We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return of the Crossley's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giorgione 14, 37016 Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Garda
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Return of the Crossley's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from a weeks stay at this hotel, booking through Crystal. This is our third time in 5 years and when I suggested a return to Garda this year my husband would only go if we could stay at this hotel. The staff are so friendly I can't single anybody out. They all work very hard and their efforts show. This is a family run hotel - mum, dad and daughter are always on site and everybody is dedicated to making a good holiday. A previous comment about the beds being firm was certainly true but I don't think there is much worse that a soft or lumpy bed! The food was really lovely and well cooked. It isn't a la carte but it is varied and you never leave feeling hungry. I think it is a good idea choosing what you want to eat at dinner at breakfast-it means that there is very little wastage and you don't have to wait long to be served. You can change your mind if you have a change of mind! They know of my love for tiramisu and the waiters even smuggled out a portion the next day for me to keep in the fridge in the room! The hotel is very clean and in beautiful surroundings. The only thing I would say is that the bathrooms could do with being refurbished. Although well cleaned everyday the showers and flooring showed signs of a lot of use! The hotel is ideally situated only a 5 minute walk to the shops and lakeside. I am looking forward to a 4th visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Some people must be easy pleased but I found this hotel's main course sadly lacking in choice and a bit of a let down. The sunbeds at the pool area have no pads on the back of wooden slats which dig into your back. No towels available why didn't someone say this before hand. We could have taken some. Why hasn't anything been done about this or is it part of a 3* hotel's standards? Our toilet dripped all day and night and so little sleep for the week which left me tired and unable to make the most of my holiday. We mentioned it to the Crystal Rep who did nothing, and also to the Hotel Manager who sent a girl about 18yrs to have a look who said she could see nothing wrong, Well you wouldn't at 18yrs and no experience. She probably thought it was normal, but it was fault on the cistern probably needed a new washer. I can't understand either why a hotel with beautiful grounds, pool and well located doesn't have a better main course. The breakfast was fine plenty to eat and fresh. Waiters worked very well but you had to order your main course at breakfast, not a huge problem but obviously for the chef's organisation so that it could all be done quicker. No one bothered to say cheerio or help you down the stairs with your suitcases. Shame really for a nice looking hotel.

Room Tip: Take towels and earplugs if you get a drippy toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned home from a week staying at the Continental in Garda. We booked this as a last minute holiday and chose it on the strength of the reviews on this website, on arrival we realised that we had made a good choice for our holiday.

Entering the hotel grounds there are lemon trees, lovely garden and a very good sized pool area with enough sunbeds for everyone. We were given a room on the top floor which meant we had a view of the lake from our room and balcony, was a lovely view to wake up to every morning. The room and the bathroom were basic but very clean and were cleaned daily by staff. Only downside was that the bed was quite hard however it did not stop me getting a good nights sleep. All the rooms have air con which was needed as it was very hot whilst we were there, and wifi access was available throughout the hotel.

The food at the hotel was a good standard and we never left the dining room without feeling full of nice authentic regoinal food. Our waiter for the week, Francesco, was very helpful and polite, was very knowledgable about all the food, this was good as one of us is allergic to nuts, also very knowledgable about the local wines which were not too expensive for a hotel. The nice thing was that if you didn't finish a bottle of wine or water they would put it on your table the following evening for you. We found it good that you chose your menu for the evening at breakfast, it meant that the hotel did not waste much food.

We rented a car for two days and the hotel provided us with parking for the night. It is not essential that you rent a car as the hotel is very well located, 2 minutes walk to the main strip of shops and 5 minutes that the lake front with most of the bars and restaurants. The main bus station is about 5 minutes walk, provides service to Venice for half the price that crystal and Thompson advertise for their excursions.

It is a family run hotel, all were very helpful and polite and spoke good English. Our air con broke one morning and it was fixed for us whilst we were at breakfast, we had only reported it about 30 minutes previous to this.

After reading most of the reviews on here it appears that the hotel has made a lot of improvements over the past 5 years, most of the bad reviews seem to be from 2006-2008.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the lovely area, some may feel that the hotels decor is a bit dated however how much time on holiday do you want to spend in your room or lobby when there is so much to do and explore?

Room Tip: Top floor for lake view, bottom floor for direct access to pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in August. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful on all accounts. The rooms are very clean. We had one with a terrace on the bottom which I was initially disappointed about until we arrived and realised that the pool and sun beds were outside our door which was a big plus as the temperature was 39 degrees and the pool was a lifesaver especially after a long hot day sightseeing. The rooms have excellent air conditioning, very quiet and very very efficient, in fact I felt cold at times and it was very hot when we were there. The food was really lovely, a good choice and very tasty. The drinks were the same price and sometimes cheaper at the hotel than the bars at lake Garda. Would really recommend this lovely hotel which was very quiet but strangely only 5 minutes walk from lake Garda and the lovely bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose one on the ground to be close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just returned (today (8/8/2012)from a week at the Continental Hotel in Garda. Difficult for me to find anything negative to say about the hotel, its location and the resort in general. I am not normally moved to write reports such as this but was impressed enough to make the effort. My wife and two children can be challenging individuals to please but all were also sorry to leave (the heat at 35degrees was a challenge) They liked the pool , food (although you do need to chose your evening meal at breakfast time) and friendly staff.
Some previous reports have mentioned that the Hotel is a little dated in decor which is true but is compensated by how clean it is with daily room service. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool but families best to request the lower level as it opens directly onto the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently returned from a week at this hotel and we loved it! We booked independently and the hotel arranged our transfers from Verona airport - this was lovely - no queuing for taxis or buses and we were taken directly to the hotel. The hotel is very traditional and is owned and well managed by a lovely Italian family.

The hotel is in a fantastic location 2-3 mins walk to the lake front and the ferry dock. We had a room on the top floor with a lovely view of the lake. The room was kept exceptionally clean by the excellent housekeeping staff. There is a lovely garden with large pool and lots of loungers and parasols. Waiter service is available at the pool for drinks, snacks, ice cream etc. Breakfast is self service with a lovely choice of cold meat, cheese, breads, fruits, yoghurts etc and there is also a hot selection ( you will not go hungry). During breakfast you are asked to choose dinner for that evening- making service very fast and efficient. The owners have a table in the dining room and they all appear at different times to have dinner too. Ercole was our main waiter during our stay - he has a professional, friendly manner and always gave advice if we were unsure what to choose for dessert!! The family are always available to help with any questions or directions etc - nothing is too much trouble for them. We look forward to our next visit. Many thanks once again to the lovely hard-working family and their staff.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and could see the lake which was lovely. Ground floor rooms are god because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent a week at Hotel Continental from 30 June to 7 July 2012. We had booked via Crystal Holidays (part of the Thomson Group). This was our first visit to the resort and we were amazed at the sheer beauty and scenery and the ambience of the place. One can never be sure of accommodation but this hotel is well run and a typical family run hotel in a superb location. The hotel is within easy reach of the small lakeside town's amenities but just far away to reduce traffic noise or the hub-bub of restaurants.The ferry point and little bus station are less than 5 minutes walk.

Our room was on the ground floor at the far end of the hotel and opened onto the garden/swimming pool. The garden is very pretty with lemon trees and other larger trees providing that much needed shade when around the pool. The pool is a decent size and cleaned every day. This was our oasis when returning from a hot day of sight seeing. Our room was quiet and unlike many other hotels no noise from corridors or adjoining rooms. The room was large enough with all the amenities of a fridge, telephone,TV (although we never used it) and safe (provided free!) and an ensuite with shower, bidet, wc and sink all cleaned spotlessly each day. There is also the much needed aircon which we found quiet and efficient. The family who staff the reception are always available, friendly and helpful and fluent in English. I have to say that there plenty of food but I found some of the main courses bland and not very interesting. The Hotel has a head waiter 'Ercole' and I soon realised he was a sort of 'John Cleese' type of character and at times could appear quite rude if you did not follow his rules. However there is a good choice of food,and as dinner always started with really good selection of salads they were almost meals in themselves. There was choices of dinner usually a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 deserts but the very strange thing is that you are presented with the dinner menu at breakfast and make your choice then. Perhaps this is how Italians operate! but I prefer to make my choice at the time. Ercole seemed very keen to get the dinner order at breakfast! Overall the food was served well and presented well. The hotel has a really cosy bar and a quiet lounge area where you can read your book.

Close by are bars and restaurants and the usual souvenir shops so plenty to do walking around after dinner. Just along the road some 50 or so metres is a mini-supermarket where you can buy most things and opposite a fruit and veg shop with delicious fruit to tempt you in between meals. At our reception we were given discount cards for the buses and ferries saving about 10% on the fares.

A good trip is to the cable car at Malcesine. A tip is to get an early bus at the bus station, get there early around 9am and you can be sure of a seat otherwise you might be standing on the scenic 45 minute trip. The buses are air-conditioned. T
less make your way to the cable car and as you will be early you will miss the queues that build up later in the day. This is a worthwhile trip up Mt Baldino and the views absolutely breathtaking with cows with bells around their necks. After a wander around Malcesine we caught the ferry to Limone and a short stay a slow ferry back to Garda to take in the sunset.

Another good thing and value for money if you are fit enough is to hire bikes at the bus station for 10 euros per day 0900 to 1730 and cycle to other towns around the Lake. We like the opera so had pre-booked with Crystal a trip to the Arena at Verona to see Carmen. What a terrific experience to be seated amongst thousands of others and enjoy the whole opera in the open air at a temperature of almost 30 degrees. The opera stated at 9.00pm and finished at 0100 in the morning. Quite a marathon as we had to be in place by 8.00pm. We took a picnic and enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the event.

This was a truly great holiday especially as the flight lasted only 1hour 45 minutes from Bristol. We were fortunate with the weather having temperatures rising to 40 degrees. We loved Garda, the Lake sitting in the foothills go the Dolmites. There is quite different scenery as you travel down the Lake towards Riva and the mountains climb up from the side of the Lake. We would thoroughly recommend this holiday.

Room Tip: depends on what you like. A room on a higher floor will afford a view. We stayed on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Giorgione 14, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Garda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, WINTRADE S.R.L., WINTRADE S.R.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Garda
Hotel Continental Garda, Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.