel some review writers have unrealistic expectations. The Europa is 2 star not 4 or 5 star and as such it offers very good value but at a basic level.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NEW JERSEY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Thought the hotel was very nice and clean, The view from the restaurant breathtaking at both breakfast and lunch. Found the staff friendly. It's location is great especially if you plan to boat to other towns on the lake. The breakfast was ok and dinners were good.

Room Tip: You want a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermlinebabes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just back from a weeks holiday in the Hotel Europa on Lake Garda. My husband and I have never spend such an unrelaxing week on a holiday. The Hotel itself is lovely but the owner is so rude and treats you as intruders in her house. Breakfast is a very unsettling experience to say the least. You are watched constantly like children going to the table to take another piece of bread. I never read any reviews before I went but was quite shocked to read the reviews about the owner on my return and I totally agree with all their comments. The British travel companies should stop sending Brits to this hotel as she clearly does not want us there. I can only repeat we have never stayed with such a rude hotel ownder and never want to again so take my advice and stay away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

You only get what you pay for my husband and i stayed here for 11 nights 10th - 21st July and were over the moon . We had reserched the europa on trip advisor before booking and were a bit dubious as to what we might find there,however no worries we booked four weeks before departure with thompson and in our opinion bagged a bargain £343 each for 11 nights BB saturday lunch time flight 1.15 from Birmingham.We must agree with previous reviews and confirm a couple of things.Our room was on the third floor and with no lift was a struggle to get to with two large cases however once we were there we were pleasantly supprised the room being large spotlessly clean ceiling fan large bathroom with plenty of hot showers and towels changed daily with the cleaning of the room..Breakfast was fab lots of choice and plenty of it however the owner (as said in previous reviews ) was sitting at the top of the buffett table with her beady eye oneveryone just like a school mam miss jean brodie i think after a couple of days we (as did lots of other guests)breakfasted in the fabulous little garden which is 1 minute walk from the lake we couldnt beleive it we would recommend this hotel to older couples like us who want to relax (the gardens nice and shady) there is no pool and for us this was great which ment no kids. All in all fantastic value for money grab yourself a bargain thomson always got this on last minute dont book months in advance and pay full price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

enjoyed every aspect of lake garda. the scenery is beautiful. The hotel was conveniently situated, very close to the lakeside. The room was spotless and throughout our stay the cleanliness of the hotel was first class. The breakfast was continental but lots of choice, breakfast could be served early if you were on an early excursion. There were plenty of restaurants on the lake front. We would highly recommend the ferry around the lake, especially to malcesine and limone. The excursions to milan and venice were superb. Would definately go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose516
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

This is a lovely,small hotel which is immaculately clean and the rooms are pleasantly furnished. There is a garden at the back facing the lake with recliners in. The buffet breakfast is the usual continental breakfast with some healthy eating options. There have been some comments about the owner of the Europa, at first she did appear to be a little austere but we made a point of speaking to her whenever we saw her and found her to be quite ameniable. The Europa is convenient for the lake, bus station and the ferry terminal and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants around.

The only negative aspect of this hotel is that there is no lift and as we were on the 3rd floor it was quite hard work carrying our cases up.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The hotel Europa is a small 18 room family run hotel. My husband and myself stayed here for two weeks and had a great time. The hotel is right by the lake and very close to the ferry dock and bus station so getting around was very easy. We visited lots of other towns on the lake and also Verona and Venice. The weather was great. Continental breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and always fresh. Fabio, the owner's son, speaks very good English and was very helpful and gave us some good tips on where to eat. Our room was average size with a TV - BBC1 and BBC2 in English - no air conditioning but a ceiling fan which did the job. We booked a room with a balcony which turned out to be our own terrace with table and chairs and sun loungers which got the sun all day. Fantastic. Our room was cleaned and towels replaced every day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Italia 25 | Via San Francesco d'Assisi, 27, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most tranquil part of town, and surrounded by nature at the foot of the magnificent 'Rocca' mountain, Hotel Europa invites you to take a break from everyday life and immerse yourself in relaxation so you can truly appreciate the traditions and customs of Lake Garda and the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WINTRADE S.R.L. and WINTRADE S.R.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Garda
Hotel Europa Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.